We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Bar & Restaurant at Park Street”
Review of rare at Residence

rare at Residence
Ranked #50 of 875 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$75
Description: Our name reflects the powerful connection between the unequaled collection of ingredients in our country that's at the heart of our restaurant and exceptional skill of our F& B and Culinary teams to capture the true essence of natures textures and tastes. rare builds on the award-winning approach developed by all UGA Escapes properties since 2012. For our Chefs and their teams, instinct, insight and invention are what matters. While many of the ingredients for rare come direct from our own organic farms in the East Coast and Cultural Triangle, others are sourced from carefully chosen suppliers across Sri Lanka. What they all have in common is a commitment to supplying ingredients in their prime, giving us the freedom to create food that's inventive, exciting and spontaneous - and exclusive. These exceptional ingredients are combined with sensitivity, wit and ingenuity, often revealing unexpected new dimensions. At rare, flavour is king, and change is a cherished constant. Our menu is regularly re imagined, and as each new ingredient arrives, the Chef's accepts the challenge and explores the opportunities with trademark creativity and technical skill.
Restaurant details
Description: Our name reflects the powerful connection between the unequaled collection of ingredients in our country that's at the heart of our restaurant and exceptional skill of our F& B and Culinary teams to capture the true essence of natures textures and tastes. rare builds on the award-winning approach developed by all UGA Escapes properties since 2012. For our Chefs and their teams, instinct, insight and invention are what matters. While many of the ingredients for rare come direct from our own organic farms in the East Coast and Cultural Triangle, others are sourced from carefully chosen suppliers across Sri Lanka. What they all have in common is a commitment to supplying ingredients in their prime, giving us the freedom to create food that's inventive, exciting and spontaneous - and exclusive. These exceptional ingredients are combined with sensitivity, wit and ingenuity, often revealing unexpected new dimensions. At rare, flavour is king, and change is a cherished constant. Our menu is regularly re imagined, and as each new ingredient arrives, the Chef's accepts the challenge and explores the opportunities with trademark creativity and technical skill.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rare bar located at Park Street is a great spot to relax and enjoy what the location has to offer.

Do not be deceived by the size of a food portion, they really are quite filling when accompanied with a cocktail (or any other beverage or your choice). Also, watch out for the complimentary appetizers!!

Friendly and efficient staff who always make sure to check on your needs. Safe to say that they are open to constructive criticism and all kinds of feedback.

Overall, excellent services.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank bimalka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Rare for a birthday high tea for 12 pax. Great service, beautifully presented array of delicious savouries and sweets. Everything was great except the scones which were a bit hard. All in all a splendid afternoon.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank 999sajeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

This was my first time for dinner at the Uga.
OPPORTUNITY FOR IMPROVEMENT:
There was really only one aspect that got to me. Only because it is so simple to get right... or wrong.
-The bread basket was sadly full of old, crusty pieces of bread which set a somewhat dire tone for the rest of the meal. The staff was quick to respond and they did bring out a fresh bread basket. That was a faux pas that is so easily/ cost effectively avoided. Please pay special attention to what you serve on the house - it speaks a lot for the general quality of fare.
THE GOOD STUFF!
-The atmosphere was absolutely scintillating. It was just post a monsoon shower and everything was clean and gleaming. The restaurant overlooks a courtyard that is especially beautiful. We requested them to put a table outside for us so we ate al fresco. It was quite surreal.
-The appetisers were quite fabulous, especially the baked cauliflower. The Waldorf salad was not bad second.
-The main courses were quite good. I had the chicken in lemon grass and my partner had the pork belly.
-The service was quite impeccable given that the restaurant was full and the establishment was short staffed that evening.
-They had a good/ wide selection of wines available (which is a bit of a rarity even at the better bars around town). And they served it beautifully with a decanter and the works. I’m a bit persnickety about how the wine is stored and how it is served since it makes all the difference in flavour preservation. Good storage ensures the sulphites in the wine don’t ferment and “vinegarize” the wine. Good pouring service, with a decanter or an aerater ensures that the wine breathes as much as possible from a newly opened bottle, for the flavours to really come to the fore.

Thank TheRoamingDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020

Around 20 of us enjoyed a very good brunch at rare at Residence, the highlight for me being the Eggs Florentine with smoked salmon. The very good brunch was accompanied with very good service.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maioha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020

Cinnamon lobster was out of this world as was the passion fruit ice cream infused with chillie. On my request, gluten free bread was served. It was so amazing that I asked if I could get an order to take home. I was delighted to receive an entire loaf of the best gluten free bread I ever tasted. Thank you !

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Sharm_the_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed rare at Residence also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to rare at Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.