We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing price-value relation and very helpful manager - check the distance to the metro”
Review of Safran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safran Hotel
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We have been here for one night and were very happy with our choice.

The manager was very friendly and helpful in every matter we had.
The shuttleservice worked excellent.
The room were confortable and absolutely top for this price!
The walking distance is OK - check GoogleMaps. We did not use the breakfast so I cannot tell about the quality etc.

I'd definitely come back again and can recommend it if you are fine with the distance to the metro (we were).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Анар А, Управляющий at Safran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest!

It is always a great honor to read such great reviews, thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor!
It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team!
Thank you also for paying special attention for the location of the hotel and for the staff!
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back!


Anar Agayev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Not sure how this hotel received a 4 star rating. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by two surly women who took our passports and handed us a key. When I asked for my passport back and they replied, go to your room and we will send, I refused and eventually we given them back. Room was huge and clean but poorly designed and looked like something out of the Soviet Union decade. None of the desk staff spoke English of an adequate level, when you asked simple question like can we have another pillow, we received blank stares. We booked for a non smoking room but it stunk of smoke when we arrived. But pointless to complain as no one spoke English. The shower cubicle was broken and leaked.everywhere The towels etc we often torn and tatty. You either froze because the air con blew straight onto the bed. No kettle supplied. Breakfast basic and nothing like milk, butter etc child and bread was dried up in the heat. So we gave up on the breakfast after the second day and headed for the city centre. No security at all. Pretty poor show.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Анар А, Управляющий at Safran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Safran Hotel.
I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on our goals. I would like to extend my most sincere apologies. I have shared your comment with our F&B Manager to understand what happened on the breakfast as this is not the feedback we generally receive, yet I am appreciative that you brought it to our attention as it is unacceptable.
I really value your feedback and hope that you will contact me so we can further discuss about your experience. My contacts: e-mail: anar.agayev@safranhotel.az or cell +99450 616 06 01.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon

Anar Agayev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Room very tired, not particularly clear. Safe not fixed to anything, balcony door did not lock and main door left open cleaners. As no-one seemed to understand what they had done got no response or apology.
Breakfast the same every day but ok and does have wifi everywhere.
It was somewhere to stay but definitely didn't feel very safe. About 35/40 minute quick walk to 28 May.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Анар А, Управляющий at Safran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest!

Thanks for alerting us to these shortcomings.
We try to provide always the best service, but as you see sometimes things go wrong. We work upon ourselves and will be very happy if you will give us another chance.
I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

Anar Agayev,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This hotel is a long way from the old city and main attractions. However thats not really the real problem. The rooms are huge but curiously configured with 2 beds crammed into a room next to an ensuite (only a shower for which a lot of functions didn't work) and then a huge room with a table with 4 chairs (were we going to have meetings ). No mini bar and very limited TV channels (Global China Network anyone). No kettle in room either. Quite a few shops and restuarants nearby but limited take out. Staff spoke little English. More to be endured than enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Анар А, Управляющий at Safran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Mark!
Thank you for your staying with us. Unfortunately you didn't enjoy our hotel. We are continuously working on providing our guests with the highest service levels. Your comments regarding our service colleagues have been shared with the team and we will do the best to deliver the very highest standards of service to our guests.

Anar Agayev,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I stayed in Safran Hotel for 4 nights in April 2017. Overall the hotel is centrally located close to the metro and Ganjlik mall. I was offered a free airport pickup due to which I was not required to change money at expensive money changers at the airport. The staff is exceptional especially Mr. Sabri who is very prompt in responding to any queries via email prior to booking. He went out of the way by going to the store with me to ensure I was not overcharged while purchasing the local SIM card. Furthermore, he gave me honest advice on traveling economically and offered a very good price for the tour to Gobustan(however due to time constraints I decided not to take the tour). In short I am completely satisfied and would definitely stay here and recommend this property to everyone traveling to Baku.

Room Tip: Value for Money, Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baku hotels
3.0 km away
Guest House Inn & Hostel
2.3 km away
Divan Express Baku
Divan Express Baku
#18 of 116 in Baku
69 reviews
6.2 km away
East Legend Panorama Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Consul Hotel
Consul Hotel
#38 of 116 in Baku
23 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Hale Kai
Hotel Hale Kai
#32 of 116 in Baku
148 reviews
2.0 km away
Teatro Boutique Hotel
Teatro Boutique Hotel
#26 of 116 in Baku
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safran Hotel

Address: 282 Jeyhun Hajibeyli, Baku AZ1069, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Price Range: $46 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safran Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a great pleasure for Us to introduce You Our hotel operated under new management from the beginning September 2013. “SAFRAN” Hotel conveniently located in the Genglik district, just 15 minutes drive from Baku International Airport named after Heydar Aliyev. “SAFRAN” Hotel offers 49 exclusive, comfortable, cozy rooms with secured accommodation. In “SAFRAN” Hotel all is done to make Your staying comfortable and Your business successful. Our friendly and helpful staff offers all guests a warm welcome and hospitality, a welcoming and well informed reception awaits You ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Safran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing