We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to have room on the upper floor”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #166 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We checked in at midnight. There was only one staff (looked like a security guard) in the front desk. He gave us the key card as once. I found that the room was on the 2nd floor. I asked whether we can have a room on the upper floor because I did request it by email after booking. However, the staff said that there was no room with window left on the upper floor. We just have to accept that. The lift is small and slow. The room faced the Nguyen Hue Street. The street lights were too bright that made me hard to sleep. We asked for a change of room in the next day. The staffs were very helpful and arranged another room on the 5th floor for us. It is really better to stay on the upper floor.

We had breakfast in the restaurant on the 11th floor.The view of the restaurant was great. The quality of food was on average. I think the choice of drinks can be improve. There were only mulberry juice or watermelon juice in the 1st morning, and mulberry juice or passion fruit juice in the 2nd morning . I think orange juice or apple juice would be more universal.

We are invited to a New Year countdown party hosted by the hotel. We appreciate the arrangement. After check out, we stored our luggage in the counter. The bellboy was really nice.

The location of the hotel is really great. We can walk to many attractions conveniently.

I think the hotel can improve by renewing the furniture and making the room more modern. Moreover, the WiFi need to be more stable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Candy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Had my worse night in this hotel after travelling through Vietnam for just over a week staying at different hotels. The bed was hard and sagging in the centre. Asked to be changed and given an option between twin beds (for a couple) and a so called deluxe room where the bed wasn't much better. The staff are helpful and language is also a challenge however the hotel as seen it's better days and should be revamped.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mahle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We booked this place knowing it is in the heart of the city, during NYE and that performances will be happening right outside our window. We wanted to be close to all the things in the city so we chose this place.

Our room only had one window but it felt like we had the windows open, (and had no walls) for that matter. There was music playing out on the street till around midnight and we could hear it loud and clear from our room. We didn’t mind the sound, but this was over the top loud. No blocking of sound at all.

This place also feels lost in time. I stayed in 3 different hotels while in HCM around the same location and this was the most expensive and most run down one of the lot. The place is very clean but there were no lights in our room, only lamps, the shower is the shower/bath tub get up with a plastic shower curtain and the items in the mini bar were pretty expensive.

If you’re looking for something super close to the city and don’t really mind how the hotel looks, this is the hotel you’d want to be in but if you’re looking for a more luxurious hotel that’s only a couple of streets away from the city centre thats cheaper, there’s a few others you should check out.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jayydawgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We only booked a room to hang out in the afternoon before our night flight and it was very cheap and clean. It was ideally located within walking distance of shops.
Our room's window did not open out to anything but a wall about 15cm distance from the window, so if that's important to you, double check your room.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

How come a 4-star hotel not serve the napkin in the hotel room? I asked for napkin and they bring me the toilet paper. Unbelievable . Not mentioning i called to recept with that request but recept aksed me to dial 1 to room service at number 2. I called room service who then asked me to call house hold service. What a "HELL" service! I even got treated better at the hostel. Will never back here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Haivan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
0.1 km away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#132 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
1.1 km away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#81 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#107 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
460 reviews
0.1 km away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#161 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
621 reviews
0.1 km away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#111 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $58 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing