We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation”
Review of Platypus Hostel

Platypus Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Platypus Hostel
Ranked #136 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I feel compelled to write and say how absolutely shocking this place is. After having confirmed a reservation by email on more than one occasion, including the day of arrival, I arrived at 10pm off a transatlantic fligt to find that there was no room at the inn, despite my name being down on the clipboard of the reservations guy. Every hotel in Bogota that night appeared to be full and only by the grace of God did I end up staying with friends. Fine, Platypus may be cheap, it may be packed to the rafters with other travellers and therefore good fun, but frankly, it is a disorganised and run down mess in a sketchy part of La Candelaria. The following day, I found a hotel called Abadia Colonial - a different price range altogether (50$ for a single room), but in Bogota you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2006

I slept in a dorm here. It's a very popular place and I highly recommend booking ahead of time.

My favorite part of this place was the great communal room where it's easy to meet people and socialize.

The hammocks in the lobby are great too.

What I didn't like was that the area was alittle dodgy and a few friends got mugged.

The night staff weren't as good as the day staff either and shutdown the beer fridge at 10pm. Weird.

I would recommend it though based on all of the good friends I made while I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lucl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marceldematos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im Hotel Continental Bluedoors 100 m entfernt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dani88ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Em qualquer quarto você vai se sentir bem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nandocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Violeta Park Hostel
#81 of 311 in Bogota
34 reviews
Hotel Ferrovial
#183 of 268 in Bogota
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 268 in Bogota
935 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#34 of 268 in Bogota
461 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#122 of 268 in Bogota
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platypus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platypus Hostel

Address: Calle 16 No 2-43, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Hotel Class:3 star — Platypus Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Platypus Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing