We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic budget hotel that delivers on service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Rooms were as pictured large and clean. Breakfast was great and staff excellent. This hotel prides itself on customer service throughout the hotel. They know what customers want and do their best to provide in all areas.

Room Tip: Rooms were as pictured in the booking site no nasty surprises here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hotel was really very nice. The staff was friendly (except for the breakfast staff, which were a bit surly). When we checked in, the team was helpful in providing an overview of the city and offering various tours. They were a bit too salesy in doing this and I would have much preferred to go through the options later instead of being presented with all the options at checkin. Despite that, the prices they offered for the tours were fair. We didn't do any of them so we can't review those, but in terms of the prices they offered for them compared to what we found later, they were certainly fairly priced. The rooms were very nice and the shower was good except that the hot water didn't last as long as we would like. We had two rooms. One superior room in the old wing and one deluxe in the new wing. The deluxe rooms are worth the $3 upgrade. They're newly renovated and nicely appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we had some great nights of sleep. We loved the area of the hotel as it was convenient to everything. The restaurant next store, Risotto, was outstanding. They had everything from Italian to Vietnamese food and we loved it so much we ate there three times. Great staff, fairly priced and very good food. We highly recommend that place too. It's two shops over from the hotel. The downside of the hotel if there is one, is the breakfast. The breakfast itself was a bit boring and the same everyday. The food was cold & the staff on both days weren't happy to be there. We asked for some Vietnamese coffee and were begrudgingly given a couple of cups. No smiles and breakfast service needs some work. The kitchen though, was SUPER clean.

Room Tip: Choose a DELUXE room in new part of hotel. Nicer and worth the $3 upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjaylaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really loved the place. Originally we booked one of the older rooms, but on arrival they showed us the newly built ones so we upgraded. Our room was on the 4th floor, nice view and lots of daylight. Room was well equipped and perfectly clean, and the tv even had english channels. The buffet style breakfast is great, good selection of cooked food, fruits and toast bread..etc
The only downside was that they started cleaning at 7am in front of our room everyday, noise and loud conversation.
Would definitely stay here again. The newly built wing is great, totally worth to upgrade.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zsu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.

Rooms were clean but a bit cramped however no complaints for the price.

There's a good Italian restaurant next door with affordable food. But other than that nothing much on the street it is on. A rather quiet street.

Taxi ride to hue train station costs 27500 vnd. Take the small yellow kia morning hatch back with starting rate at 4500 vnd as that was what we took and the cheapest taxi type. Cab rides to citadel and big c supermarket were affordable due to good location.

Quite a long walk to the citadel. Recommended to take a taxi. We also went when the weather was pretty atrocious so it is better to cab.

Breakfast buffet was just ok. Had some flies about especially on the bread. Can order eggs.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall a budget hotel so great for the amount paid.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mwtoh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Than Thien hotel really surprised me. My partner and I arrived here on a very wet week in Dec. We had booked the standard double room, however, on arrival our hosts informed us that we could be upgraded to a better room for $3 USD. Initially I was skeptical as We didn't need extra space, but on seeing the small room without windows to the outside that we were taken to, I instantly agreed to pay the $6 for a hotel looking suite with views of Hue from the second floor.

This place has it all: extremely kind staff, buffet breakfast, good wifi, a shower that didn't flood the bathroom (!), a relatively cheap and extremely efficient laundry service, perfect location, and excellent price. I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamesgf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.3 km away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#30 of 125 in Hue
753 reviews
0 km away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 km away
Charming Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#9 of 125 in Hue
1,162 reviews
0.2 km away
Canary Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#31 of 125 in Hue
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: S$15 - S$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing