We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, real life around, so friendly and caring staff!”
Review of KarslIoglu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KarslIoglu Hostel
Ranked #315 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited the Hostel in December and we absolutelly can recommend the place. It is surrounded by real life and real people. They truly want to advice and help you - not only get your money like on Sultanahamed. It is close to Eminomu, to the Galata Bridge, Spice bazaar and to the New Mosque. Fatih is a rough area, not turistic yet, but authentic, cheap and so friendly:) If you want to get a feeling of a real turkish life, go there.The hotel facilities are great, we stayed in the double room with a bathroom. Everything was clean and the staff was so friendly. Again, place highly recommended !

Room Tip: Double room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DietCocaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked a four nite stay based on all the positive reviews on here of staff friendliness and cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. The place is a bit tricky to find if this is your first time in Istanbul but this was my third visit. Its an authentic non touristy bazaar street used by locals so you can see real life and not get ripped off on meals.
My room was on the ground floor next to reception. There was a shared bathroom next door which was big and clean, however the shower was upstairs on the second floor used by everyone on the second floor as well as those on the ground floor. I asked to be moved to the second floor but he said they were all full.
As I was staying for four nites I didn't want to keep going upstairs and lining up for the shower each day especially as I had an early flight to catch the last day. There are lots of hotels nearby offering rooms from 40TL including a private bathroom so I ended up moving. When I went back to tell the owner I tried to be apologetic and say that four days going up and down for the shower would be difficult but he became quite upset and said I had to pay two nights cash. I showed the booking.com reservation that says you only pay 23eu for the first night in the event of a no show and that's what I gave. I tried apologizing again but he was quite offended which seems a cultural trait in Turkey.
Based on the other reviews it probably is still a nice budget hotel but ask to be placed on the upper floors where they have showers as there are none on the ground floor by reception. This is a great location to see the real non touristy Istanbul and I would stay in this neighbourhood again.

Room Tip: There is no shower on the ground floor by reception, only on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is located in an ethnic non touristy part of Istanbul with a busy street scene. It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk to Eminonu where you can jump on a ferry or a tram. The rooms are basic but clean. We had an en suite shower room. It was 56 euros for 4 nights for 2 which is great value for this city you need to pay in local currency. The breakfast is the same every day - fresh bread, cheese slices, butter, honey, jam, chocolate hazelnut spread and olives. There are local restaurants where you can eat very cheaply. The hotel staff are very friendly although they don't really speak much English. Bottled water is complimentary and there is free WiFi although the signal is pretty weak upstairs.

If you want somewhere just to sleep and shower in an interesting Turkish locality this place is great. If you want any frills, smart shops and tourist services or to be right next to the tram system then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishLizzie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is a great option if your on a tight budget. The service was excellent & rooms/bathrooms very clean. The location was fantastic & close to all touristy things.
The only thing is its quite noisy outside, & cause I'm such a light sleeper, I struggled, even with ear plugs in. But after a day of sightseeing in this beautiful city, it's not hard to be out like a light!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneygal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited Istanbul this weekend (4th-6th October 2013). I must say that we were very pleased with this hotel and what it has offered. It's location is in Kucuk pazar, Eminonu, in a tiny market street, where you can really experience real Turkish life and we felt safe at all times, even at night. It's location allows you to visit major touristic sights such as Agia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Sulanahmed and Kapali carsi in a walking distance. Also it is very close to Eminonu harbour from where you can take a ferry boat and go to the Asian side of Istanbul (my recommendation is: if you are in Istanbul,use the public transport, it is very well organized and punctual, you can buy Istanbul kart from the small white tolls, the kart costs 6tl and then you can load it with 20 tl or more, depends how many days you are staying there. You can ride with it on a tram, bus, ferry. The first ride will cost 1.95 and then every following ride gets cheaper. The hotel itself is small, but very very clean. We were accommodated on the second floor in a double room with a private bathroom, with a view towards Galata tower. The staff is very polite and helpful. The man who works at the reception was very nice and polite and he always offered us free coffee, tea or a bottle of water. The breakfast is not special, but is tasty. We ate in the lobby, because the hotel does not have a special breakfast room. They allowed us to eat in their little office in the back. Finally, I really recommend this hotel for a stay in Istanbul, because it worth the money, it's clean and its location is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a double room with a private bathroom on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#745 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,110 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,793 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,666 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#77 of 1,163 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KarslIoglu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KarslIoglu Hostel

Address: Hoca GIyaseddin mah. Metro InsatI yanI Kucuk pazar cad. Saatci yokusu no:2, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your KarslIoglu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing