We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh
Open today: 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh
from US$15.00
More Info
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
1,021
126
16
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
126
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional dance national museum dance show beautiful costumes folk dances great performance non profit story telling cultural heritage khmer rouge worthy cause local culture killing fields performed stage talented tickets
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Even if you're not a big fun of dance shows, this one is worth visiting mainly for the cause. Cambodia suffered enough in its recent history, let's support youth in learning and rebuilding their culture and arts. Show itself is simply beautiful with historical outfits, traditional music and amazing stories told through various dances. Must do in Phnom Penh!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Joanna from the team at Cambodian Living Arts!

Thank you so much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show and for also taking the time to provide this lovely review. It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the performance, including our talent musicians who perform on the side of the stage. We always like to share the feedback from our audience with the artists, and will be sure to let them know of your lovely words.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

In addition to all these great reviews, I'll add that there was variety in the dances performed. In fact, there are various themes for the evenings. (3 at the time I went - which you see depends on which day of the week.)

The discipline and precision of the dancers was excellent. The costumes were impressive. The musicians were disciplined. It was all quite engaging.

I had a young boy, about 7, beside me. This child was mesmerized by the show, as well as generous with his applause!

Go to the show!

To note: There is a dinner option before the show. I asked the girl selling tickets if I should go. Her expression said no, but she said I might want to try it. I wasn't sure if her 'no' attitude was because the food was bad or if it wasn't Cambodian. I opted to try it. Her attitude was apparently related to the style of food - not traditional Cambodian. I will say, though, that it was good food. Many courses. You are well taken care of. More than enough food, and quite good.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 80GlobalTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, General Manager at Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Greetings from Cambodian Living Arts!

Thank you very much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum of Cambodia (Phnom Penh) and for also taking the time to provide this detailed review - we really appreciate it!

We are so pleased that you found the performance enjoyable and would recommend it to others - both adults and children alike.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I went to the Apsara dance performance and it was absolutely wonderful. All dancers were very professional and choreographed. They obviously enjoyed the work and were beautifully costumed. I really liked the range of dance pieces. I liked it so much that I went a second time to the shadow puppets. These were equally wonderful and quite magic. Some cultural activities feel a bit fake and forced but this one felt completely authentic. The performers, musicians and young 'house' staff were all fabulous

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Robyn1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Greetings Robyn1792 from Cambodian Living Arts!

We thank you very much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum of Cambodia and for also taking the time to provide this review, we really appreciate all of your support.

Our artists genuinely love to perform and to share their culture with others, we are so pleased that their passion was able to be felt from the audience.

We will be sure to let our artists know of your lovely feedback.

With best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely a must see while in Phnom Penh. It is a great opportunity to support youth aspiring toward the arts as well as already established dancers and musicians. I didn’t come with the highest expectations but left in awe. We paid for the $20 seat with a cushion but could have handled a $15 seat w/o since the show is only an hour. However, since the proceeds go to supporting their non profit organization, the extra $5 was worth it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Kevin!

Thank you very much for coming to see our show!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the performance and the efforts of our artists. They love sharing their culture with others, and we will be sure to pass your lovely feedback onto them.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The Cambodian Traditional Dance show was one of the true highlights of our time in Cambodia. The dancers were spectacular - demonstrating grace, elegance, athleticism, and energy. The costumes were beautiful and the music enchanting. We walked away with a greater appreciation for the rich history and culture of this amazing country and it’s people.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank tingfunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCLA, Manager at Experience Cambodian Living Arts, Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello tingfunan,

Thank you very much for coming to see our Traditional Dance Show at the National Museum of Phnom Penh! It brings us such joy to hear that you enjoyed the performance and it was one of the highlights of you time here. We will be sure to pass on all of your lovely feedback to our artists.

With very best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews