We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening of Cambodian dance”

Cambodian Living Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Cambodian Arts Traditional Dance Show in Phnom...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An enchanting & elegant Cambodian cultural experience! Earth & Sky takes you on a magical journey through Cambodian mythology, rural traditions & village life. The performance showcases Classical dance - intricate & elegant pieces from the former Royal courts of Cambodia, including the iconic Apsara & the ritual dance Moni Mekhala; as well as folk dance – more upbeat, relaxed pieces inspired by daily life. Featuring up to 30 talented artists, wonder at the sights & sounds presented on stage in the grounds of the National Museum of Cambodia, Phnom Penh. This show is part of Experience Cambodian Living Arts, a cultural enterprise providing captivating & enriching experiences of Cambodian arts, & also creates uplifting employment for artists. Cambodian Living Arts is an organization that has been working for 20 years to support the arts sector, & to give artists and others in the cultural sector the resources, training & support they need to write the stories of contemporary Cambodia.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

A great performance of captivating Cambodian dance, by some very talented young performers. I particularly liked the colourful costumes and dress that reflected the theme of each performance. Really recommend.

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Cambodian Living Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Greetings Mark from Cambodian Living Arts!

We would like to thank you for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum and for also taking the time to provide this review, we really appreciate it! It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed the performance.

Thank you very much once again and with best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"traditional dance"
in 52 reviews
"national museum"
in 147 reviews
"dance show"
in 37 reviews
"beautiful costumes"
in 36 reviews
"folk dances"
in 27 reviews
"great performance"
in 15 reviews
"outdoor theatre"
in 9 reviews
"front row"
in 9 reviews
"non profit"
in 12 reviews
"takes place"
in 11 reviews
"cultural heritage"
in 10 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 15 reviews
"khmer rouge"
in 53 reviews
"great introduction"
in 9 reviews
"worthy cause"
in 10 reviews
"ticket price"
in 10 reviews
"local culture"
in 11 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Even if you're not a big fun of dance shows, this one is worth visiting mainly for the cause. Cambodia suffered enough in its recent history, let's support youth in learning and rebuilding their culture and arts. Show itself is simply beautiful with historical outfits, traditional music and amazing stories told through various dances. Must do in Phnom Penh!

Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Cambodian Living Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Joanna from the team at Cambodian Living Arts!

Thank you so much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show and for also taking the time to provide this lovely review. It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the performance, including our talent musicians who perform on the side of the stage. We always like to share the feedback from our audience with the artists, and will be sure to let them know of your lovely words.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

In addition to all these great reviews, I'll add that there was variety in the dances performed. In fact, there are various themes for the evenings. (3 at the time I went - which you see depends on which day of the week.)

The discipline and precision of the dancers was excellent. The costumes were impressive. The musicians were disciplined. It was all quite engaging.

I had a young boy, about 7, beside me. This child was mesmerized by the show, as well as generous with his applause!

Go to the show!

To note: There is a dinner option before the show. I asked the girl selling tickets if I should go. Her expression said no, but she said I might want to try it. I wasn't sure if her 'no' attitude was because the food was bad or if it wasn't Cambodian. I opted to try it. Her attitude was apparently related to the style of food - not traditional Cambodian. I will say, though, that it was good food. Many courses. You are well taken care of. More than enough food, and quite good.

Thank 80GlobalTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, General Manager at Cambodian Living Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Greetings from Cambodian Living Arts!

Thank you very much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum of Cambodia (Phnom Penh) and for also taking the time to provide this detailed review - we really appreciate it!

We are so pleased that you found the performance enjoyable and would recommend it to others - both adults and children alike.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I went to the Apsara dance performance and it was absolutely wonderful. All dancers were very professional and choreographed. They obviously enjoyed the work and were beautifully costumed. I really liked the range of dance pieces. I liked it so much that I went a second time to the shadow puppets. These were equally wonderful and quite magic. Some cultural activities feel a bit fake and forced but this one felt completely authentic. The performers, musicians and young 'house' staff were all fabulous

Thank Robyn1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Cambodian Living Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Greetings Robyn1792 from Cambodian Living Arts!

We thank you very much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum of Cambodia and for also taking the time to provide this review, we really appreciate all of your support.

Our artists genuinely love to perform and to share their culture with others, we are so pleased that their passion was able to be felt from the audience.

We will be sure to let our artists know of your lovely feedback.

With best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely a must see while in Phnom Penh. It is a great opportunity to support youth aspiring toward the arts as well as already established dancers and musicians. I didn’t come with the highest expectations but left in awe. We paid for the $20 seat with a cushion but could have handled a $15 seat w/o since the show is only an hour. However, since the proceeds go to supporting their non profit organization, the extra $5 was worth it.

Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Cambodian Living Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Kevin!

Thank you very much for coming to see our show!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the performance and the efforts of our artists. They love sharing their culture with others, and we will be sure to pass your lovely feedback onto them.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambodian Living Arts also viewed

 

Been to Cambodian Living Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing