We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
491
135
46
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
135
46
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel prime minister shanth fernando former residence sri lanka plunge pool four poster bed spa ceylon old colonial style small gym the ground floor cinnamon gardens our honeymoon stayed longer beautiful hotel first stop common areas
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This is a review I have tried very hard not to post. Sadly, despite every attempt to settle our issue privately, we have encountered complete intransigence from the management of Tintagel Colombo. Here’s our story, draw your own conclusions:-

We arrived early evening for our first night in Colombo, tired having travelled all day from Dubai. We were shown to a downstairs room, situated directly off the main reception. A well appointed room but upon trying to use the bathroom sink, the hot tap was bone dry. Letting it go as perhaps a ‘blip’ we then tried to take a much anticipated hot shower. Not possible - the water was stone cold. Being unable freshen up we were forced to head out for the evening ‘unrefreshed’, notifying reception of our water issue and distinct disappointment given the hotel’s apparent status.

We returned from dinner to find the water now running, albeit rather too late and only luke warm at best.

We retired to bed only to then be kept wide awake due to the room’s immediate proximity to the main reception and dining room. The hotel has piped music, wooden floors and was busy with boisterous dining guests, and more importantly noisy staff who clearly had no concern for people trying to sleep in an adjacent room. We also clearly heard every phone call made to reception. We may as well have been sleeping on a sofa in reception.

We tried to sleep, sadly realising that despite paying for an allegedly prestigious venue, we had probably got the worst room in a hotel with dubious plumbing. We gave up.. The noise was relentless, to the point that around midnight we requested that we be allowed to move rooms, and in the interim, perhaps they could turn the piped music down or preferably off. Not possible to move rooms they said, appearing not to care.

Having had virtually no sleep, we awoke and made morning tea in the room. A tiny carton of real milk found in the fridge was seen as a nice and welcome touch.

Frankly, through lack of sleep we could not get out of the hotel quickly enough. We took breakfast (which was very good to be fair) and then went to settle our bill, fully expecting surely there would perhaps be some comment, acknowledgement or concern re the hotel’s fundamental failings on the basics of the night before, ie a lack of hot running water and some much needed rest! Surely they would maybe knock off one of the two drinks we had bought upon arrival? (too such to ask??!) Nope! The head receptionist could not have cared less and even denied any knowledge that we had been wandering around his reception in bedclothes just hours before! Despite advising him of our distinct dissatisfaction of the hotel’s most basic and fundamental of failings, the full bill was presented …..wait for it!….. including a mini bar extra for the tiny splash of milk we put in our tea that morning!!!
We immediately sent an email of complaint which to our amazement went unacknowledged. Only upon chasing hotel reception were we apologetically told that the email had been forwarded for senior management to deal with. Two weeks have now elapsed with nothing heard whatsoever. We chased again by email in the last 24hrs but still total silence from the management? I can only assume they are very happy to charge full rates even when they clearly fail on the very basic expectancies of a hotel. It seems they 'talk the talk' but are not big enough to hold hands up when they fail paying guests.
Don’t go.

Room Tip: We had NO SLEEP, the room we had is not even worth 50% of what we paid. Oh, and maybe ask for a room with running water?
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fatspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

I was surprised that I am giving the Tintagel such a low score as I was hoping that this would be the last hoorah in our Sri Lankan holiday. It just wasn’t up to the standard that I thought it would be - we have stayed in many other hotels of similar age and style that were so wonderful and better that this hotel. We were in a suite on the floor right next to a private dining room which was really noisy as people left after we had gone to bed (not all the hotels fault but at the same time wasn’t the most ideal spot for a room). The room on the surface like the rest of the hotel looked nice but when you really look at the state of the furniture etc they are very tired (I never normally put up pics like this but was really disappointed). The service on in general nice and friendly - we had dinner there which again I thought only average - think there are better top end hotels in Colombo

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank australiamel_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeva W, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo.

We truly appreciate your generous feedback about our hotel. It is quite unfortunate that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that each aspect of the hotel has been designed with much thought and care which makes it a unique property for our guests to experience.

We have noted your comments about the room and dinner. We shall investigate further in order to ensure similar situations are prevented. The furniture of the room are unique antique furniture which have been incorporated in the total design of the room. Both the Dinning Room and Courtyard are favored by many for a much relaxed indulgence from the eclectic a'la carte menu we offer. And we have received great feedback from our guests who have dined with us multiple times.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

An absolutely beautiful hotel in the centre of Colombo. We came here after a long night flight and immediately greeted with a delicious welcome drink. I had told them previously this was the first night of our honeymoon and theey presented us with a cake when we went up to the room. The room itself was incredibly stylish. We ate there for dinner and breakfast - both superb. We wish we stayed longer than a night! Staff were very professional and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosannadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeva W, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo.

We truly appreciate your generous feedback our service. We are pleased to know that your recent stay with us was comfortable and memorable as the same time. As mentioned each aspect of the hotel has been designed with much thought and care which makes it a unique property for our guests to experience.

Both the Dinning Room and Courtyard are favored by many for a much relaxed indulgence from the eclectic menu we offer. We are pleased that your enjoyed every moment of your honeymoon at Tintagel Colombo.

Thank you for your great recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We stayed for three nights at Tintagel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house has recently been renovated and is tastefully decorated in a modern style whilst still retaining what is usually referred to as 'old world charm'. There is an outdoor area where you can peacefully sit and enjoy a slow meal at any time of the day and the rooms are very comfortable and charming. The staff were always attentive and happy. We ate there on a number of occasions and were very impressed with the chef. We will return when we next visit Colombo.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank larrakeyah2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeva W, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo.

We are pleased that your recent stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one. The interior of the hotel has been designed with much thought and care which makes it a unique property. We appreciate your feedback about service as we strive to excel in our standards continuously.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will decide to stay with us during your next trip to the island.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

It is a great and classic hotel. There are five or six rooms where you can relax and feel the history of the property.
The library is spcetacular, the swiming pool is very beautifull but not good for children, is is in an interior courtyard surrounded by rooms in a perfect location but does not allow you to run or diving.
The restaurant is one of the best restaurants I have ever tried, it is a perect mix of the Sri Lankan food with touches of modernity.
I travelled with children, they enjoyed but I do not recomend this hotel as a familiar hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ponapavement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeva W, other at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments about staff and service, facilities in the suite, breakfast and spa experience as we strive to excel in our standards continuously. Every aspect of the hotel has been designed with much thought and care to ensure that our guests are treated to a unique experience.

We do serve an eclectic a'la caret menu which has been created to please every palate and the Red Bar certainly does offer the atmosphere for a much relaxed drink. Thank you for your great recommendation and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews