We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
211
135
45
18
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
135
45
18
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand bazaar blue mosque tram station walking distance old city hagia sophia olives
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This place looked modern and swanky on the website, however was anything BUT. Location is good - walking distance to all of the main attractions, however as a group of 4 females, we did not feel safe in this hotel. The doors to the rooms did not lock appropriately. Rooms were dirty and ill-kept, with hairs on the sheets, multiple burned out light bulbs, windows over the street that did not close, and draperies half falling down. There were no safes in the rooms, only at the front desk. Our "view" from one room was of a brick wall with a flower spray painted on it. When we complained to the front desk, we got a lot of run around about an unavailable, then suddenly available suite, which we ultimately checked out, and thouh it was much better, we were still not impressed. We were looking for basic, clean and safe accomodations, and felt this place used false advertising and was not worth the price. We cancelled our rooms and moved elsewhere, then dealt with the travel agency who recommended it to get back a partial refund (europeandestinations, com - would never use them again, as they recommended this place, multiple tour rip-offs, and were not helpful when we had issues with travel plan changes due to union strikes). Istanbul was wonderful. Kupeli was NOT.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

me and my boyfriend spent 3 nights in this hotel and we had no problems. our room is clean, breakfast are very basic here but not bad. its also close to major attractions in Istanbul, it was cold when we went there so its really nice to walk around and there's a lot of good restuarants to dine or drink nearby. i would recommend this for
those who wants to enjoy the city more than their rooms.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

When we entered our room one part of heavy curtain was was not fully connected to curtain rail and the other half was in the drawer! Told person at reception could they fix it,also hair dryer not working, and the lift have a mind of itsown, nothing was done,staff were not friendly, we were not happy with service. What is good about this Hotel is the location.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAECorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Good location close to the main sites and tram station.
OK staff with 2 very nice people.
Adequate breakfast.
Rooms are small and not well maintainned. The back room windows have a view of a rather unkempt courtyard.

Additional problems we had - the only lift broke down. There was noisy building work nearby which kept going late into the night. The windows did not close fully either.

Additional plus points: Sultanahmet area is very hilly however there is only a minor incline on the main route to the attractions from the hotel. There is a very nice reasonably priced take away/restaurant called ortak(something) just to the left as you come out of the hotel. There is a small supermarket near by. Small mosque nearby.

For the correct price I would stay here again (I am one those people who mainly want a clean from the hotel), but the place felt slightly overpriced at the time I went.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faw-Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I learned about Hotel Kupeli in New York Times' traveler review and decided to make a reservation. I did an initial inquiry by e-mail and didn't get a response; a second e-mail did get a response and things went smoothly after that.

The hotel was built in 2007 so everything is refreshingly new and clean. Our room was bright and cozy. However, I can't imagine it's going to stay that way for long -- things clearly aren't maintained very well. Two doorknobs in our room kept detaching, the main drain in our bathroom was covered in mildew, and light-bulbs were burnt out and not replaced. The computer in the lobby was free for guest use, but the Internet connection was constantly going down.

Also, the main front desk clerk was impatient and irritable all the time... though I can't really blame him, considering he was at the desk about 20 hours/day.

Overall we enjoyed our experience at Kupeli and don't regret our stay. Breakfast on the terrace was especially lovely.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews