We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property for short stay”
Review of Kecik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kecik
Ranked #1,038 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 September 2014

It's a nice, cozy place, in the middle of the busiest area of Istanbul. Clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient location for whole sale shoppers. Different type of restaurants, coffee-shops in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the new, renovated room with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luiza1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good for tight/budget traveler. Room is ok, not so fancy. The bellboy is helpful even though they have difficulty in speaking English. Breakfast is always the same. Not too bad..The best part of the hotel is that it is near to Grand Bazaar.. Just a 10 minutes walk. Also, it's only 3 mins walk to get to the Tram Station then you can explore the city. Overall, it's not so bad to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We bought the deal to Istanbul through holiday factory and the moment we checked the reviews of the hotel we didn’t want to take a risk and stay in this hotel. The pictures travelers have updated were beyond horrible. We even planned to rent out an apartment because the reviews were so bad. But somehow we convinced ourselves that the only time we will be in the room is when we need to sleep and the entire day we will be exploring Istanbul.
We were picked up by a travel agent from Helen Tours from the airport to the Kecik hotel and the receptionist did know enough English to inform us that he doesn’t understand English. We requested for a new room. A kind bell boy escorted us to the rooms yes we carried our own luggage without expecting much from the staff. But he offered help. We stayed at room number 406. To be honest I was impressed with the room and the washroom. Beddings we very clean we had a view of the adjoining mosque. It was an above average room and we were more than happy.
The breakfast was not bad, we had the same kind of food all the three days. They had Bread, jam, honey, cereal, cornflakes, mortadela, french fries, cheese rolls freshly made, butter or carrot cake and a variety of canned fruit juices. It was more than enough but the food wasn’t horrible at all.
Most importantly the place is situated in Lalili, near Sultanahmed area where all the main tourist attractions are, easy to shop in grand bazaar in just 10 minutes walk away. We found the place very convenient.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who is on a tight budget who would want to see the main attractions of Istanbul within 3 days.
We had a great time and would definitely visit the country again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank DiliniSenadheera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very basic hotel in Istanbul's commercial area. Accessible to public transportation, although I will recommend walking if you want to see more of the city. We arrived a little after lunch time and had the basic handover of passports in exchange for the room key. Receptionist was quite nice to us. My friend and I had a twin-sharing room on the fifth floor, just beside the elevator, and had a window that opens to a view of the nearest mosque. If you're a light sleeper, you might be awakened by the early morning prayer calls. Well, we were always tired during the day so we mostly slept just fine. The room was small yet space was maximized--you can tell, especially in the bathroom (or WC as they call it there). Room service was efficient, made up our room on our third day even if we didn't ask them to.

Points for improvement:
Breakfast menu! It was always the same every morning. I mean, I don't mind eating the same thing everyday, but at least maybe a new main course item or two will keep the guests from thinking that this morning's sausages were not leftovers from yesterday.

You need to pay 10 TRY for the power socket adapter. We thought the 10 TRY was just a deposit but we didn't get it back when we returned the adapter on our checkout.

Shower enclosure needs a little adjustment in the measurement department. :)

Overall, it was an OK stay. Again, the keyword is "basic." You should be out mostly during the day so just enjoy the charming city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very rude and disrespectful staff. if you don't allow them to overcharge you they will go crazy on you.
The Receptionist Threatened us to keep our passports because we refused to pay him for something we didn't order.
the bell boy refused to take our bags to the car upon check out. he had to argue with the guide and when he did, he left them half way through.
the isolation is very bad. you can hear the conversations in the adjacent rooms.
no welcome upon your arrival not even with a smile.
even if you don't plan to use the hotel for sleeping, still it is very bad choice

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuestHouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#786 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#455 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kecik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kecik

Address: Fethi Bey Cad. No:6 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,038 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Kecik 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kecik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing