We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious sweets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Ranked #1 of 283 Dessert in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Grand Bazaar
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious sweets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

It is impossible not to go inside after looking at the delicious stuff they display on the windows! They have the best and most varied types of Turkish delight and you can try everything before you buy. Go up to the second floor and sit down to enjoy apple tea and pastries and a beautiful view through the glass windows. The waiters are very pleasant and the atmosphere is pleasant.
A must in Istanbul!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Owner at Hafiz Mustafa 1864, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed our services,Turkish delight,pastries and
apple tea.Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests.
We thank you again for your thoughtful feedback, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Your sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,626
    857
    184
    66
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The best baklava I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Oh, it's my favorite place in Istanbul! I went there every day during my stay. They have the best baklava I've ever eaten! The staff is really very hospitable, and its very pleasant to sit there on the 2nd floor with a glass of tea and a plate of the delicious baklava.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Owner at Hafiz Mustafa 1864, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Many thanks for your kind and detailed feedback.İt is great to learn that you have enjoyed our Baklava,Turkish tea and services at Hafiz Mustafa. Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests. We hope that your travel plans will include İstanbul again soon.
Sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice and calm stop in the touristic center of Istanbul.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were there on Feb-12 and we felt really well served. Their hot chocolate and pistaccio pudding were really good, not to mention the waiter, a very cool and friendly guy who helped us with Istanbul tips!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana y Rodri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Owner at Hafiz Mustafa 1864, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you for posting comment on TripAdvisor. İt was a true pleasure to read your review.Personalised service is of great importance to Hafiz Mustafa 1864, and our staff takes great pride in ensuring that every guest feels special.I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hot chocolate and pistaccio pudding. We thank you again for your comments,and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The calming oasis in the street of chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hafiz Mustafa first draws your attention with the delicious lokum and krem karamel which have put out on display in a glass shelf case mirroring the main street. The aura of the place is cozy, warm and welcoming. I remember dodging the sight of the sweets looking down at the cafe wanting to go in but sumultaneously appreciating that it was not too brightly lit and did not impose itself on me. But the main reason why I like the place is because as I walked in I was filled with happiness at the sight of the pleathora of non introduced before sweets, the wonderful costumer service which I was obliged to be offered and at that gorgeous "sheshma"(as we Bulgarians call it) which was build on the left side of the corridor near the bathrooms. From the wood interior to the mosaic walls down to the hospitality of the employees I truly recomment this sweetery. Serefe and Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diyana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hafiz Mustafa 1864, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed our Turkish delight (Lokum),cream caramel and note your constructive comments in order to improve our services.Personalised service is of great importance to Hafiz Mustafa 1864, and our staff takes great pride in ensuring that every guest feels special. And look forward to welcoming you on many occasions in the near future.
Your sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you are addicted to desserts... this should be on your bucket-list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

For my work I have travelled extensively... but never I found a place which had such an amazing choice of high-quality sweets & desserts. It starts with the menu. This is the first time ever I have asked if I could bring the menu with me (unfortunately didn't receive permission but will try again the oncoming days). Beautiful lay-out, the most amazing pictures. A joy to look through. The only problem.... each and every cake, desserts, turkish delight looks beautiful and screams to be tasted. Making a choice has never been this difficult. We took 2 pcs of chocolate cake and 2 desserts plus ice-cream - the special turkish one (extra viscosity due to use of mastic). Large portions :)... what can I say... it was inspiring!! And... as a bonus, we had a seat with a beautiful view over the water-front. And they had great coffee... I had a smile on my face the rest of the day!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hafiz Mustafa 1864, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to send your comments.We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your experience with us and note your constructive comments in order to improve our services. I also appreciate your comments regarding the desserts,cakes,coffee and Turkish dessert.Believing in the utmost importance of using local authentic,Hafiz Mustafa strives to bring you the best in culinary experience in Turkish sweets.
We thank you for your comments,and hope to welcome you again soon
Yours sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hafiz Mustafa 1864 also viewed

 
Istanbul Province, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Hafiz Mustafa 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing