We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$146
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$138
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
125
88
57
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
88
57
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalle roadtuk tukmajestic cityhotel locatedmini fridgesri lankacomfortable staydecent staywalking distancerecommend this hotelstandard roomhot waterlate checkclean roomsbuffet breakfastenjoyed our staycrab
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We found the Ceylon City Hotel extremely basic, but, yes, with friendly staff. Albeit the receptionist went to sleep when our hired driver turned up, and failed to tell us. But Colombo altogether is quite a difficult town, with seriously difficult roads and pavements. We walked for miles to even try to find a bar!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

First of all let me thank you for your positive comments on our friendly staff staff.

Unfortunately I can read that your stay wasn't very much pleasant with us. If you ever plan to visit Colombo we request you to personally email us so we would like to host you and show you the true hospitality we are known of. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Clean, safe basic hotel about 5 mins walk from the ocean. Very friendly staff, delicious breakfast. Take a walk to the ocean road and take a right to get to a restaurant called The Fat Crab for dinner

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Elly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your 4 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service.

While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We stayed over one week in Ceylon City Hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent location in Bambalapitiya where all amenities in Colombo are within just few minutes. We booked Room+ Breakfast but we had most of our meals from the Flamingo Resturant within the hotel as the food is so good there. Daily breakfast buffet with a mixture of Western and Sri Lankan cuisines.
Rooms are equipped with a Mini Fridge,TV, individual split system AC and Electric Hot Water units.
Daily Room service and change of linen and towels unless you request not do so.
Good value for money!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Priyantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service.

While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

wonderful trip because of wonderful accommodation. location of the hotel is highly advantageous and proximity to town and other landmarks are nearby and one can explore Colombo city from this hotel without any difficulty. hotel staff are very friendly and highly helpful

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ARUMUGANATHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We booked through booking.com and I had read comments about it before. The hotel is located in a narrow street, not so « welcoming » and the front desk was the « break spot » of a few men, maybe drivers ? It was intimidating for the 2 of us while checking in, they were all looking at us and watching us do our checkin. The room assigned was the ground floor, probably what they do for online booking..? No window, comfortable bed and pillows, basic bathroom functional with hot water and pressure. For $60us a night and plenty options in Colombo, nothing impressive. One night was totally fine. The bed looked like the sheets were not changed with a few hair. I asked the manager to check it out and change sheets.. which was done quickly. I’m not sure if those were clean but working in a hotel I doubt that the mattress sheet was a new one.. the breakfast on top floor was good, chef making omelets and variety of dishes. They should just change the juice and coco water that tasted really not good, considering most of places offer fresh juices /fruits.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AnneMarie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

First of all let me thank you for the positive note on the breakfast options and glad you enjoyed them.

Please accept our sincere apologies caused during your stay with us. We always try our best to provide the best services for all our clients so that they leave with a happy impression. Unfortunately I can see we have failed on that with your case.

We do not generally allow drivers to hand around at the front office unless they came for a drop or pick up a client. I agree this should not happen. We do not set a specific set of rooms for online booking. As most of our rooms come through online we provide the best possible room. Unfortunately we see you did not like the room we provided and sincere apologies on that. But on a positive note we would like to thank you for you positive comments on our comfortable pillows and the bathroom functionals.

We would like to assure that we always use new sheets for all our rooms. But we are glad our manager provided a solution for the issue you faced.

Unfortunately all of these reason did not leave a best impression about us on you. If you ever plan to visit Colombo we request you to personally email us so we would like to host you and show you the true hospitality we are known of. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews