We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but creative photography”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 163 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2017

There's nothing too wrong with this b & b but it's not nearly as nice as the photos, more like a hostel. It was very clean, the staff were lovely, and the Sri Lankan breakfasts were delicious. It sits behind a ice cream parlour down an unmade road which proved very difficult to find.

Room Tip: In the top room the pump can be heard all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tobybigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your review. Sorry to hear that you found it difficult to find the place. In a way, we feel that it is good that we are in a quiet area, but it can be a bit tricky to locate since it's not on the main road. We are glad that you liked the food, service and the staff to be good.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Stayed there for 2 nights a month ago. Warm and welcoming place and a very homely environment. Nandakumar and Dharshini the hosts were always prepared to go the extra mile. Accommodation was comfortable and great location to access Galle Road.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodneyjohn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Rodneyjohn,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B and also for providing a review. We greatly appreciate both. It was our great pleasure hosting you and very happy to hear that my caretakers Nandakumar and his wife Dharshini took very good care of you. They are an awesome couple with fantastic culinary capabilities as well.

We look forward to hosting you and /or your family and friends again soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed in Colombo haven for 3 nights and it was a home away from home experience. The traditional Sri Lankan breakfast was fantastic and the location was great. The hosts were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. They went the extra mile to make us comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Reggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Reggie,
Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for your kind review. It was our great pleasure hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

l had a very nice time at Colombo Haven B&B even though I stayed just only 1 night. Staffs are very kind like homestay family and the breakfast was gorgeous! We really enjoyed real local food very much!
If you prefer friendly atmosphere with local breakfast, I really recommend here.
The location is also covenience to go around to the town but not noisy area.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chinatsu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Chinatsu,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B. We enjoyed hosting you very much. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay as well. We look forward to hosting you and/or your family and friends again at the Haven very soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

What a little gem, great location, comfortable and clean room and a fantastic Lankan breakfast. John and Shamylia made us feel so welcome and helped us plan our two week trip. They have also helped us plan our 2018 trip this time to the east coast and of course another stay at Colombo Haven.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Guest Yvette,
Thank you so very much for staying with us at Colombo Haven B&B and also for your kind review. It was our great pleasure hosting you and I am so glad we could be of help in many ways towards your current trip and also for next year's one!!. As mentioned before, John has many years of experience in the tourism industry and we go out of our way to help our guests with anything we can be of help with, from airport pickup/drop off, other transport, tours, hotel bookings, etc. We are very glad we could do that for you as well.

All the very best with your rest of the travel and we look forward to hosting you again (and/or your family and friends) at the Haven very soon.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
4.9 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.6 km away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 163 in Colombo
829 reviews
2.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.2 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 56 in Colombo
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing