We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access issues”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #106 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 5 May 2016

There are 2 Golden Gates in 278 street- almost every guest house is Golden something!
We were booked in by the organisation I work for. ~
There is newer Hotel on one side of street and an older guest house style on the other.
I know that the newer building had 15 to 20 steps with no hand rails- an issue as my wife and I both have a disability. We were attending training which was on the top floor of the hotel. I asked if there was an elevator from the ground level car park- was told yes- I doubted it by accepted. On arrival discovered - no elevator until reach foyer - up the 15 to 20 step leaning on whatever support could find. Could have stayed in old hotel and had ground floor room but would have had to climb up and down each day to attend training- between a rock and a hard place.
Staff were sympathetic but unable to help - fault was with my organization. Food and staff in both places ok. Noise in 278 street an issue these days due to level of construction in the area.

Room Tip: If disabled book into the older guest house, not the hotel. They will deliver meals to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatmanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2016

golden gate is a budget hotel. so far so good. the wifi, though, is very budget as well. internet connection is very random. i complained about close to not existing internet connections for 4 days in a row. in vain. last time i complained the front desk guy told me in a very strict manner, that i am not welcomed anymore: "don't book here again."

unpleasant as well was that they cancelled the modest buffet breakfast: sorry, not enough guests, sir.

Room Tip: make sure that you ask for a room in the main building. the other building is even worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wandergesell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Great value.

Room was on the 3rd floor, easy to navigate around the building, there is only 1 stairways leading to the ground floor.

Room is clean and big with balcony but no window or view. "Window" from balcony cannot be locked. Main door is not solid so you can basically hear your neighbours. Refrigerator is dirty but usable. Many TV channels for you to enjoy if you're bored.

Same day laundry and it is great, really love it.
Staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful too. They speak good English.
You can also request for a key for the locker to store your valuables like laptop and passport, it is free.

Breakfast is pretty standard with bread, fruits and some other drinks.

Tuk tuk and taxi drivers available outside.
Once you're out of hotel, turn left and there is a massage parlour - great value!
Walk further down the street and you'll get cheap BBQ and local food.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWanz_Isla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

I thought it was a good price for 35$, laundry, wifi, and bkfst included. I'm primarily writing this because of the honestly of the staff that do the laundry. A friend of mine did his laundry and when he came back to his room at the end of the day there was $50 sitting on top of his laundry. He left it in one of his pockets and they rtn'd it to him. Kudos to them!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Our group stayed a week here and was very satisfied given the reasonable cost, very clean premises, and included laundry, wifi and breakfast. The included same-day laundry is a huge perk for this hot climate, potentially helping you cut down on packing.

Some "inside" rooms (mine included) have little daylight because of the close proximity of the adjacent building but we spent little daytime hours in our rooms. "Outside" rooms are very nice, so inquire about this when booking if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Ask for an "outside" room for more daylight and views from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FunkyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.7 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 281 in Phnom Penh
613 reviews
1.1 km away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#109 of 281 in Phnom Penh
130 reviews
2 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#112 of 281 in Phnom Penh
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#57 of 281 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.9 km away
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
#67 of 281 in Phnom Penh
185 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#62 of 281 in Phnom Penh
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: No. 9, Street 278 | Sangkat Beng Keng Kang 1, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $28 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing