We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
KarslIoglu Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$515
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$235
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$114
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
18
19
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
19
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Positive point:
I was here for the last few days...it was kind of hard to find this hotel initially but once u know the location, it's pretty much a strategic one as it is close to spice bazar, ferry jetty to Eyup n Bosphorus cruise, the yeni cami...we have fun staying here as it is also nearby to the popular spot of eating Balik Ekmek around the Galata Bridge.

To our surprise, Hairi ..the one at the kaunter (im not sure if he is the owner) is really a good man.. he is very friendly, very helpful n warm eventhough he couldnt speak english so much. He keep on giving us chocolate, made us tea n allow us to keep the luggage for several days eventhough we have checked out and would no longer stay there without payment. He also didnt ask for tip n refuse to accept them.

Because of its location, the food is suprisingly cheap..here, u can find the cheapest fresh pomegranate juice 2TL as compare to other place (believe me u wont find this price anywhere)



Negative point:
Apart from the small room and shared bathroom, the location is a bit distance from historical places...it is at a kind of rural n have a lot of beggers on d street. It did show us the other face of Istanbul.

We also see pickpocketing on the street but trust me, i was doing fine n it happen anywhere on the earth.

P/s - after staying here for few days we went to cappadocia pamukkale selcuk n back to istanbul again..if it was not because of early reservation of other hotel, we will surely stay here again.

OVERALL...IT IS A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Farah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel has great value for the price point. It is very clean, has a friendly staff and serves a fresh breakfast (not buffet). The drawbacks are its distance from the historic center of town and a bit of street noise. We did not have an en suite bathroom, but the shared bathroom and shower were obviously regularly cleaned. It is nice to leave the street vendors of Sultanahmed and stay in a less touristy area. This is a more native, gritty area with few nearby restaurants. Overall, we feel like we got a great deal for 35 euro/night for a double room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited the Hostel in December and we absolutelly can recommend the place. It is surrounded by real life and real people. They truly want to advice and help you - not only get your money like on Sultanahamed. It is close to Eminomu, to the Galata Bridge, Spice bazaar and to the New Mosque. Fatih is a rough area, not turistic yet, but authentic, cheap and so friendly:) If you want to get a feeling of a real turkish life, go there.The hotel facilities are great, we stayed in the double room with a bathroom. Everything was clean and the staff was so friendly. Again, place highly recommended !

Room Tip: Double room was great
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DietCocaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked a four nite stay based on all the positive reviews on here of staff friendliness and cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. The place is a bit tricky to find if this is your first time in Istanbul but this was my third visit. Its an authentic non touristy bazaar street used by locals so you can see real life and not get ripped off on meals.
My room was on the ground floor next to reception. There was a shared bathroom next door which was big and clean, however the shower was upstairs on the second floor used by everyone on the second floor as well as those on the ground floor. I asked to be moved to the second floor but he said they were all full.
As I was staying for four nites I didn't want to keep going upstairs and lining up for the shower each day especially as I had an early flight to catch the last day. There are lots of hotels nearby offering rooms from 40TL including a private bathroom so I ended up moving. When I went back to tell the owner I tried to be apologetic and say that four days going up and down for the shower would be difficult but he became quite upset and said I had to pay two nights cash. I showed the booking.com reservation that says you only pay 23eu for the first night in the event of a no show and that's what I gave. I tried apologizing again but he was quite offended which seems a cultural trait in Turkey.
Based on the other reviews it probably is still a nice budget hotel but ask to be placed on the upper floors where they have showers as there are none on the ground floor by reception. This is a great location to see the real non touristy Istanbul and I would stay in this neighbourhood again.

Room Tip: There is no shower on the ground floor by reception, only on the upper floors
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is located in an ethnic non touristy part of Istanbul with a busy street scene. It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk to Eminonu where you can jump on a ferry or a tram. The rooms are basic but clean. We had an en suite shower room. It was 56 euros for 4 nights for 2 which is great value for this city you need to pay in local currency. The breakfast is the same every day - fresh bread, cheese slices, butter, honey, jam, chocolate hazelnut spread and olives. There are local restaurants where you can eat very cheaply. The hotel staff are very friendly although they don't really speak much English. Bottled water is complimentary and there is free WiFi although the signal is pretty weak upstairs.

If you want somewhere just to sleep and shower in an interesting Turkish locality this place is great. If you want any frills, smart shops and tourist services or to be right next to the tram system then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishLizzie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews