We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening dinner get together let down by Burnt Dal Makhani”
Review of Indigo

Indigo
Ranked #64 of 2,285 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Contemporary Modern Indian Restaurant with an avant garde approach on North Indian cuisine, yet offering choices for the traditional palette.
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We booked for 12 people and the table was set for 10 people. With one extra child they had to rearrange table to accommodate 13 pax. After the initial delay, we were told that daal makhani is burnt and it will not be available.

Food is usually good and it is the primary reason to visit the place repeatedly. Kids insisted for a sampler of daal makhani which arrived after insisting a bit. It surely tasted burnt and it was returned unused.

Later we were let down to see that even the daal makhani was billed to and it could not be corrected stating that chef has left. We were although offered complimentary tea as compensation.

The moong daal halwa was exceptional. Butter chicken failed to excite, daal fry was good, paneer was dry and tasted bland. Over all, a fair evening dinner which could have been a lot better by just a bit more attention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoodCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelapriesner, Manager at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies on not being able to live upto your expectations and we truly regret the inconvenience caused.

We have taken up your feedback with our team at Indigo and the necessary corrective action already taken.

We did deny serving the Dal Makhni since it was not upto the mark however agreed to serve it only on the persistence of the kids and to not disappoint them.

We truly appreciate your patronage at Indigo and hope to see you back soon for your favourite dishes and not let this experience hold you back.

I recommend you to try the new Indigo brunch which has a plethora of Indian specialties in small portions fresh from the kitchen to your table. At a set price of 222++ for food only and 295++ with house beverages it is an all you can eat concept and i am positive you will enjoy it .

Kind regards

Michaela Priesner
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2014

Excellent service, delicious food and if the weather is not too hot recommend you sit outside. I dined with two work colleagues and had a very enjoyable evening. All our starters were delicious, I highly recommend the potato and chick pea samosa's which comes with a cheeky onion bhaji too! All the food looked truly and tasted excellent, the portions are very large so you won't go away hungry. Very reasonably priced and beautiful setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julesb531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelapriesner, Manager at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your experience at Indigo and the terrace is indeed very popular with all our guests especially during this time of the year when the weather is lovely and pleasant.

The samosa is a chart buster at Indigo and a very popular street side dish from India. Towards the end of the year,in the month of October Indigo will have a week long festival on street food specialties of India and i am sure you will thoroughly enjoy that.

We appreciate your compliments on the food and the service. Thank you.

Best regards

Michaela Priesner
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I can only confirm the very good trip advisor ratings. Worth a visit but make sure you reserve in advance. Recommend you sit outside. Nice seating, excellent and attentive service. The food is very good, big variety and big portions. Suggest you share, as you can always order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelapriesner, Manager at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your meal in Indigo, which is indeed one of the best Indian Restaurants here in Abu Dhabi.

The seating outdoors is great during this time of the year, overlooking Maryah island and Chef Nitin will be delighted about your compliments about the food and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with the entire team on your behalf.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Michaela Priesner
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We were escorted in quickly even without a reservation. As always my name is on file so the familiarity is great. Seated at a great table with a number of choices. Pan seared sea bass was perfect as was the always reliable prawn biryani. Garlic Naan and the Dahl were perfectly prepared. Indigo is our go to Indian restaurant in Abu Dhabi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johhnnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelapriesner, Manager at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sent us your nice review on Tripadvisor.

It's great to see that you truly enjoyed your meal in Indigo, with their amazing dishes prepared the way our guests love them and many thanks for the compliments about the service.

It will be my pleasure to share your compliments with the entire team and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

Michaela Priesner
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

I had a very next nice diner with my family it is the best Indian food in Abu Dhabi by far. The staff are friendly,the food tastey and the service was fast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ruqaya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelapriesner, Manager at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Ruqaya,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It's a great pleasure to hear that you had a great dinner with your family in Indigo and it will be my pleasure to share your compliments with the team on your behalf.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michaela Priesner
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing