We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The hotel lobby area is quite impressive, spacious and well looked after. The staff are pleasant and helpful, I found the concierge to be very helpful for excellent restaurant recommendations.

Stayed in an Executive room, which entitled access to the 'Executive lounge'. The lounge itself and services were very disappointing, not up to other hotel standards. Found out that there is also an "Intercontinental Club" which is a higher level than the executive lounge!! Don't bother booking executive level.

the rooms are somewhat out-of-date and in poor state of repair, my electric sockets were coming out of the wall for example.

Beware of connecting rooms - I was spent the first night listening to the guy in the next rooms every move as there is no sound insulation when there is a connecting door (there is one thin door, unlike most hotels where you have two). However, the front desk were very helpful in moving me the next day to a non-connecting room which was much quieter.

Another warning - this hotel is very Kosher (do not expect bacon for breakfast), there is no hot food service on Shabbat. If you are on vacation, not Jewish and staying the weekend I would definately avoid this hotel as you will not get much service.

Room Tip: ask for non-connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAXUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,568 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

First time in this hotel. Generally speaking hotels in Tel Aviv are not great. This and the Hilton are the best two (and roughly the same quality).

Poor service and food. Poor value for money, $450 per night for an average room.

Not great, but not much choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodtaste73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in David Intercontinental for four nights. This is an excellent hotel, conveniently located near beaches and major shopping and restaurant spots.We loved the views from our room and in general, we were happy with the service, especially with the concierge desk. They gave great recommendations for restaurants and trips. We took a day trip to Dead Sea (a "must do" destination) that they recommended and ended up having an amazing experience. However, we were unhappy with the pricing and found the Internet charges ($22!!!!) outrageous.
This is a great place for short stays and if you are looking to take a full advantage of Tel Aviv dinning and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel was nice, but some service staff was rude. Also, upon checking out, there were glaring overcharges. Has a fabulous breakfast though. watch out for the overbilling in Internet and room rates..etc.

Please do not use Rent-A-Guide that their Concierge recommends. The tour guide for biblical tour did not know too much and relayed inaccurate information. The tour overcharged us. If you must go on the Rent-A-Guide, please use private tour route.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csf22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed over the summer holidays in August - possibly the worst time of year to be in this hotel. We stayed on the 8th floor with a blacony, nice views, room ok, no wow factor.. It was incredibley noisy, since we were part of the atrium section of the hotel, we could hear the staff putting out the breakfast, babies crying etc. Breakfast was a like a feeding frenzy at the zoo, food just ok, nothing special at all. This hotel has mass market appeal and nothing initmate about it at all. I picked it because of its location as well as its proximity to the beach and the fact that it had a swimming pool, which the smaller (and probably nicer) boutique hotels don't have. We were travelling with teengers and one under 10, we definatley needed a pool.
Since the hotel was at capacity, so was the pool.............just revolting, unless one enjoys a sea of people stuffed into a very small swimming pool in relation to the vast hotel.
Service was ok,but infuriating at times especially when we returned to the hotel late at night to be told by security that we were not on the list and had to verify who we were at least 4 times before we were finally put on "the List"!! Had asked for an extra bed to be put into our room for my son at 2pm, only to return at 12pm, to find no bed, had to wait a good hour before the bed arrived. It took ages for anyone to pick up the phone for service, which had me going downstairs on several occassions to speak to someone, since they do not answer phones promptly. After complaining that our rooms were'nt made up by 3pm, the situation was rectified with housekeeping asking what time we wanted our rooms made up. This was helpful as there is nothing worse than coming back from the beach to an unmade room.
The appointment of the hotel is it's main asset, great to be near the Shuk,Shenkin, the beach front and the Tachanah. I do not understand how one can call this a 5 star hotel compared to places like the King David hotel, The Mamilla and Hamakom which truly are 5 star hotels. How does that work???

Room Tip: Unless you want a balcony, go higher as less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 km away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
2.7 km away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#46 of 102 in Tel Aviv
2,003 reviews
0.1 km away
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
#48 of 102 in Tel Aviv
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Tel Aviv
#42 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,606 reviews
2.4 km away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#22 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,561 reviews
1.6 km away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#51 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental David Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Address: 12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#21 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#33 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $373 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental David Tel Aviv 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Israeli welcome awaits you at your home in the 'SoHo' of Tel Aviv. Ideally located between the city's main cultural centers, Neve Tzedek, the beach, and Old Jaffa, the David InterContinental offers the perfect starting point to exploring the city. Spend the day experiencing Tel Aviv like a local and return to the serenity of the David InterContinental boasting the best of Israeli hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental David Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental David Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Intercontinental Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing