We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Child friendly oasis in central Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 268 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Child friendly oasis in central Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Every hotel we stayed in in Cambodia was wonderful, clean, good location, quiet, delicious food, but the Kabiki stood out for its child friendly atmosphere. We were travelling with a one year old, so clean floors, hot showers, quiet rooms and food cooked to our specifications were very important to us.

The Kabiki has amazing rooms for families, with a little walled garden in front of each room, so the child(ren) can play, while the parents relax on lounge chairs. The bowl of fruit greeting us on arrival was also put to very good use and caused lots of baby enjoyment. There are two pools, one of which is a shaded kiddie pool. The area is in the middle of Phnom Penh but in a suprisingly quiet area. Our daughter was fascinated by the cats running around and could hardly be torn away from the hotel to visit the city!

The rooms were lovely, the breakfast very nice and very good, the staff very discreet, it was all clean, there was hot water, we slept deeply and soundly in the quiet hush, a wonderful hotel in all.

If travelling with a child to Cambodia, I would recommend checking with the hotel whether or not they allow children younger than 12 years old - not all of them do!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatje53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    257
    72
    14
    14
See reviews for
309
247
44
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wangaratta, australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a wonderful oasis amid the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh. From the moment we entered the lush garden we felt pleased with our choice and then the lovely welcome and personal explanations and advice confirmed it was a good one. We arrived at 8.30am and our family room was occupied but the staff are so lovely that we didn't even mind the inconvenience and happily spent a few hours poolside. Our kids loved the pool, the food was great and the room was very nice. The beds are a bit hard but I did see new mattresses going into one of the rooms - hopefully they are changing the mattresses to slightly less firm ones. The Kabiki is in a great location, so easy to walk to many places. Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay in PP so enjoyable. We hope to return to the Kabiki again one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Kabiki is a great find. It is set in a park-like garden in a quiet, secure neighborhood in the heart of Phnom Penh, walking distance to some great restaurants and the Royal Palace. We spent 4 days there with our kids, who loved the pool and exploring the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is good only for the sheer fact it is in the heart of Phnom Penh and walking distance to everything. The staff are not helpful at all - we wanted assistance to book in to a nearby restaurant and, after having given the address the staff would not look up the number for us to make a reservation - we had to go on to the internet ourselves to provide the number. The room is large but very basic. The bathroom was tiny - we ensured that we kept away from the hotel for as long as possible if only to put our head down and have a wash. The hotel is surrounded by very high corregated fencing and has security gates along the road where you access it. My husband laid by the pool the next day and I noticed whilst chatting to him that the tables were dirty actually the surroundings were also pretty unkept. Breakfast was something else, on the first day just sat there and waited and waited and waited ! Breakfast is poor. The hotel is expensive for what it is - we had just come from Siem Reap (Pavillon d' Orient) so maybe we were spoilt but we paid the same price so they have no excuse. I would look further afield than stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was my third time staying at the Kabiki in 2 years. They have recently renovated, and it looks fantastic. The hotel is in a park-like setting with a nice pool. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and bunk beds for our two children. Breakfast includes bread, yogurt/museli, fruit plate, eggs cooked to order, coffee, tea, juice. Very central and close to the royal palace, national museum and Street 240. Front desk has good English and French and they are happy to call for restaurant reservations, tuk-tuks, etc. Taxis and tuk-tuks can not drop you off at the Kabiki's door, and you need to walk about 150 meters from the corner to the hotel. The Kabiki is on a street with a government official's house and cars and tuk-tuks are not allowed to drive on the street.

Room Tip: ask for a room with bunk beds if you're travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler123020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 268 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
0.6 km away
The Plantation
The Plantation
#16 of 268 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.6 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 268 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 268 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#20 of 268 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
2.1 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 268 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Property: The Kabiki
Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): $63 - $138
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing