We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$143
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$174
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$98
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
82
61
18
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
61
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice cream parlourgalle roadmr johnsri lankahomely environmenthelped us planquiet haventwo nightsroom was very clean and comfortableairport pickhome away from homethoroughly enjoyed our staytuk tuk driverroom was largelocal foodhostsguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Mr John and his wife are wonderful people.They give to everyone very warm heart.They made my family very happy every day.The breakfast we ate was always very fresh and very tasty.We could ask them about everything what we needed.We will always remember Colombo Haven because It is very special place in many ways.Thank You.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Guest Kris13,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B and also for your review. I am so happy to hear that my manager John (Samson) and his wife took very good care of you. We do pride our selves in making an elaborate breakfast, freshly made each morning, according our guests' choices. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed it!.

We also very happy to have been helpful towards providing useful information and direction towards the rest of your trip. Samson has over 30 year experience in the travel and tour industry and hence is a wealth of information. Glad we could be of help.

It was our great pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to the next opportunity to do so.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay for second year @ Colombo haven.
Lovely couple managers made us feel welcome and right at home
Our room was large and clean with a modern bathroom and plenty of hot water
Quiet location within walking distance to many attractions
Quiet & peaceful excellent price
Dependable airport pick up
Very good breakfast
We hope to be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dearest Guest N Holmes,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoy hosting you every time you visit Sri Lanka and very appreciative of the fact that you come back to stay with us each time. My manager John Samson and Shymali look forward to seeing you as well each time. We look forward to hosting you/and or your family and friends soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The best thing about this B&B was the lovely couple who were running it while we were there. They looked after us very well, especially when it came to organising a transfer to the airport in the middle of the night - they gave us good advice about when to leave, organised a car at a good price; and even got up to make us tea at 4 a.m. Apart from that we had a large clean comfortable room, everything worked (even the wi-fi - in parts of the building), and the food was fine Location was also good, with everything that we wanted to see a short walk or tuk-tuk ride away - although some people might find the approach down an alley beside an ice-cream parlour a bit off-putting.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Guest WardenRon,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your kind and positive review. It was our great pleasure hosting you and I am very happy to hear that my manager Samson (aka John) and Shyamali took good care of you. Glad your enjoyed our breakfast as well.

We can't wait for another opportunity to host you and/or your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We visited in March 2016 but were unable to submit a review. Help and advice from Mr Samson excellent. Couldn't do enough for us.Food very good. However, the hotel was outdated and poorly maintained. Cleanliness of the bathroom left a lot to be desired! The most expensive hotel we stayed in, in Sri Lanka, but certainly not the best. The worst thing about it was having to pay up front by PayPal before leaving the UK.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank s0fia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Guest S0fia95,
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for taking the time even after a year to provide a review. Very disappointed to hear that you felt that the place was outdated and cleanliness let you down. While it is a subjective matter, want to let you know that we have made many changes since last year, including some staff (don't worry Samson is still there!) as well as a major update to the decor including new air conditioners in all our rooms. You can see that from all the other reviews provided that no one else has had the same experience.

With regards to advance payment through paypal, that is mainly requested to avoid last minute cancellations, which started taking a toll on us when people book and then don't show up. That's why that was instituted. Hope you understand that.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you, and/or, your family and friends at the Haven.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This hotel is located right near the Galle Face and so very close to all sight seeing spots of Colombo. It is run by an elderly couple. Their hospitality would blow you off. They provided us amazing Lankan breakfast which we would remember for lifetime. On the whole a nice B&B option in colombo. The rooms and large, neat and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karthick2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Guest Karthick2015,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for your kind and raving review!!. Thank you. It was our great pleasure hosting you and your family and friends and can't for another opportunity to do so again.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews