We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,853)
Filter reviews
2,853 results
Traveller rating
1,970
691
124
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,970
691
124
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool an oasis complimentary massage royal palace tuk tuk lush gardens main pool busy city four poster bed front gate main building sunset cruise the hustle and bustle loved this hotel passion fruit juice siem reap twin room
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 2,853 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Great location, central to the Royal Palace and markets. Quietly tucked away with an unassuming entrance. 2 great pools & lovely garden surroundings for breakfast or cocktails. Nice big rooms. Recommend this place

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank EuropeFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavilionpp, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you so much for such a brief and comprehensive comment! Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

i had booked my room through their website 2 mths prior to my trip. so one week prior to departure when i realized the same room were available through booking.com at a much reduced price i was very upset. couldnt cancel my stay, so when i emailed them, to my surprise, they offered me the same price as booking.com
again this was one of many great surprises during our stay. if you book directly through their website you get a complimentary mekong river cruise and a spa. we didnt do the spa but the cruise was excellent. loved it.
the place is quite near to the main attractions of the city, but staying inside you never realize that.
this must be one of my favorite hotels i stayed at. will always recommend it.

p.s: 1. i wish they had more vegetarian options in their menu.
2. there was a smell of drainage from our room no 2. have to clear that, this was occasional not always, plus we never told the staff as we hardly stayed for long in the rooms during our two night stay. so didnt want to complain.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sans_gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavilionpp, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Sans, Thank you for your review! The rates are the same on Booking.com and our website, unless something went wrong in our computer systems. We will check room 2 for smells, thanks for the tip! Happy you liked our little cruise! Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The Pavillion is a stunning boutique hotel in the city center of Phnom Penh. It’s only 5 minutes walk from the Royal Palace. And we booked it for that reason. They came to pick us up with a nice Vintage Jaguar (for a little more that a taxi) adding a touch of classiness to the overall experience. Our suite was stunning with a very large balcony. This is for the positive.
The negative. It seems the current owner/manager is not on site much and certainly not enough behind the staff. We were there for 2 nights and to our surprise in an hotel like this one, especially when occupying one of the largest (if not the largest suite) and after we left the key at the front desk at 1030am our room was not made when we came back in the middle of the afternoon. We thought it was an oversight and mentioned it at the desk when we went out for a cruise on the Mekong toward the end of the afternoon. But… no the room was still in the same state when we came back at 1900. My wife had to argue to find someone willing to do our bed. Someone came to do it, but towels were not changed and no water was put in the room. There are at least three people who did not do their job here, the person at the desk whom we left our key to, the cleaning lady and the manager whom should have checked the job was done… Brekfast is a la carte but no one can make a smoothie in the breakfast hours, you have to wait until 10am to have one...
We were proposed a late afternoon boat cruise, adverstised with drinks and snacks, but there was no food on the vessel and no snacks either.
There is 2 swimming pools at the Pavilion. One is called the sun pool. Right enough sun in on it all afternoon but there is not enough loungers and we had to lie on a towel on the floor to sunbathe.
I must say that the manager was very sorry when we spoke to her and she removed the taxi fare from our bill. A kind gesture.

So in short. I clearly see why this place was winning Trip advisor awards 2 years in a row. But I could see as well how fast it could lose its leadership.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank X5185OMthomasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavilionpp, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Thomas, Thanks for such a comprehensive review! Indeed, the housekeeping was a bit slow with the start of a newcomer in the team. But she is making quick progress and I have asked again the house-keeping manager to follow closer on her at first. I am very confident she already does great! The drinks and finger food are not complimentary on the boat, only the cruise is. A menu is available on board. New sunbeds have already been ordered for the sunpool as two got broken and were indeed removed. Sorry it took a couple of weeks to have them made. At breakfast, we only include two kinds of fresh juices, tea, coffee and other boxed juices. Smoothies can be ordered additionally, but it takes some 5-10 min for the team to make them. Come again and try us one more time! Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the lead up to Khmer New Year, although we didn’t know that until we got there! The only way this vaguely impacted our stay was on our first night when the bar closed early so all the staff could have their celebration, but even then it didn’t affect us.

We got a cab at the airport when we arrived for a fixed $15 to the hotel. We got a tour of the backstreets to get us there as it was early evening but the drive was safe and the driver chatty.

The hotel is around a 10 min walk to the Independence Monument, which is a nice area to meander around and there’s a large green space that the locals appear to use as a walking/jogging loop at dusk.

Tuk Tuks were always waiting outside and they were happy to hold to the prices the hotel had posted on the pillar by the security hut as you’re leaving. You’d tell the driver where you wanted to go, he’d say ‘ok, $3’, you’d say “$2?”, he’d nod, and off you go. We never tried to bargain too hard though or undercut as the prices were fair. As such, we never got in to arguments over pricing. I have to give credit to one tuk tuk driver who gave us a price of a dollar more than the previous night, we called him out on it and his response was simply “happy new year!” with a big smile. Since it was new year we just laughed and got in.

Check in and out were simple and well organised. Nothing of note to report. We got a refreshing drink and cold towel.

Breakfast was all table service, not a buffet. You have a standard choice of tea or coffee and juice and then a selection of bread and pastries, and some fruit are brought to the table. The menu says you can have as many of the above items as you wish for but you’re restricted to a one time order of things like bacon, eggs, tomatoes etc. We found breakfast to be plentiful, well cooked and served with a smile.

The table service did stop us doing our usual of taking a load of food away in a bag for lunchtime but then we asked to take a few of the pastries with us on the last day as we checked out and left early, and we got more than the usual amount given to us in a cardboard container, which was a nice touch.

We didn’t try the bar snacks or dinner at the hotel so can’t comment on those, though there were often people eating in the evening. We did have drinks at the bar one night and can report the cocktails were well made and cheap: $4 or 5!

We had a villa with a private pool so didn’t use the main pools. The one at the front is shady and has a tropical feel. We only had a nose at the other pool on our last night and that has far more sun beds and isn’t shaded, hence it deserves its name the “sun pool”.

We used the complementary 30 min massage to ease the leg pain on day 2 of our stay, which felt a bit rushed, then followed up with a full massage the following day. I had a 60 min deep tissue massage (firm but not painful thankfully) and my partner had a 90 mins full body massage. She said she could hear the masseuse yawning during it so wasn’t impressed by that, plus a mobile phone kept buzzing with messages whilst we were in there. Again, not exactly the sort of tranquil service you’d expect but it was $60 for both of them so hardly expensive.

There’s also a complementary boat trip included over the river to see sunset, which was a nice little trip to experience a different view of the city.

The negatives? Too few to worry about but if we’re being picky:
1. We didn’t have a good selection of pillows. Ignoring preference on heights, one of them was just lumpy. In fairness, we didn’t ask for replacements so can’t really moan about that too much.
2. The bathroom was starting to show its age a little and there was a considerable amount of water leakage under the glass cubicle on to the floor.
3. My partner found the bed to be a bit hard. I was ok with it though.
4. See comments on massage above.

All in all, it’s a lovely hotel (all of them have history) within some French-Khmer buildings and tranquil grounds, and the staff are helpful and friendly. There’s much to like!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NeilandGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavilionpp, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Neil, Thank you so much for this long review! The breakfast is unlimited on all items. Will double check on the masseuse, sorry for the issue. Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Arrived here after a flight from London then an onward flight from Vietnam. It is a lovely little boutique hotel with individual room styles. One of our rooms were ready but the other was ready by the two o’clock time they gave. The rooms were clean, tidy and quite large. Bathroom nice and functional.
Food is available by the pool. Menu is limited but what we have had has been very nice.
Not sure we will pass this way again but if we did we would certainly stay here.
Rooms were lovely, service fantastic. Not sure if the value as part of a tour.

Room Tip: All look to be good
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MMGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavilionpp, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Cheers! So nice of you. I hope you will come and stay with us again! Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews