We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Very Central Location. Included laundry!”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #106 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Our group stayed a week here and was very satisfied given the reasonable cost, very clean premises, and included laundry, wifi and breakfast. The included same-day laundry is a huge perk for this hot climate, potentially helping you cut down on packing.

Some "inside" rooms (mine included) have little daylight because of the close proximity of the adjacent building but we spent little daytime hours in our rooms. "Outside" rooms are very nice, so inquire about this when booking if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Ask for an "outside" room for more daylight and views from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FunkyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016

For the price and the location the hotel is good value for money but be prepared - a lot of the rooms don't have a window. There is free wi-fi and it's easy to get about because there are always tuk tuks waiting outside. Breakfast is ok, not the best we had on our trip but also not the worst. The staff are friendly.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms - none with a view or a window! But you can ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I stayed in the annex, which is the cheaper part of the hotel across the street. Decor is basic & tired looking but my room was big & airy with a high ceiling so, in general, I liked it. The staff was generally pleasant & helpful; the free breakfast was adequate but nothing special. I liked the location because it's an easy tuk ride to the major sites & there are very good restaurants in the area.

I would definitely stay here again & would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_nyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I have stayed here three or four times and find it to be well priced and very convenient. The airport pickup has always worked well, the laundry arrives back on time and Street 278 boasts a handful of good bars and restaurants. That said, the rooms are getting tired and the plumbing in the bathrooms is eclectic at best. There are some subterranean rooms; If you find yourself being taken downstairs from reception, put the brakes on. These rooms have no windows and no natural light. I have also been put in the "old hotel" across the street and I was kept awake by the room service girls chatting on the balcony outside my window. Then I realised what sort of room service girls they were. Avoid the old hotel.
However, it is what it is, and at $30-35 including breakfast it's perfectly fine. The front desk staff are helpful and are good for eating and massage reviews. The Lucky Supermarket a few blocks away has extremely inexpensive wine and spirits, plus everything else you'll need. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the sixth floor as they are a little smarter than the rooms below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekfromErko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was there for a two-night stay for a business in Phnom Penh. Looking at its name, I imagined that this is a good hotel, at least comfortable to stay. I got the room in other building which seemed very creepy. There was like a cabinet but located almost in the roof of the room. The room was fine but I was like in a prison because of the bars they put on the window. The food was just okay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aisyah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#113 of 281 in Phnom Penh
237 reviews
1.1 km away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#109 of 281 in Phnom Penh
130 reviews
1.7 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 281 in Phnom Penh
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#56 of 281 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.9 km away
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
#65 of 281 in Phnom Penh
185 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#61 of 281 in Phnom Penh
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: No. 9, Street 278 | Sangkat Beng Keng Kang 1, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $28 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing