We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful”
Review of Abbasi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbasi Palace
Ranked #23 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Amman
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The most outstanding thing about the Abbasi is the Hostess. She is just the friendliest most helpful person you could wish to meet. The Hotel is incredibly cheap ($30AU) but more like a Backpacker Hostel. There is a Common Room and a small Breakfast Room that fills up fast and you have to eat in the Common Room. The Rooms are relatively clean, but we slept in our sleeping bags. The hot water is a huge issue and for 2 out of 3 nights we had tepid showers, but this was a problem across all of Jordan & Syria. The room had a pedestal fan and a bar heater. Certainly not the Hilton, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlisleJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2009

Very friendly and very helpful staff. Owner ,and manager Nijmah (STAR) is kind and is open to suggestions. Makes you feel at home. Free breakfast, tea is served regularly in the livin g(reception) room. They are trying to improve the hotel, so expect to get what you actually pay for in terms of the room quality . But you will get much more than what you pay for in terms of customer service and customer care. If you want to save money, go to trhis hotel. If you want to take your partner on a honey moon , think twice before you go there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reemabualkebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The Abassi Palace may be overlooked because it's not featured in the guidebooks, but it was recommended by another hotel owner in Jordan and was the best place we stayed in the country. Nejma, the owner, was kind enough to pick us up for free at the bus station and take us to the hotel, which i centrally located in downtown Amman. Nejma is an exceptional host and will help arrange taxis, give directions, recommend places to eat and just have a chat with her guests over a cup of tea. The hotel is hidden in a large grey building so the views aren't much. Our double room was excellent value as it was clean and light with a TV and en suite bathroom plus hot shower. Internet and wireless access is all free and breakfast is included, served in a bright and cheerful room near reception. The hotel also has a large common area with a TV, DVDs, newspapers and comfy chairs. Rooms with shared bathrooms are also available. We stayed for five days, using Amman as a base to visit Wadi Mujib, Karak and the Dead Sea, and felt lucky to have found this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed in Amman for two days with my family. We didnt make a reservation, in the last minute we found this hotel. First we entered it didnt look that good as it was. It located in the old town, which is very dirty and a bit scary, but as we met with the owner of the hotel everything was fine. The hotel is very cheep, the price inclued the breafast)which was preatty good) and the stuff was incredibly kind! The rooms are very simple, good for groops and students, with a big comonty room. From all over the world there were some people and the whole atmosphere was very nice!
I would recomend this hotel to everybody who wants to feel the real jordanian life :) and dosnt want to stay in a fancy hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Lady manager Nishma is very helpful and friendly. She went above and beyond to help us with parking, gas station and took us to the nearby restaurant for food. The Hostel itself is very simply and the location is great. Except for the water system (yellow water coming out from cold water pipe), everything seems to be alright. Wi-Fi doesn't work upstairs. Staffs are just super friendly, that kinda make up the odds.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.7 km away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 150 in Amman
934 reviews
5.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
8.1 km away
ibis Amman
ibis Amman
#18 of 150 in Amman
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Jordan River Hotel
Jordan River Hotel
#4 of 109 in Amman
124 reviews
2.0 km away
InterContinental Jordan
3.7 km away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 150 in Amman
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbasi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbasi Palace

Address: Quraish Street, Amman 09999, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Amman
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Amman's historic Downtown area, in walking distance to the old Hussein Mosque, the Spice Market, the Roman Theater, and the Citadel. We can be your friendly headquarters. The Abbasi Palace Hotel has 40 en-suite rooms all with hot water. Ask for availability of rooms with air conditioning and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbasi Palace Hotel Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing