We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water with Sugar and Orange Flavor”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've always been suspicious about hotels that offer sugary water with orange flavor instead of real orange juice for breakfast and I always tried to avoid these hotels because either they don't know the difference or they know but are to cheap to give you real orange juice. Either way is not good. The Celai Sultan Hotel doesn't have the "real" thing - but that's the smallest of its problems. I'll summarize:

Airport Pickup:
A couple of days before I went to Istanbul I received an email from the hotel asking me about an airport transfer for 30€. I said "yes", so they told me my driver will wait there for me at the arrival hall. So it was, only that I had to wait for other guests arriving also going to the same hotel and they all put us in a little bus - for 30€ each. A normal cab, which I took on my way back, was around 20€.

Reception:
The first sentence at reception was: "I need 30€ for the cab". Nothing else. No "hi", no "hello".

Rooms:
I switched rooms several times. There was something smelling really bad in the 1st room they put me in. The guy carrying my suitcase said I can open the window so it doesn't smell. I asked for a different room. He called at reception and then told me they only have a bigger room available and I can move there but I have to pay extra for that. Then I spoke to the person at the reception desk who at the end gave me the other room without having to pay extra but I had to agree to be moved to another room after that 1st night. So during my stay I saw 3 rooms, out of which I stayed in two: one thing they had in common: they were all dirty as hell and I do not know how other people have not written anything about that in their reviews. The hotel is filthy as hell - not a single item that has seen a sponge in years. I had hair from other people lying around on the floor, coming down from the shower head, etc. I've uploaded all the pictures I took of the rooms.

Internet connection:
The further away you are from the elevator (that's where the router is positioned) the less good the connection is. Generally they have a very slow connection. I've been to other places/restaurans where the connection was much faster. Also VPN doesn't work. So if you need VPN to work forget this hotel.

Location:
The location is the one thing that is good about that hotel. If you're going to Istanbul as a tourist and want to visit the Hagia Sophia, etc. it's an ideal spot, cse everything is within walking distance.

Because of the in my opinion incompetent staff and the filthy rooms I cannot recommend that hotel to anyone. I will never go there again if it's on me to decide.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

A perfect location to visit old Istanbul with the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar etc all in walking distance. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We booked a superior room overlooking the street at the front of the hotel and were very pleased with it. The room was spacious, comfy and clean. If you are looking for a boutique hotel this is an ideal place to stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank damo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is nice, in a a very good location, rooms were standard, staff were helpful although some of them dont know English!!!

The location of the hotel was very good near to tram way which can take u to galata tower and spice bazaar and grand bazaar and eminounu street, also 5mn walks from Hagia Sofia and Topkapi palace and blue mosque also ibrahim pasha palace, in the roof nice view on Hagia SOfia, the view of our room was owful , it was old buliding under demolition so we had to go to the roof often heheheheheh.

Breakfast was just ok.

Staff try to sell packages and we took one but we found out that it was cheaper outside also no free shuttle for airport and charges a bit expensive, just take a taxi.

Overall it was good And we might come back to it, after all better we know this hotel rather than trying a new one who knows how it will be!!!!!!

Ani from Dubai, Uae

Room Tip: Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delhoumanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great location , 200 meters away from Aya Sofia , rooms are big, price is reasonable . The staff nag a lot trying to sell you trip in Istanbul . No views at all from the rooms, if you take the back side rooms the view is awful , however the street side s better. The terrace view is very nice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Anooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

It is ideally located in the center of the old city. The hotel has nice, clean rooms. We especially liked the hotel for the location and the view! You must spend some time on the roof terraces, the view on the Aya Sofia is magnificent.
The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Food is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#284 of 1,175 in Istanbul
553 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#210 of 1,175 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#401 of 1,175 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#127 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#149 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#158 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $57 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing