We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days of laziness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 156 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I went to Colombo to spend a few days to rest and relax amidst two crazy family weddings. Colombo Haven was the perfect place for this to happen. It had a relaxed homely feel thanks the welcoming nature of John and Sharmily and a cosy ambiance. I couldn't believe how central the place was and it's going to be increasingly rarer to find a boutique place like this in the region as a number of high-end hotels (Sheraton, Hilton) being built in the area. The price is super competitive for the location. I would highly recommend eating at "Cafe on the 5th" - a short walk/tuktuk ride from the Haven on 5th Avenue

Room Tip: Make sure you get the top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravellerXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Kiwi Traveler,
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven. It was our great pleasure hosting you and sounds like you had a very good stay as well. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels brings you to Colombo.

Blessings,
Jonathan Krish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We reached Colombo after a 10 day long trip just for two nights and Colombo Haven was a happy ending (along with the House of Fashion ;-) ) ! We got the Bamboo room and it was large, with two beds, a small fridge and even a home style tea, coffee arrangement. But the bathroom was the best and the shower cubicle was the ultimate with its own lights, music, and god knows what else. The location was amazing, in the heart of Colombo, close to everything it seemed. There are expensive hotels in that area and you can enjoy same location at a reasonable price in a large city like Colombo! Also enjoyed the friendly hospitality of Jonathan and Shalmali (I hope I got her name right), gave us real home feel, and this is a real b&b! I have kept the best for the end... And that is Shalmali's breakfast!!!! Huge spread, fabulous cooking, the Sri Lankan fare was amazing especially the fish curry and Sri Lankan pancakes/crepes with coconut and Kithul. 5 stars, no less!!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank India_Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear "India Trippers",
Thanks for staying with and also for your kind and elaborate review., It was my manager John Samson and his wife Shyamali who took care of you. Not Jonathan Krish (the owner). So, the credit goes to them for their hospitality and competence. As many a travelers have complimented, Shyamali does make a fabulous breakfast and some have called it the best in the island. So, glad you loved it as well.

It was our great pleasure hosting you and we look forward to the next opportunity to host you and/or your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Due to a flight delay we arrived at Colombo Haven Bed and Breakfast at 5 am, several hours later then anticipated. We had organised an airport pickup through Colombo Haven B&B but given our late arrival we were not sure if the driver would be at the airport to meet us - but he was. On arrival at the B & B we were greeted warmly even at the early hour and were asked if we would like to have breakfast after we had had sleep. They seemed quite willing to accommodate us at a time of our convenience due to our late arrival. A very good start.

We stayed 3 nights (2 nights and 1 morning) in the Margossa Suite on the top floor. This room was very large and has it's own veranda area which is very nice. The room is very clean and the en-suite is large and well set out.

The highlight of this place is definitely the huge Sri Lankan breakfasts served downstairs just off the kitchen area. This certainly sets you up for the day and you probably won't need lunch. The breakfast choices change daily so you will always be in for a new food adventure.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and as an added bonus, the B&B is set down a long lane-way behind the Carnival Ice Cream Shop - well worth a visit on a hot Colombo day.

The only thing to consider is that Colombo has a lot of construction going on around this area so it can be rather noisy in the morning when work starts at 7am.

Overall a good first base on our Sri Lankan journey.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear guest "Ski_64",
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for taking the time and effort to write us a review. One of the advantages of booking an airport pickup with us is that we track and manage the pick up according to any changes to flight arrivals. I am so glad that my manager John Samson and team managed to coordinate that well for you. They are also very good at receiving guests no matter what time of the day it is. I am really glad that you appreciated that as well. Also the breakfast my manager's wife Shyamali makes, which many guests compliment us on.

It was our great pleasure to host you at the Haven and we look forward to the next time we are able to host you and/or your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,
Jonathan Krish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

A lovely place to stopover at the beginning of our trip to Sri Lanka. A very accommodating host who was flexible with our changing plans and who helped us prioritise what to see in Colombo in a short period of time. Delicious introduction to Sri Lankan food fresh each morning. Thank you Mr John!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 861mabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear guest "861mabel",
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B. We greatly appreciate your patronage and also the effort to provide us a review. Much appreciated.

It was our great pleasure to host you at the Haven and look forward to hosting you and/or your family and friends at the Haven again soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan Krish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We were made to feel extremely welcome from the second we arrived. Welcome drink, we were given information on what to visit that afternoon. The following morning we had a huge home cooked breakfast. Our first Sri Lankan breakfast, and it remains the best we had! John then gave us some information on what we could visit later that day. He asked what are our plans were for the rest of our trip and then made some suggestions. His wife wrote us an schedule and what we need to do for booking train tickets etc. Staying here really made us feel at home straight away settling into a different country. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbbtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Guest "barbbtorqua",
Thank you very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for providing us a review. I am very glad to hear that you were very well taken care of by manager John (Samson) and his wife Shyamali who help operate the B&B for me. Samson is very knowledgeable with regards to the hospitality and tourism industry in the island having been a tour guide for nearly 30 years, and it helps our guests immensely to plan their travel and tour around the island. Whether we organise the entire program for our guests or provide input when they are with us, it is very relevant and experienced information.

It was our great pleasure hosting you at Colombo Haven and we look forward to hosting you and/or your family and friends at the Haven again soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan Krish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
1.3 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 156 in Colombo
471 reviews
2.7 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 156 in Colombo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#3 of 157 in Colombo
98 reviews
2.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.2 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing