We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abadia Colonial
Nearby Hotels
US$71
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lancaster House(Bogota)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Bellavista Hostel(Bogota)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$279
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$350/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$421
US$354
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$483/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
86
89
31
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
89
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla candelariacolonial stylebotero museumwithin walking distancearepasgold museumsmall hotelperfect locationbolivar squarehotel locationrooms are largehot waterthree nightsmonserratecandelabraneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late November. The bedroom was very comfortable with a queen sized bed, a desk, a closet, and an attached, small bathroom and shower. We liked the colonial style of the hotel, including wooden floors and a high ceiling with small log framing in the bedroom, and tile floor in the bathroom. There were a couple small inner courtyards with tables and chairs for relaxing. Everything worked properly, including the wifi. Breakfast was provided on the second floor at an outside balcony overlooking the city and Monserrate. There was also room inside for breakfast if you preferred.

Breakfast included a juice of the day and a fresh fruit of the day (many of which were new to us), scrambled eggs, bread, arepas, and coffee or tea. During breakfast we enjoyed meeting and chatting with other travelers from around the world.


The location in Candelaria was very handy for our walking explorations of museums, restaurants and other attractions in Bogota. The staff are helpful and solicitous. We will stay here again when we get back to Bogota.
.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolonerocchi, Direttore at Abadia Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017
Google Translation

Anigre
Muchas gracias por sus valiosos comentarios, nos encontramos muy contentos de haberlos alojado en nuestro hotel y esperamos verlos pronto.
Cordial saludo,

Paolo Rocchi.
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The rooms are nice, colonial, nice bathroom. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is really simple... not enough to start the day. Located on a good spot close to museum Botero. Safe neigbourhoud.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WillyTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

With so many sites to see in La Candelaria neighborhood, this hotel's
location is as good as it gets and the very reason it receives good reviews.
We stayed for an entire week and felt that it met our needs, but it does have
it's shortcomings. The neighborhood is lower socioeconomic with a high
security presence. During the day with lots of tourists about we felt secure
in numbers. Because of this hotel's location we were always within 2 blocks
distance from most of the best rated restaurants, something to consider if walking
at night to/from dinner. Security of the hotel itself seems adequate with it's layout.
In the small lobby area no one gets by unless they are a recognized guest. Beyond that lies the restaurant area, which I would rate at good. It is very crowed on Sunday nights because other area restaurants are closed. Beyond the restaurant lies it's
rooms. The rooms furthest in the back from the restaurant are very quiet. There are only two large rooms at least one with a vaulted ceiling. Most other rooms are small
with doors that are not very solid. I saw no rooms with window screens something to
think about since the Zika virus is endemic in Bogota. It had not rained much while there so mosquitoes were not a problem, though there is a small pond on the premises. Outside the rooms is a pleasant courtyard unfortunately where smokers and the owner's friends sometimes gather. On entering the room there was a strong perfumed smell, explained as furniture polish which they no longer used in our room at our request. In the bathroom they offer liquid soap/conditioner dispensers which often got clogged. The plumbing operated very well with abundant hot water. Each room offers a safe deposit box. Breakfasts were decent with fresh fruit, juice, bread, eggs, usually decent coffee. The breakfast dining area is upstairs above reception with optional balcony views from the dining room. Breakfast service is on the slow side especially as the dining area fills up.
For the first time tourist visiting to see the wonderful sites in La Candelaria staying
in this hotel will serve you well as long as you understand the aforementioned shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back, furthest from the restaurant. There is one large room in a separate building at a much higher rate.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This small hotel is a gem in the middle of the old neighborhood of Bogotà. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. The silent patio where one can rest and drink a cold beer away from the hustle and bustle of the city is priceless. Breakfast is on the second floor with a view of the old roofs is rich and healthy...just don't be in a hurry and take your time to enjoy and relax. Great stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank reynaldod356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I stayed at this hotel on the 19th July. I arrived to check in at midday but was told that check in was 3pm. Ok, the rooms were available and had been cleaned but the contract says check in is 3pm so I can understand the staff insisted on the check in time. My expectation is simply that my luggage will be kept safely until it is time to check in. So I left my luggage and returned at 6pm to check in. I was a bit shocked to find that my luggage had been stored unattended out the back of the hotel next to the washing machine. Check in took 25 minutes because the staff member could not work out which hotel room went with the correct key and tv control (the rooms are named and don't have numbers). When I did check in my impression was the staff were clueless and the security was lax. I felt my door was flimsy and hardly slept due to worrying about the security. This hotel has to be a prime target for any of the characters inhabiting La Candelaria as the staff are wholly incompetent. I had dinner at the Italian restaurant and found the food to be good. But the service was terrible. The hotel itself is a nice historical building and I liked the look of it. I just wish I could have enjoyed it. I was due to stay at the hotel again on the 24th July but the security concerns meant that I chose to stay at another hotel even though my stay here was non refundable. It wasn't worth the risk.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews