We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New World Saigon Hotel
Ranked #35 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is a great example of how HCMC wants to be viewed. Young, vibrant staff, eager to help. Rooms are good size and very clean. Even though there is great food in the city, this Smorgasbord dinner was amazing! Everything cooked to order! Upgrade to their club - well worth it for the view, food and cocktail hour! Central location and very helpful concierge desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    856
    248
    60
    36
See reviews for
380
479
155
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel was well situated for spending a short time in Saigon and seeing the major attractions. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff were extremely helpful. The prices for things at the hotel are high. Better to buy your drinks at the grocery store and keep in the mini fridge, rather than go to the poolside bar. The car service from the airport was convenient but WAY overpriced when we found out what regular taxis cost. .The spa was nice. My only criticism would be that there was a slight damp smell in the room and halls. Maybe typical of such a humid climate. Overall, great service, great location, nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitlynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

New World was a great location for us, it wasn't surrounded by all the top international designer stores, but was not far to walk too if that's the kind of shopping you're after. It's only a short stroll to Ben Thanh market, and there is a nice park/garden in front of the hotel. Crossing the road is a different story, but you'll soon master that... still pretty scarey though, but fun! :)

Our party of 12 stayed for 8 nights, one of those nights was NYE! They can party alright!! Was an awesome night with balloons filling the lobby at midnight, popping to the sound of the fireworks outside and DJ's on the top floor doing their thing...

The rooms were nice and spacious, although it's an old hotel, it's very modernized and doesn't have that old smell or look to it..I didn't know it was one of the first 5 stars in Saigon.. the hallways are lit nice and bright, service was fantastic and great english speaking staff... very friendly and helpful.. check in and out was drama free! Bellboys were fantastic and do not expect a tip.

Buffet breakfast and wifi was not included.. my theory was.. why pay the extra $30USD a night pp for buffet breakie and free wifi... you can pretty much eat anywhere in Saigon for $1USD.. serious! And they do have a public free wifi area.. it's in the lobby if you must use the internet. The lobby was nicely spaced out with guest coming and going...

There is a spa, gym, sauna, pool, i think a tennis court as well.. on the same level there is a nice garden area where you can relax, read a book.. or just chill.. child friendly area too. Beautiful hotel, out of the 5 rooms we had, mine being on the lowest floor (lvl 8) there was the 1 morning that was a bit of a rude awkening... not the hotels fault at all!! Across the road was a bank, grand opening?? WOW the noise level produced by lion dancers and drums etc..but that only happened once... was not happy.. had to have an afternoon nap that day! But sleep quality was usually good on all the other nights.. no noise, bed comfy..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Sorry I couldnt find the restaurant name in Restaurant review section so please allow me to put my experience here. And thanks a lot.

Thought dining at New World Hotel could never go wrong as many people i know have recommended it but our peking roasted duck on 23 jan evening was a total disaster.

Im gonna just list what made it a disaster. Will try to make it short but can be hard!

4 of us went in at 9pm, were greeted by a tiring looking waitress with not a hello but "we close at 10 and last order is...". "its cool we know what we want already crispy roasted duck with pancakes. We'll eat then we leave"

waitress stated we had no choice but oily crispy skin for the pancakes and all the meat of the duck would be used to make ONE other dish that we can decide while she aggressively doing the table setting.

when asked what dish could we have with the meat she just walked away and came back with one menu and said: "Its all in there" and walked away again. Then quickly came back with a whole brown roasted duck which looked really good. The sauce came in different shaped bowls which was confusing but not a big deal. Veggie was green thanks lord!

had to BEG her to let us have meat in the legs for pancakes and the rest of the meat for stir fried noodle. The meat was not cooked at all as only the skin was roasted so she took it to kitchen.

decided we would wait for the meat after having one roll with pancake and duck skin. Ages later waitress came back with a plate of two duck legs chopped into small pieces with bones in it! Meat looked dried and tasted as if it was cooked in a microwave. Two minutes and ping! it is cooked. Of course it was chewy.

Ask for sharp knives waitress came back with 3 knives - there was 4 of us!?!?

asked if the jap restaurant (next door) would serve sake here - answer was like dont know you go ask yourself and then maybe they dont we are different restaurants

noodle came dried and salty, meat was over cooked, poor displayed

waitress didnt pour beer in glass properly my friends had white mustache - we laughed at it though. Later on she had half the beer on the table and the carpet as she over poured it.

asked the waitress for more cucumber she said yes and walked away - ages later we asked a guy in suit (maybe manager?) walked by for cucumber again he shrugged his shoulder: "there was no cucumber left". he added "it happened quite a while earlier, not just now so how could you have cucumber now?". Jaw-dropped we said "nobody told us that", then the guy went "its late now I hope you understand"

the only "Im sorry" we had was when half the expensive imported beer went on the table and the floor carpet instead of going into the glass

paid the bill which included 5% service charge. left not one single note of change or tip

and felt never want to come back

I love duck and had been craving for it but it was just a day of bad luck I guess? I hope everybody else experience as less as possible such unpleased moments

Room Tip: Right about the location, it is right in the center of business district and the area that surrounde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirateonacatamaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Beautiful room with comfy bed. Great location in easy walking distance to the market, all the great shops and even to the backpackers area to all the great little cafes. The staff were very helpful. As we didn't fly out until evening - they allowed us to leave our bags in their care, use the reception safe and use the showers at the gym.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lildal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.3 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
1.1 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,661 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#12 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,827 reviews
0.8 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,500 reviews
1.1 km away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Saigon Hotel

Property: New World Saigon Hotel
Address: 76 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $65 - $261
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Saigon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the vibrant business hub of District 1, with easy access to the famous Ben Thanh market and many landmarks, museums and cultural centers of Ho Chi Minh City, New World Saigon Hotel provides 533 spacious guestrooms and suites offering the perfect ambiance for both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation. Just seven kilometers from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and steps away from the bus station, the hotel is located directly in the city center opposite the lush 23 September Park. The hotel's private limousine service offers a comfortable connection to the airport and all major attractions as well as the Saigon Exhibition and Convention Center (SECC). All guestrooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and plush bedding. If hotel guests wish an extra level of comfort and privacy they may choose the exclusive range of Residence Club Floor accommodation which includes complimentary buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails and hors d' oeuvres at the private Residence Club Lounge. Among the hotel's most distinctive restaurants is Dynasty which serves exquisitely prepared Chinese cuisine that is regarded as one of the finest in Ho Chi Minh City. Parkview and Saigon Bakery offer a relaxing view over the 23 September Park serving delicious lunch and dinner buffets including fresh seafood, international and Asian favorites or freshly brewed coffee and a great selection of home-made pastries. The Lounge features classic and modern cocktails with a wide range of wines and live music, while hotel guests will find Splash a relaxing oasis to unwind the day at the outdoor pool with fresh juices and exotic cocktails. If guests would like to escape the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City, they can visit The Spa on the second floor offering an extensive spa menu for both men and women integrating Swedish massage techniques and the healing therapeutic effect of aromatic essential oils with contemporary spa treatments. All spa services provide an effective treatment each tailored to the individual guest's needs.Since its opening, New World Saigon Hotel has been one of the premier meeting and event venues in Ho Chi Minh City. A highly experienced and supportive event team, excellent catering and first class facilities for every kind of social or business event make this hotel a popular choice for functions, exhibitions, product launches or conferences.The hotel offers three pillar-free ballrooms accommodating up to 486 people. All ballrooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual and presentation aids and can be divided into several smaller function or breakout rooms. In addition, four smaller meeting rooms are available for private workshops or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New World Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing