We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signature Rooms”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

the staff were very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is centrally-located and is ideal for going around HCM City on foot. They have Signature Lounge for those booked in Signature Rooms, where one can avail of free light meals from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. They have very good selection of light snacks and desserts.

Room Tip: book the Signature rooms as they also offer free light dinner meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Celine G,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on our central location and attentive colleagues following your recent stay with us. We consistently receive positive feedback regarding our authentic service and culinary offerings on the Signature Lounge - a great place to unwind after a long day of of work or sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Group event, Sep 2017

Let's just get it out there: this place is an overpriced hotel trading on its location and history. For the money, you can get much better in District 1.

Wifi: OK connection in rooms and meeting rooms

Food: Good buffet, though a bit redundant on lunch and dinner. And by redundant, I mean identical except for the addition of more protein at dinner.

Service: Attempted to downgrade me to a 2-bed room because "no king size are available." When I asked for one of the newer rooms, the front desk pretended not to know what I was talking about, despite a colleague of mine having gotten one the week prior.

Rooms: 1970s decor. Dark. Dingy. Musty. Old ratty furniture. Not great.

Meeting rooms: See above on rooms. There's a casino in the hotel, and in one of our meeting rooms, they'd decided it'd be a good idea to convert part of it to a storage section for broken slot machines. Really sloppy.

Location: Yes, it's very central. Yes, the opera house is across the street (though there's subway construction going on around it). Yes, there are "upscale" shops nearby. For a business traveller, this is pointless. I daresay for a tourist, it's pretty pointless too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dub L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Dub L,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location and culinary offerings. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the room issue which was not clearly explained upon your arrival. The new room mentioned in your comment might be one of our few mock-up rooms, which are part of our comprehensive room’s renovation project planned to commence earlier next year, something to look forward on your next visit. Regarding the price, we consistently do a price comparison among the other 5 star competitors and continue to be placed competitively.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The Caravelle is a world class hotel: Situated in the heart of Saigon (District 1) it has maintained its very high standards over a long period of time. Every department in this hotel is outstanding - from the porters, front desk and concierge desk, to food and beverage and house keeping. The nightclub Saigon Saigon on the rooftop of the historic wing of the hotel is ideally located, well managed by Ben and a lot of fun. Given the location and quality of service the Caravelle is also very good value. .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMFCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear TMFCanberra,

Thank you for your positive review on our central location and attentive service following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our truly authentic hospitality demonstrated by the dedication of our passionate and friendly service team, with mention to Mr. Benjamin Prochazka – Bar Manager and those in other departments. I trust you had an enjoyable time at our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar, one of the best entertainment venues in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My trip was limited to this wonderful cocktail bar with so many connection to the sad days of Saigons Past... to get best value, stop by during Happy Hour. There is also great Jazz going on in the foyer. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff members

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Ernest C,

Thank you for your kind comments on our attentive service following your recent experiences at our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar. The Happy Hour from 4:00pm to 7:00pm is favoured by many travellers and locals alike. I trust you had an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed four nights here in a suite in the Heritage building (there are two buildings, an old heritage and a new). It was superb. Staying in a suite entitles you to access the special Signature club on the 9th floor. Very, very nice breakfast.

The rooftop bar is gorgeous and gives a great view of Saigon. Happy hour with half price drinks runs from 4-7pm each day. It’s on the 10th floor and you need to go to 9 and walk up a circular staircase.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Robin P,

Thank you for your positive back on our comfortable room and sumptuous breakfast following your recent stay with us. We consistently receive positive comments from other guests regarding their service experience at our Signature Lounge. I trust you had an enjoyable time at our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar – a great place to unwind with a great view overlooking the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,745 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,562 reviews
0.3 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,462 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#29 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,141 reviews
0.3 km away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $163 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing