We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room not clean enough”
Review of Nam Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nam Long Hotel
Ranked #497 of 1,000 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I was staying there for 2 nights.

(+): It's located in the center of the busiest quartier of Saigon & there is an elevator in this hotel.
(-): The cleanliness of the room & balcony need to be improved.

Room Tip: elevator in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tiamo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

So, we had a stay at Nam Long Hotel and booked a private room. With a private room, we didn't expect to have to put our valuables in the safe in the reception (as there is no safe in the rooms!).
I had 2,4 million dong, 30 usd and a few hundred bath left from Thailand which was in a small pouch, in my bag, in my room. When we got back to the room, all money was gone. They hadn't taken any cameras or stuff like that, only the money which is harder to prove stolen.
When I went to talk to reception they kept prolonging my possibility to watch the security tapes. When the manager got there the next day he all of a sudden couldn't remember the password for the cameras. I ended up in a bit of a heated argument with him where he got mad at me because I wanted to see the footage. At the end I saw the footage and could se 2 people had been on out private balcony, but he told us that it was shown to a guest.

Long story short,
DON'T STAY HERE!! They care nothing for their customers.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and both times I have found it to be fine. It is not 5* but then you are also not paying top dollar. The rooms are cleaned daily (no matter what time you leave) the showers have good water pressure and the water temp is fine. The water drains slowly but it does drain.

The sheets are clean although some are a little threadbare. The hotel does laundry for the same price as you pay in most places in D1. The staff are friendly and honest (I left a 1000 dong note on the floor on day two and when i came back that evening it was on the bedside table next to the phone.

The only negatives for me are:
1) The wifi is terrible - but about average for hotels in D1
2) The windows (in the rooms with windows) leak when exposed to the massive thunderstorms that Saigon experiences from time to time.

Room Tip: The lift only goes to the 6th floor so the 7th requires a flight of stairs (and a low ceiling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diver71au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

the room was sort of clean! they had 1 double bed and 1 large single bed in the room which did not allow you enough space to get to the fridge or the desk type thing they had ,I also could not get to the closet if I climbed over the single bed I could get to the closet but i was not able to open the door properly, if the double bed was the only one it would have been um OK ! The hot water worked in the shower, i had my laundry done, i had to ask for it as it was not delivered on the time agreed to and i received it back wet ? i paid $20 a night for two of us which included a fixed menu breakfast 1 fried noodles 2 toast and jam 3 ? 4 was a omelette which was ok with a soft drink or hot tea it was OK, if you walked to the next few hotels you get better rooms with breakfast for same or better price! it was the first hotel i looked at after a long trip from phnom penh , we did not stay there the next night and i would not stay there again

Room Tip: look else where there are a lot of better hotels guest house with in a minutes walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Their laundry service is the worst that ever exists. They will make you bleed before you will get it and nobody can assure you that it will be alright, they are rude and unrespecfull, STAY AWAY FROM ANY SERVICE THEY HAVE.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Assafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.8 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,834 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,678 reviews
1.6 km away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#16 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,841 reviews
0.8 km away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#66 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,273 reviews
0.6 km away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#50 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Long Hotel

Address: 283 / 3 Pham Ngu Lao Str | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,000 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: S$22 - S$36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nam Long Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nam Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing