We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax and Unplug”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
Ranked #9 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I stayed at Rivertime Resort for a few days and it was exactly what I was hoping for.

Sam and Autumn were super responsive both by email before I arrived and then throughout my stay. The bungalows are simple, so do not arrive expecting luxury accommodations. However, they are the perfect place to unwind. The food at the restaurant was great - everything that I had was freshly prepared and delicious. There is not much beyond a few small towns in the area, but the resort will arrange tours for you. I went on a village tour with Autumn, which was a great opportunity to learn a bit about life in a Laotian village. Thanks so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lupemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi lupemarie,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your visit to Rivertime Ecolodge Resort. We had a great time with you too. We can see your passion in working with teaching adults. We believe that you will do a great job in that. You are always welcome to come back anytime. Have a great time in Mumbai.

Thanks!
Rivertime Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

My family and I stayed here for a few nights in August. We had a nice stay overall and were very well looked after by Sam who runs it with his family who were also very kind, particularly Autumn. Before we arrived we had a few email conversation with Sam and Autumn, and they were prompt at returning our emails and very helpful. The price of the stay was very good, particularly as we had booked bungalows, and it includes breakfast which was nice. The set out is really nice, they have a floating restaurant which was nice to walk down to and had nice views. Sam and Autumn also organised a boat trip out for us and were very helpful in organising transport for us when we needed it. The only cons really is that the lodge is quite far away from Vientiane (the distance is not extreme but the roads are poor), so if you want to go into Vientiane, which we did do one day, be prepared for a bit of a journey, Also the accommodation is rural and basic so you will need to be ok with living with nature, both outside and inside the bungalows (!) and having a relaxed time as there are not loads and loads of things to do. Also the wifi is very poor, but actually this was a refreshing break away from being online!

Room Tip: go for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Francesca2267,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the slow reply. We are happy that you had a good time at Rivertime Ecolodge Resort. We hope that it will be a time that you and family will always remember about Laos and its culture. You are welcome to come back anytime and do bring more family or friends with you. We had a good time with you.

Thanks,
Rivertime Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

YOUTUBE: UNFINISHED FOOTSTEPS. We'd heard from a few people that Vientiane was a place for a quick stop over, to then swiftly move on. Luckily we found the Rivertime Resort, and had a fantastic stay. A great place to unwind and clear your mind. We got to visit the village across the river with a couple of staff members. And had fun tubing as well. A unique place to stay on your travels.
See you guys again one day! Thanks, Chris & Emma.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Chris R,

Thank you for coming and visiting Rivertime Resort. We all had a great time with you both. It was our pleasure in getting to know you and may you both continue safely through your travels.

Cheers,
Rivertime Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you guys for the hospitality. We had a great relaxing moment.
We understand that it is under renovation but at least, we could find a place that is a bit "human" and give a kindb of local feeling.

Just something that can be improved: when we come to such place, we expect nature/forest, basic equipment, probably insects, animals, etc...
But...
We don't expect to see plastic bottles. Please do something for this.

Thank you again!


Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nickal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The prior response you received was inappropriate and unprofessional. We are now under new management and would like to reach out regardless of the time that has passed since your original review was posted. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I stayed 1 night at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge with some friends in May. It was a very pleasant experience. The bungalows are simple but nice. Their river pool is a cool idea since the current in the river is very strong and makes it impossible to swim. We enjoyed the food and cold Beer Lao. We had only one complaint. On the second day (I think it was Sunday) was had to wait 1,5 hours for our lunch. Getting extra help in the kitchen on busier days would certainly solved this problem. The overall impression of the place was very good though.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RtRSam, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Hello olabubu,

Thanks for the feed back and do hope you and your friends come back.

My apologize for the slowness of the lunch. Our staff make all meals when ordered; it takes longer because of no prep foods done in advance. Everything gets cut up after the order has been placed. All fruits and vegetables are cut up fresh. This will change in the future. We will have prep foods done and stored in refrigeration.

I do have some pictures of you and friends. If you would like them let me know rivertimeresort AT hotmail DOT com.

Thanks again for visiting!

Rivertime Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
26.2 km away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#6 of 202 in Vientiane
518 reviews
26.1 km away
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Souphaphone Guesthouse
#15 of 202 in Vientiane
159 reviews
25.5 km away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#3 of 202 in Vientiane
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
605 reviews
26 km away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#27 of 97 in Vientiane
530 reviews
26.1 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

Address: Ban Thadokkam, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: S$13 - S$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a riverside ecolodge resort only 30 km outside of Vientiane which offers a true taste of rural Lao life but with most of the comforts of home. We have a floating restaurant on the river and offer a range of activities such as local village tours, tubing, cooking classes, massage, a sauna nearby, boat trips, fishing, free bicycles etc. We do our best to live in harmony with both the local people and the surrounding forest. We also donate $2 per guest night to local education and community projects. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivertime Resort And Ecolodge Hotel Vientiane
Rivertime Hotel And Ecolodge
Rivertime Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing