We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
Nearby Hotels
US$57
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
US$26
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$16
US$14
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Plaza Hotel(Vientiane)
US$139
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
56
37
11
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
37
11
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating restauranteco lodgethe rivertubingsamaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My family and I stayed here for a few nights in August. We had a nice stay overall and were very well looked after by Sam who runs it with his family who were also very kind, particularly Autumn. Before we arrived we had a few email conversation with Sam and Autumn, and they were prompt at returning our emails and very helpful. The price of the stay was very good, particularly as we had booked bungalows, and it includes breakfast which was nice. The set out is really nice, they have a floating restaurant which was nice to walk down to and had nice views. Sam and Autumn also organised a boat trip out for us and were very helpful in organising transport for us when we needed it. The only cons really is that the lodge is quite far away from Vientiane (the distance is not extreme but the roads are poor), so if you want to go into Vientiane, which we did do one day, be prepared for a bit of a journey, Also the accommodation is rural and basic so you will need to be ok with living with nature, both outside and inside the bungalows (!) and having a relaxed time as there are not loads and loads of things to do. Also the wifi is very poor, but actually this was a refreshing break away from being online!

Room Tip: go for a bungalow
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Francesca2267,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the slow reply. We are happy that you had a good time at Rivertime Ecolodge Resort. We hope that it will be a time that you and family will always remember about Laos and its culture. You are welcome to come back anytime and do bring more family or friends with you. We had a good time with you.

Thanks,
Rivertime Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

YOUTUBE: UNFINISHED FOOTSTEPS. We'd heard from a few people that Vientiane was a place for a quick stop over, to then swiftly move on. Luckily we found the Rivertime Resort, and had a fantastic stay. A great place to unwind and clear your mind. We got to visit the village across the river with a couple of staff members. And had fun tubing as well. A unique place to stay on your travels.
See you guys again one day! Thanks, Chris & Emma.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Chris R,

Thank you for coming and visiting Rivertime Resort. We all had a great time with you both. It was our pleasure in getting to know you and may you both continue safely through your travels.

Cheers,
Rivertime Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you guys for the hospitality. We had a great relaxing moment.
We understand that it is under renovation but at least, we could find a place that is a bit "human" and give a kindb of local feeling.

Just something that can be improved: when we come to such place, we expect nature/forest, basic equipment, probably insects, animals, etc...
But...
We don't expect to see plastic bottles. Please do something for this.

Thank you again!


Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nickal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The prior response you received was inappropriate and unprofessional. We are now under new management and would like to reach out regardless of the time that has passed since your original review was posted. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I stayed 1 night at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge with some friends in May. It was a very pleasant experience. The bungalows are simple but nice. Their river pool is a cool idea since the current in the river is very strong and makes it impossible to swim. We enjoyed the food and cold Beer Lao. We had only one complaint. On the second day (I think it was Sunday) was had to wait 1,5 hours for our lunch. Getting extra help in the kitchen on busier days would certainly solved this problem. The overall impression of the place was very good though.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RtRSam, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Hello olabubu,

Thanks for the feed back and do hope you and your friends come back.

My apologize for the slowness of the lunch. Our staff make all meals when ordered; it takes longer because of no prep foods done in advance. Everything gets cut up after the order has been placed. All fruits and vegetables are cut up fresh. This will change in the future. We will have prep foods done and stored in refrigeration.

I do have some pictures of you and friends. If you would like them let me know rivertimeresort AT hotmail DOT com.

Thanks again for visiting!

Rivertime Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The Rivertime Ecolodge Resort offers the rural Laos experience that you can't get anywhere else in the Vientiane area. The resort is family run and they definitely treat you like family when you visit. The resort also employs local villagers enhancing the cultural experience and helping the local economy. Sam, the owner, fosters a learning environment that allows guests to ask questions about the local Laos culture and also encourages the staff members to understand other visiting cultures. This allows for a well-rounded experience. While at Rivertime, you will be staying in an eco-friendly cabin. The cabin has the basic essentials, including western-styled bathrooms, mosquito nets and towels.

The floating restaurant is on the river attached to the resort, which is very convenient to get some easy and authentic food. The food is amazing with reasonable prices (we highly recommend the fresh potato chips paired with BeerLao). Aside from eating, the resort also offers a variety of different activities including local village tours, motor bike rental, kayaking, fishing and tubing down the river.

From the family-based staff to the authentic lodges situated on the river next to the local village, the resort offers many opportunities to learn what it's like to live in Laos.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffturner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RtRSam, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you Jeff!We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay here at Rivertime. It was lucky that you came when there was a holiday. It made the tours more fun for you. I hope you enjoyed riding around the village on the motorbikes. If you are ever in Laos again we would be happy to see you!

Much Thanks,
Rivertime Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews