We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galata Antique Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Pros:
Great location close to Taksim square, shops, cafes and restaurants.

Breakfast served on rooftop had great views

Bed was comfortable

Cons:
Overpriced hotel for the deluxe room booked

Serviced by young, inexperienced staff

Breakfast spread was very average

Room was not sound proof, as I could hear the conversations from the room next door especially noise coming in from the bathroom.

Bathroom not well serviced; I needed to request toilet paper (only half a roll was provided on check in day) and a bath towel from the previous guest was left hanging behind the bathroom door. Be prepared to wait a few minutes before you get any hot water.

Would I stay at this hotel again...probably not; could find better value in the same neigbourhood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solotraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a charming boutique hotel in Beyoglu right near the embassies, fancy hotels and the main shopping street. The staff is helpful and the rooms are immaculate and elegant, if small. The building is a beautiful 19th century townhouse with a Parisian style elevator. The beds and linen is high quality and a box of supplies you might need and fresh slippers are gratis. The roof terrace where breakfast is served has great views and offers cheeses, fruit, cereals, eggs and pastries. Our twin room on the fourth floor was quiet with the AC on and the windows closed. The staff is young and not everyone has perfect English, but they are committed to helping you get around Istanbul and making you comfortable. The transfer from the airport was also a good deal. We thought it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Galata Antique Hotel is located in a very elegant building in Pera area, near the Tunnel. It's a very nice place to stay with good staff and breakfast served in a pleasent terrace, although the deluxe room I stayed was a little bit too small for the price...
Patricia Gouvêa, Brazil

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Brilliant location off Istikal Caddesi ( the main shopping street in the City), in the happening Beyoglu area of Istanbul with great access to local transport networks. Everything is on your doorstep day and night. The whole area had a pleasantly bohemian feel about it. Of course this comes with a certain amount of noise, so you may want to bring ear plugs for night time! Well appointed room recently renovated, but very much on the small side, and the same could definitely be said of the bathroom. But nice extras, and well serviced everyday - and how much space do you need for a long weekend really? The enclosed roof terrace with great views was an excellent bonus,the staff were fine and breakfast was perfectly adequate. Good value for a mid priced accommodation - but be warned - the lift is particularly "authentic" - those of nervous disposition may prefer to take the stairs!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I spent 4 fantastic days at this delightful hotel the first week of May this year. If you plan to visit Istanbul, I would highly recomend a stay here. The staff and facilty are really top notch; built in the late 1800's and formerly the palatial home of a French ex-patriot businessman, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the common areas are terrific (including the top sunroom where your complimentary breakfast can be enjoyed while overlooking the city). The rooms are not huge - but you should not be spending too much time in your room anyway if you have the opportunity to visit and incredible place like Istanbul.

Having been to Istanbul 25 years ago and falling on love with the place, I wanted my wife Tara to see it also. We picked the hotel due to the pictures we found on the web and because of its location (it is located in Galata, across the Golden Horn, facing old Istanbul (Sultanahmet), where the most famous landmarks are located (Blue Mosque, Hague Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Valen's Aquaduct, etc.), which you can easily reach by walking through the narrow cobblestone streets to the foot of the Galata Bridge and jumping on a tram costing about $1.50 - or by walking across the bridge, which takes about 20 minutes.

As a history nut, I was in my element while Tara, who works in the fashion industry, was plenty happy to walk Istiklal Street, which is located directly behind the hotel, where thousands of people stroll the broad street, lined with hundreds of cool stores we don't see here in Canada. The street is also home to many foreign consulates and features many beautiful limestone and marble-faced buildings. Also nearby is the medieval Galata Tower, which featured prominently in the siege of Istanbul back in 1453 (be sure to read about this before visiting...you will enjoy your stay all the more when you realize what you are looking at).

In addition to site-seeing, we took an authentic Turkish bath (men & women have seperate facilities) at the "HIstoric Turkish Bath" (which is across the street from Constantine's Column) and I would also highly recomend trying this too. You will be very relaxed a ready for a cold beeer afterwards.

Bottom line, the hotel offers you so much: terrific place to stay near everything you could want to do and see while visiting incredible Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3B...it features a little balcony, overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#535 of 1,173 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#163 of 1,173 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#225 of 1,173 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#779 of 1,173 in Istanbul
49 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#113 of 1,173 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Tulip
Pera Tulip
#707 of 1,173 in Istanbul
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Antique Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Street No:119, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $73 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galata Antique Hotel is housed in a beautifully decorated 19th century Neo-Renaissance mansion built by the French–Ottoman architect Alexandre Vallaury. This very welcoming hotel, which is conveniently located in the Tünel Meydani district, a famous bohemian quarter, is an ideal base for visitors wishing to discover the real Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galata Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing