We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS HAVEN ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 156 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Don't know where to start with this review, i can go on forever so il keep it as short as i can. We were going on a two week holiday in Sri Lanka and we had booked in advance to stay first the two nights at colombo haven.transport was also arranged for us from the airport by colombo haven in the early hours of the morning.we arrived at the homestay about 6am and what a welcome we had. This was one of seven properties we were staying at in the two weeks we were there. The hospitality we received from John and his wife shamylia was undoubtedly head and shoulders above anywhere i have ever stayed.
The breakfast is by far the best we have had and all cooked fresh. We had mapped out a route but after discussing with John he made suggestions and organised places to visit and stay for us which completely changed our route but definitely made our holiday one to remember. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Most of all we have made true friends with an amazing couple and of course raamoo and the world famous TUK TUK driver Lawrence

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

Mr John and his wife are wonderful people.They give to everyone very warm heart.They made my family very happy every day.The breakfast we ate was always very fresh and very tasty.We could ask them about everything what we needed.We will always remember Colombo Haven because It is very special place in many ways.Thank You.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Guest Kris13,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B and also for your review. I am so happy to hear that my manager John (Samson) and his wife took very good care of you. We do pride our selves in making an elaborate breakfast, freshly made each morning, according our guests' choices. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed it!.

We also very happy to have been helpful towards providing useful information and direction towards the rest of your trip. Samson has over 30 year experience in the travel and tour industry and hence is a wealth of information. Glad we could be of help.

It was our great pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to the next opportunity to do so.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay for second year @ Colombo haven.
Lovely couple managers made us feel welcome and right at home
Our room was large and clean with a modern bathroom and plenty of hot water
Quiet location within walking distance to many attractions
Quiet & peaceful excellent price
Dependable airport pick up
Very good breakfast
We hope to be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dearest Guest N Holmes,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoy hosting you every time you visit Sri Lanka and very appreciative of the fact that you come back to stay with us each time. My manager John Samson and Shymali look forward to seeing you as well each time. We look forward to hosting you/and or your family and friends soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The best thing about this B&B was the lovely couple who were running it while we were there. They looked after us very well, especially when it came to organising a transfer to the airport in the middle of the night - they gave us good advice about when to leave, organised a car at a good price; and even got up to make us tea at 4 a.m. Apart from that we had a large clean comfortable room, everything worked (even the wi-fi - in parts of the building), and the food was fine Location was also good, with everything that we wanted to see a short walk or tuk-tuk ride away - although some people might find the approach down an alley beside an ice-cream parlour a bit off-putting.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Guest WardenRon,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your kind and positive review. It was our great pleasure hosting you and I am very happy to hear that my manager Samson (aka John) and Shyamali took good care of you. Glad your enjoyed our breakfast as well.

We can't wait for another opportunity to host you and/or your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We visited in March 2016 but were unable to submit a review. Help and advice from Mr Samson excellent. Couldn't do enough for us.Food very good. However, the hotel was outdated and poorly maintained. Cleanliness of the bathroom left a lot to be desired! The most expensive hotel we stayed in, in Sri Lanka, but certainly not the best. The worst thing about it was having to pay up front by PayPal before leaving the UK.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank s0fia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Guest S0fia95,
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for taking the time even after a year to provide a review. Very disappointed to hear that you felt that the place was outdated and cleanliness let you down. While it is a subjective matter, want to let you know that we have made many changes since last year, including some staff (don't worry Samson is still there!) as well as a major update to the decor including new air conditioners in all our rooms. You can see that from all the other reviews provided that no one else has had the same experience.

With regards to advance payment through paypal, that is mainly requested to avoid last minute cancellations, which started taking a toll on us when people book and then don't show up. That's why that was instituted. Hope you understand that.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you, and/or, your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
1.3 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 156 in Colombo
472 reviews
2.7 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 156 in Colombo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#3 of 157 in Colombo
98 reviews
2.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.2 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing