We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of KarslIoglu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KarslIoglu Hostel
Ranked #294 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Everything in the average: very good position, just 2 steps from the big bazar and a very very nice concierge.
The room was very simple: a fan instead of air conditioning, but considering the price, everything is ok. Credit card payment is not accepted and airport transfer is not available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fabio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very Helpful and friendly staff. Pleasent stay in a popular area but near tourist actractions. The building is new and the rooms are clean. I spent there my holliday in May and I feel very good but be infotmed that the hotel doesn't have airconditioner so it could be very hot in summer. The price I spent for a room with bathroom was very convenient for Istanbul I had a good turkish breakfast and the staff offer me many times fresh water or coffee for free. I will book again this hotel nex time in Istambul

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannamiaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Positive point:
I was here for the last few days...it was kind of hard to find this hotel initially but once u know the location, it's pretty much a strategic one as it is close to spice bazar, ferry jetty to Eyup n Bosphorus cruise, the yeni cami...we have fun staying here as it is also nearby to the popular spot of eating Balik Ekmek around the Galata Bridge.

To our surprise, Hairi ..the one at the kaunter (im not sure if he is the owner) is really a good man.. he is very friendly, very helpful n warm eventhough he couldnt speak english so much. He keep on giving us chocolate, made us tea n allow us to keep the luggage for several days eventhough we have checked out and would no longer stay there without payment. He also didnt ask for tip n refuse to accept them.

Because of its location, the food is suprisingly cheap..here, u can find the cheapest fresh pomegranate juice 2TL as compare to other place (believe me u wont find this price anywhere)



Negative point:
Apart from the small room and shared bathroom, the location is a bit distance from historical places...it is at a kind of rural n have a lot of beggers on d street. It did show us the other face of Istanbul.

We also see pickpocketing on the street but trust me, i was doing fine n it happen anywhere on the earth.

P/s - after staying here for few days we went to cappadocia pamukkale selcuk n back to istanbul again..if it was not because of early reservation of other hotel, we will surely stay here again.

OVERALL...IT IS A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Farah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel has great value for the price point. It is very clean, has a friendly staff and serves a fresh breakfast (not buffet). The drawbacks are its distance from the historic center of town and a bit of street noise. We did not have an en suite bathroom, but the shared bathroom and shower were obviously regularly cleaned. It is nice to leave the street vendors of Sultanahmed and stay in a less touristy area. This is a more native, gritty area with few nearby restaurants. Overall, we feel like we got a great deal for 35 euro/night for a double room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited the Hostel in December and we absolutelly can recommend the place. It is surrounded by real life and real people. They truly want to advice and help you - not only get your money like on Sultanahamed. It is close to Eminomu, to the Galata Bridge, Spice bazaar and to the New Mosque. Fatih is a rough area, not turistic yet, but authentic, cheap and so friendly:) If you want to get a feeling of a real turkish life, go there.The hotel facilities are great, we stayed in the double room with a bathroom. Everything was clean and the staff was so friendly. Again, place highly recommended !

Room Tip: Double room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DietCocaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,114 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,246 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#106 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KarslIoglu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KarslIoglu Hostel

Address: Hoca GIyaseddin mah. Metro InsatI yanI Kucuk pazar cad. Saatci yokusu no:2, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your KarslIoglu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing