We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but difficult to find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clique

Clique
Ranked #84 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Gastropub, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: CONCEPT An evolution of the groundbreaking concept of having two noises within one space, CLIQUE reopens with a bang and presents CLIQUE BAR and CLIQUE CLUB. TWO different ambiances, genres of music and design concepts in ONE venue. As the night progresses, your experience can follow suit without leaving the space. DJ's, live music and performances will seamlessly navigate your journey within the venue. SPACE What do YOU fancy, tonight? A lychee laced martini to take the edge off a long day, to dance like no one is watching or enjoy a fine fish dish. Whatever it is, you can get it at CLIQUE. CLIQUE is located in the Colombo Pharmacy building and is sprawled across two floors. The main floor is demarcated into a BAR, featuring a private walk-in elevator, outdoor seating area, and CLUB. The lower level hosts a fusion concept restaurant and intimate dinning area. DÉCOR & THEME CLIQUE GastrobAR A personality to dine for. Quirky, stylized, sophisticated and more than enough room for the booth of you! CLIQUE BAR has a nice mixture of modern diner and cocktail seating, there is a colourful story painted across the walls and more waiting to unfold. Whenever you stumble across an epic venue, you often wonder- "If only the walls could talk"....... so it is no surprise that this time around our walls are making a distinctive statement....come and get in on the conversation. Let us be a protagonist in YOUR story. CLIQUE CLUB The party leaves no room to LOUNGE. It is time to join the CLUB. Bring on the bigger, better and bolder. CLIQUE's boisterous alter ego defines the space and frames the city with a very distinctive (and breathtaking) point of VIEW. Modern in design and perspective, a very necessary late night adventure. It really is all of the lights. SERVICE & CUISINE Beautifully illustrated and illuminated, East meets West in all its eccentric glory at CLIQUE. The BAR opens early and the CLUB closes late, just for YOU- seven days a week. Serving South Asian gastro-pub inspired beverages and cuisine at the CLIQUE GastrobAR
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food but difficult to find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2016

Great experience. Nice cocktails and good food. Attentive service p. Probably a little over priced for Colombo but would still recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frasar159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clique S, Manager at Clique, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Hi Frasar,

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to review your experience. We take all guests feedback very seriously and we are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant evening with us.

We hope to see you at Clique someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    37
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best food in Sri Lanka so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016

Great fusion style menu. Lots of interesting and innovative fusion dishes to choose from. Well presented dishes at reasonable price too. Belly pork was fabulous! Choice to eat in restaurant or bar and there is a nightclub also attached

  • Visited February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalush27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clique S, Manager at Clique, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Hi Lisa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Clique. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the new concept and cuisine at Clique Gastrobar and sincerely hope to see you someday soon and maybe even try a few more of the new dishes on our menu. If you wish to stay up to date on all things Clique or even just check out our weekly schedule please go to facebook/cliquegastrobar

We hope you continue to patronize Clique.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lack of product knowledge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2016

Poor signage, it took us about 15 mins to find the place. besides all that clique didn't even have music playing as they said the DJ console is broken. staff had poor/ no knowledge on the product. such as on beverages. really need to give proper training to staff and give them knowledge on product offerings

  • Visited February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asgiriyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Clique, responded to this review, 23 February 2016
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Clique Lounge and Club. However you have posted this review under Clique Gastrobar (Formerly Clique Cuisine), which is the food and beverage part of the business. The Club on the other side would ideally have to be reviewed under 'nightlife in colombo' (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attractions-g293962-Activities-c20-Colombo_Western_Province.html).

We have discussed with the Manager on the Clubside and would like to apologize on their behalf for not servicing you well from the Bar and the entertainment not available on the night. Club nights usually are on Friday/Saturday but the Gastrobar has it's playlists for early dining , cocktails and on some night live entertainment.

Next time please try to visit on a Friday/Saturday night if you would like to have a good night out and if you don't believe us just search #cliquecolombo on our social media to re-live what could have been your experience on a night like that !

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This gets one star more than terrible because of the helpful staff and decor based on the food it would be a one”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

Wow.

Rarely have I come out of a dining experience feeling so fleeced, slightly sick and disappointed.

The clue should have been the completely empty restaurant on a Friday night and the lack of any clear signage to find the restaurant. This was to be our last night in Sri Lanka so I was aiming for a special experience, little did I know it would be special in the not so positive sense of the word. The decor as touched on was beautiful, there had been some serious money spent on the look and feel and the waiting staff were attentive and charming. Frankly being the only two there I would expect quite a lot of attention.

The two cocktails we had to kick the meal off had, to our palate, little to no alcohol in them. I love lycée juice but when I pay a premium for a cocktail I expect to get one. The meal didn't start well we ordered sushi which was a mistake. The volcano which I expected to have a punch was so hot that it was practically inedible. Sushi done right is a delicate balance of clean flavours this was horrible and it did raise serious concerns about the palette of the person producing it. Once our taste buds recovered it was onto other safer things but someone with a very strange idea of flavours that work together thought lobster and orange were a natural combination and presented the nigiri thus, they are not and leave a very unpleasant taste in your mouth. The mains which consisted of squid that was over cooked and cold smothered in acrid garlic the prawns that were okay but stone cold and again with an additional of apples which added nothing. Unsurprisingly we declined dessert.

Crappy food is one thing but over priced crappy food is another. I really really resent paying a premium of over $100 for what is probably one of the worst meals of my life. The waiting staff were so earnest and charming that it was difficult to make a scene but I do think if this restaurant wants to compete on any sort of level then it needs to serious look at it's offering. I would avoid or maybe go to the bar upstairs which may be better.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank TripMember012320171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Clique, responded to this review, 23 February 2016
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our partner establishment below the Gastrobar and Lounge Bar. However would like to bring to your attention that the experience you have had is not the venue representing on Trip Advisor, where you have posted the particular review.

Clique consists of the Clique lounge bar/club (Not listed on tripadvisor) and Clique Gastrobar (formerly known as Clique Cuisine - Listed on Trip Advisor, which you review on by mistakenly) and then the restaurant Coi (Search Coi by Vichalya on Trip Advisor) on the 4th Floor, where you have had your complete experience. Although this review should be listed under Coi we are in the process of requesting a transfer to the correct profile, whilst passing on the message to the Chef that will appropriately respond to your constructive feedback.

Next time we hope you do make it to the bar upstairs and check our facebook or instragram account for latest news on DJ's and events held in the venue upstairs.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Good Vibes and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2016

Amazing personalized service all the way from the owners to the junior staff. Interesting menu at good prices and definitely the place to enjoy a night on the town. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nabeelsalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clique also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Clique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing