We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice - needs refurbishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Villa Phnom Penh
Ranked #234 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 24 October 2007

The bathorrom was dirty and the linen cheap. Part of a Malaysian chain and the rooms need updating. A bad location away from the river and woken at 4.30am by nearby mosque.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank letgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2007

This property is quite old and in an urgent need of renovation. I guess the price was fair for the quality of the hotel, but for sure you can get something more decent-looking for around the same price. Nevertheless, the staff was really friendly, helpful and didnt experience any of the prostitute situations mentioned.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank akorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

We were extremely disappointed as the room of Holiday Vila was not clean and and my female colleage did not feel safe at night. We travelled extensively in Vietnam and Cambodia, and this was the only place I felt unsafe. I would not recommend lone females stay here.

The majority of the client at the hotels are expats and older men looking for young Cambodian girlfriends. Despite telling them I wasn't interested the staff gave me a card for the hotel and told me to write my room number on it, so that I could give it to a girl.

Other low end hotels in SE Asia at least tell you not to bring prostitutes to your room, but this one seems to promote it.

At the lobby and bar was populated with a lot's males and much younger (& sometimes inebriated) Cambodian females. With few exceptions, the older males appeared to be 'paired up' with one of the younger Cambodian females.

Overall, I wouldn't go back to Holiday Villa. Although it was cheap per room per night, I don't want to stay in a hotel that allows women in prostitution and/or encourages the abuse of women via the heartbreaking sex-tourism industry in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Ballackemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We booked as a last minute deals. On arrival, when the attendant realised we had recieved a discounted rate she became extrememly rude.

The rest of our stay was marred by inadequate service, rudeness (on behalf of the same woman) and being quoted exorbitant prices for tuk tuk rides.

Having been to Cambodia numerous times, i am quite aware of the prices for short distances within Phnom Penh. However, we were repeatedly overcharged, by a vary rude and persistent drivcer who insisted that the hotel was taking the majority of his money...which was probably the case.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lychee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2006

Stayed at the Holiday Villa for 2 nights. Firstly the location of the hotel isn't great. It is roughly 10-15 mins walk to the main riverside tourist area, so outside the hotel you'll be lucky to see any other tourists which does make you feel uneasy, although the tuk-tuks are very cheap so you won't feel the need to walk anywhere. The hotel is classed as 4 star. I would struggle to give it a 2 star. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the main road, so was very noisy during the day. The windows wouldn't close fully and the net curtains were absolutely filthy. Everything in the room looked dingy and the hotel itself looks like it should have been redecorated 10 years ago, but hasn't been. Mainly japanese clients and therefore the breakfast caters for them with weird fish dishes. You'll find something to eat, but your choice is limited. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pay a few extra dollars and stay near the riverside.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
4 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
3.9 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,703 reviews
4.6 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,250 reviews
5 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#80 of 281 in Phnom Penh
381 reviews
5.9 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 281 in Phnom Penh
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Phnom Penh

Address: 89 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Monorom Khan, 7 Makara, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $144 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Villa Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Villa Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Holiday Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing