We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pavilion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Kabiki(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau The Meliya(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Rose Suites(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omana Hotel(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,762)
Filter reviews
2,762 results
Traveller rating
1,896
679
121
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,896
679
121
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolan oasiscomplimentary massageroyal palacetuk tukmain poolfour poster bedbusy citymain buildingfront gatesunset cruisethe hustle and bustlethe heart of the cityloved this hotelpassion fruit juicesiem reapsister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,528 - 1,533 of 2,762 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

There are plenty of positives about The Pavilion, most of which center on its lush exterior spaces. It is amazing how the sounds of the city are kept at bay by the trees and foliage surrounding the property. There is a large pool in the center of the courtyard, but a few rooms also have private lap pools (approx 8x15x5). These are pricier, but absolutely worth it in my opinion. I was shocked at how much more quickly I could cool down after just a quick dip. The private pool rooms are also larger than the other suites and the bathrooms are upgraded. For those that don't want to spend the bucks, the main pool is always open and ringed by comfortable (if a little worn) lounge furniture.

The restaurant is small, I'll equipped, and not good. Prices are hotel prices, but the food is prepared on what amounts to a hot plate behind the bar. Go elsewhere...Street 240 is packed with higher quality restaurants for a fraction of the price and is only steps away.

The hotel is also located near some other hot spots, the walls of the Royal Palace start a block away (you still need to walk about four to hit the front gates) and the National Museum is just beyond that. In the other direction lies the Independence Monument. It is centrally located between the riverfront and the Russian Market, $2 tuktuk rides to either site and there are always drivers loitering outside the hotel that can whisk you away.

The rooms are equipped with air con, fan, safe, TV, computer, phone, and free wifi. The air con and fan do an excellent job keeping the room cool--this is the most comfortable we've been since we arrived in Cambodia. The mattresses are firm and the pillows are firmer--but nothing unlivable. The bathrooms have western showers and toilets, hot water and water pressure were excellent during our stay. TV is a large flat screen with the standard fare of Chinese, Cambodian, Korean, and US cable shows. There are two password protected wifi routers, so no matter where you are--to include lounging poolside--you are sure to get decent signal. There is no laundry service resident within the hotel, but they have a call roster of cleaning ladies who take in laundry on the side...use at your own risk.

The most unpleasant surprise for my husband and I upon arriving at The Pavilion was the service. It wasn't bad...it just wasn't good for a place purporting to cater to the kind of clientele it markets itself toward. The restaurant service is slow, the front desk can't/won't assist with bookings or arrangements outside of the hotel. Some of the other reviewers have used the word "snooty"...I don't know that there are many in Cambodia who could reach that bar, but Pavilion employees are definitely not as eager to please as the hard-working men and women scraping together a living right outside their gate.

Overall, The Pavilion was an acceptable escape from the grime and hustle of Phnom Penh. I have no other comparison, so I'm not sure if you can find better elsewhere or not...but the next time I'm through this way I will probably try. A little more attention to detail and a little deeper repertoire on the staff would go a long way towards making this place all it bills itself to be.

Room Tip: Private pool rooms are worth the price. The room (and bathroom) are upgraded and larger than the other rooms and the ability to cool off in your own private lap pool after a day of walking or tuktuking through PP is worth every penny.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHickey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Many thanks for this kind review. We are currently rebuilding the kitchen as it was indeed quite run-down. A new building has been built and the transfer to the new structure should happen before the end of June 2012. All bathrooms will have been also refurbished by then too.

This year, we have repaved the entire premisses, changed the entrance and added a shop. Lots of changes, hope the place will look a bit fresher!

Cheers,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Will never return to this establishment, due to it's appalling policies. No children under 16; no guests in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpkhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear MPKhmer,

If I am not mistaken, and please correct me if I am wrong, you have never stayed at the Pavilion.

Indeed, in order to ensure the security and the tranquility of all our guests, the Pavilion does not allow any unregistered visitors in the rooms. The Cambodian law also clearly stipulates that every hotel guest should register and present an ID on arrival.

As for the children, we have setup the Kabiki, 50m away, Phnom Penh's only hotel dedicated to children and families. The grounds are much larger than those of the Pavilion, there is one bigger pool as well as a kiddie pool, there are bunk-beds in the rooms, nannies for keeping the kids at night if needed, etc. We also have the Plantation, a larger facility that carters for both couples and families.

By diversifying our hotel types (families, adults only, mix of the two), I was hoping we could please everyone....

Please come and try one of our places and then make your opinion.

I would also be very interested to hear what exactly happened that triggered this review as it is very important for me that we convey our policies in the clearest and non-offending ways.

Cheers,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and still accommodated warmly with a refreshing drink and hand towels. The place is exactly the way they promote it on their website. They also make sure that quests are well informed on their way around the area and the rates of tuktuks. They make sure that you are safe within the premises and while touring the area. The restaurant though has few food choices, but there are restaurants nearby that one could choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soul08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We took a Romance Package at the Pavilion over a weekend. On arrival, we were impressed by the large central pool and bar, around which the pathway to reception meanders. Once at reception, we were looked after with cold water and hand towels while we were checked in. Our room was sensational...flower petals had been scattered on the bed to spell "love", and there was a bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us. Outside, our own private pool, shielded from above by wooden slats, and surrounded by a high concrete fence. The room itself was quite basic, but with a large bathroom, comfortable bed, and mosquito netting. We weren't there for the room, but it was more than adequate for our needs.
Breakfast was at the poolside bar, with great passionfruit juice, a selection of toast, eggs as you would like them, fresh fruit and marvellous Cambodian coffee. All served efficiently and with lots of smiles, so uncommercial it is worth remarking on.
Phnom Penh could not be described as a pretty city, but it is vibrat. Tuk-Tuks are the preferred mode of transport, and surprisingly comfortable for short journeys to markets, the river, and some of the attractive pagodas that dot the city. The Pavilion is well located, and it is only a US$3-$ ride to most central attractions.
The Pavilion is a great find; our package was US$92 a night, including breakfast...almost unbelievable value. We will be back...

Room Tip: Take the Romance package, and get your own generously sized pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Phnom Penh was our first stop in Cambodia and the Pavilion was were we stayed for a few nights. We had room 31, really room 13 but they're superstitious! It has a four poster bed with mosquito net around it. There's a TV and a small desk in the corner with a computer on it that you can use for free internet access. The bathrooms a good size and clean too.
Outside there's a small private pool a couple of chairs and a sunlounger. It would be better if they could fit another sunlounger in, but that's only a minor niggle really.

The grounds of the hotel are well shaded with lots of trees and plants to provide cover from the intense sun. There's plenty of seating areas around the pool to lounge on too, we took advantage of these in the afternoons after a hot, humid morning doing a bit of sight seeing.

The breakfast each morning was simple but tasty. It's a lovely setting to have your breakfast sat outside by the pool in the midst of all the greenery. We had had tea, freshly squeezed passion fruit juice, cheese omelette, bread and butter, home made jam, Danish pastry and selection of fruit pieces. The omelette was really nice with lots of Kampot black pepper in it.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They made our few days stay their very pleasant. Overall I'd say The Pavilion was a great place to start our time in Cambodia. We loved Phnom Penh and could happily see us staying there again when we get to go back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for one with a pool. Well worth it to cool down after a hot day sight seeing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews