We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bacon butty, yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hungry Pig

The Hungry Pig
Ranked #61 of 3,106 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bacon butty, yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've been travelling for almost 2 years & it's very difficult to find good bacon. It's a very simple restaurant, but great sandwiches, bagels & fresh juice & very cheap, only $2 for a classic bacon sandwich. Really enjoyed this place, ate breakfast here every day

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorchristian, Manager at The Hungry Pig, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for visiting The Hungry Pig. Your review makes everyone here very happy :).

Safe travels.

The Hungry Pig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great piece of home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The sandwiches do what they say on the box. Really good bacon sarnie, so good in fact I had two ! I could not fault the food, bacon really well cooked, fresh bread and very good salad in it. The only slight gripe was the staff who spoke very good English and were very smiley spent a lot of time on mobile phones not checking to see that the customers were being looked after. A definite must not only for expats but blissful beautiful bacon butties for all

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piers B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon,Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing to Write Home About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I live in Saigon and my wife and I are keen to support new ventures, especially those specialising in home-comfort food which we all like now and then. We'd read the good reviews about this place and went along on Saturday morning for some late breakfast. We were the only customers and the staff were bright and friendly as we ordered from the easy to follow menu. I plumped for a curious self-selected panini with maple bacon, gouda cheese, onion, avocado and cranberry. Ugh you might say but I've had it in the past and enjoyed it. Sadly, on this occasion it was grim. It looked nice on the outside of the panini but not under the surface and after it was heated up - to excess - was a congealed mess. I couldn't taste the avocado or the cranberry, the cheese was sparse and the bacon was stringy. I didn't enjoy it at all. My wife had a plain bagel with bacon, which was also disappointingly stringy and chewy. She was expecting crisp and crunchy bacon with smell and flavour but sadly no. Never mind. As I say, the staff were friendly, the idea is a good one but we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWinfieldChislett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hungry_Pig, Manager at The Hungry Pig, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at The Hungry Pig.

I am amazed that you didn't like our Bacon! You are the first.

Thank you very much for coming down and showing your support and I wish you and your wife the best of luck.

The Hungry Pig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice concept but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff are really friendly they keep smiling, it makes the place really pleasant. The concept which is "you make your own sandwich" is a good idea. The food is really good but a bit expensive. Compared to the traditional "ban mi" that you can buy everywhere on the streets, it's 2 time more expensive as an average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hungry_Pig, Manager at The Hungry Pig, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

You are correct we do cost more than the "Banh Mi" which you get on the streets.
A couple of reasons why:

Banh Mi bread is usually made with Bromate which is carcinogenic. We use high quality french baguettes made with no preservatives.

Banh Mi's contain laughing cow cheese! We use Mozzarella from New Zealand, Cheddar from the U.K and Brie from France.

Banh Mi's contain the poorest quality of market meat (a lot of which is unsafe). We cure our own Bacon which we source from an ethical supplier.

Not to mention the nice staff, atmosphere, music and cleanliness.

Thank you for coming down and I hope that shed's some light on why we cost more than a Banh Mi from the roadside.

The Hungry Pig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough, or pebble amongst brown stuff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place does great bacon butties. That's it.
The menu isn't diverse enough for me and I actually found the decor a bit like a factory i.e cold and unwelcoming.
I gave a 5 though as most bacon/food in this dirty city is disgusting and this was a welcome find to stove my hunger pains and realign the acidity of a gut used to european food and hygeine levels.

Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msanseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Pig also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Hungry Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing