We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great first impressions but slightly improved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Ranked #69 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017

When we first arrived we checked in and was told breakfast was not included, which was on our booking, this was rectified but then the staff forgot to give us our passports back, thankfully my friend reminded them. We had booked a superior twin room (1 queen bed, 1 single) and were shown to a double bed room. We pointed out that it wasnt what we booked and where told there wasnt any but they could put another bed in. There wasnt really enough room with another bed unless you wanted to climb over it to get to the bathroom.

We said if there was no other rooms could we get a cheaper rate, unfortunatly the staffs english wasnt so good which is no fault of theirs. Eventually we were shown to a twin room and then the staff member simply left and we were left to look at the card in the room to know when breakfast was. The room was fine apart from the 50 (no exageration) mosquitos that we spent ages killing. The website also states they have Bodia soap amenities, and they do but only shampoo/shower gel in the shower, as we just had some standard orange hand soap.

The safe also didnt work and was told it would be fixed. I even reminded them on our way out the next day but it was never fixed during our 3 night stay. Other minor things were on the breakfast menu the hotel never had croissants and one day they ran our of towels because the delivery was late but we were provided with pool towels when asked. On an evening the hotel also shuts the main gate and have to wait for the guard to open it but there is no bell which is very disconcerning when you are stood outside in the dark and rain.

These are only minor things and if it had been one or two it wouldnt have been an issue but they all added up. Overall the hotel was fine, but isnt as good as the website pictures it to be and we wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KeikoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoCambodia, Owner at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Keiko,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review. We have noted your remarks and shared your review with all the staff to make sure this will not happen again. We are really sorry your experience with us was not what you expected it to be.

Note form the owner:
For future stays (at any hotel) I recommend you ask for the manager, or the owner if you have any issues like you have experienced. The team is here to make your stay a great one, thats our goal, but when things go wrong, please always report this to the front desk and a senior staff member, so we are able to set things right and make your stay a great one. I have been here during your stay and I have not received any complain like you mention in your review from you. Thats unfortunate for you as well the hotel. All the best from Team Villa Samnang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel is charming with a little swimming pool on ground floor and a bar/restaurant just next to it. Good cocktails. I recommend to go for the Deluxe Room. The manager is very nice and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Baptiste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoCambodia, Manager at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Jean-Baptiste,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review. We hope to see you soon again. Team Villa Samnang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Samnang with my husband 14.-16.10. (two nights) and loved our stay. Pool is excellent; nice to relax after hectic day at the city. Breakfast is good value; you can choose 'Cold' (with yougurt etc.) or 'Hot' (eggs etc.) option plus get fresh juices and nice fruitsalad. The owner was extremely helpful; booked us tickets to Kampot and arranged pick-up with the company.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Villa Samnang is a great hotel with excellent rooms. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location ia also very good and close to all attractions that you need to see when visiting Phnom penh. Certainly coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and specious
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N9368CXdgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoCambodia, Owner at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for the great review. See you soon again! All the best from Team Villa Samnang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Loved it! nice people, very relaxed poolside bar-restaurant, nice fresh food with the shortest waiting time ever ... feels like a little oasis in busy Phom Penh - i most of all i enjoyed the pool! had a few nice spontaneous conversations with other guests - overall very enjoyable stay. (a cold Angkor beer is also nice i learned)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjw404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoCambodia, General Manager at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Roel, thanks for your review. We were happy to have you as our guest for all these days and hope to see you soon again! All the best from Team Villa Samnang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 km away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#53 of 277 in Phnom Penh
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#85 of 277 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
0.4 km away
Teav Boutique Hotel & Spa (Bassac)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.9 km away
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel

Address: No 15 Street 302, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Villa Samnang)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $44 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Samnang is a recently renovated and refurbished modern villa style boutique hotel with a stylish designed salt water outdoor pool, garden, pool side bar and bistro. The hotel is located in a street just of the main central roads in the hart of the popular business and leisure BKK1 district of Phnom Penh. With all the major visiting sites nearby shopping malls, restaurants and bars at walking distance from the hotel. Villa Samnang features 14 spacious, modern and individually designed airconditioned rooms with ensuite bathrooms, mini bar, fridge, safe and super fast WIFI. Relax in our comfortable loungers around our chlorine free saltwater pool. Enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner at our contemporary designed pool side bar and bistro. We serve your favourite coffee, drinks, cocktails, local and international dishes. Our 24 hour frontdesk speaks your language and is able to assist you with expert advice, book your tours, taxi or make reservation anywhere in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing