We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm in a city that is renewing itself!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Islas Baleares
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old charm in a city that is renewing itself!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The peace that comes over you after entering the premises of Tintagel is just amazing! In the midle of a busy and polluted city you find Tintagel calmly resting itself in the shadow of
big green trees. Already at the gate you start to feel relaxed and it only gets better. Charming rooms, super service and exelent food. No alcohol is served as this small hotel is on the same street as a big girls school, but for a small fee you can bring your own.The rooms are rather dark and feels wonderfully restful after a day out I'm the brightness of the Colombo sun. Favourite rooms are the upstairs suits facing the front and entrance of the hotel. Absolutely gorgeous if even a bit in a need of a small facelift. I been staying here several times and I have no intention to stay anywhere else during my next trip to Colombo! This is by far my first hotel choise in Colombo!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    119
    39
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
274
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Nothing prepared me for the hidden splendour of this small boutique hotel.
We arrived early in the morning and were welcomed with graciousness, before being led to our room, which turned out to be a suite with balcony.
The best curry I ate in Sri Lanka was at their restaurant where I had the cashew curry, fantastic. My husband had the string hoppers for breakfast and I had the egg hopper. Wonderful breakfast with a good chilli kick! This must be arranged the day before.
Everything about this hotel was good. The comfortable bed. The exceptional staff. The swimming pool, small but heavenly after a hot day in Colombo. This hotel is fully airconditioned. Sure it is not near the water, its hasn't a liquor license, [however the hotel has ways around this] - do ask. It didn't have a elevator, just a grand staircase, but these things simple fade away. Spoil yourself, stay at this magical haven

Room Tip: We were given a front suite, which had a living area, and access to front balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed 2 night at Tintagel.The suite are very big, nice bed and nice decor.
The hotel is great location, and u can walk around and find many shoppings. Our main issue the service wasn't that great and the food at restaurant was average.
The breakfast its good.The hotel also have a pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Calm and understated with attention to detail and great staff. The best sleep we got in Sri Lanka in two weeks. Great urban pool and terrace too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel has a unique charm as it's small and boutique like. The rooms are done up in a smart, contemporary style with lots of black and stripes, and fairly spacious bathrooms, also done up in a minimal contemporary style. However, the rooms showed their age, with several niggling bits, creaking beds, fans with no regulators, and spotty upholstery.

Our main issue was that the service at the hotel from check in to making restaurant bookings was very poor. We were two families travelling together, and when we arrived exhausted at 2am in the morning, they gave us the wrong rooms so we had to move again the next day. Also, we requested them to make some reservations for dinner etc. that they forgot to make, and were generally quite unapologetic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNafrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.7 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.7 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.3 km away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.7 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
2.4 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Property: Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price range (per night): $209 - $465
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing