We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you really need to save money or If,like me, you are going to stay a night and go”
Review of Hotel La Espanola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Espanola
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Horrible, awful. Avoid it at all costs. It doesn't offer the minimum condition for a decent stay. The "continental breakfast" had a day-old kind of bread. Butter was just smeared on the plate. The staff was limited to a young boy and a man. They were both polite and kind, but the hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

DO NOT STAY AT THIS "HOTEL"!!

MUY MUY MALO!!!!

My girlfriend and I are backpacking around south America and found this hotel online. The website showed prices per room but when we came to pay on departure they insisted that the price was per person and that their website hadn't been updated to reflect this yet. The room had dirty carpets, stained walls and ceilings and the shower didn't work properly. There was a terrible musty smell and the aircon  unit sounded like a train ratteling through the room.  We obviously challenged the receptionist about the price who in turn called upon his manageress who shouted at us in Spanish and wouldn't back down on this "new" price. After a long heated debate she picked up the phone and threatened to call the police! What an outrage! We are honest people who are happy to pay the price advertised on their website. We ended up paying the extra purely because we couldn't miss our pre paid coach. 
Do not stay here unless you want an over priced decaying "hotel" On a plus note the receptionist Bruno was a really nice guy and made this unpleasent experience almost bearable... He just needs a new manager, website and the place needs a serious update 
 

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelbugster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I stayed several nights in this hotel. A single room is 80.000 guaranies, or USD16 ( The Black Cat hostel charges USD14 for a bunk bed in a dorm). For USD16, you get a basic room with bathroom, A/C, TV and free wifi. The location is very central, walking distance to sights and stores, and right in front of the hotel there are several buses, like to bus station (#38), to airport (#30-2), etc. The staff is friendly and I could leave my big backpack there while I went away for a few days. There´s no shower curtain, so the bathroom get wet after you shower.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We have been there in 2002 ( not 2007, but the menu doesnt allow earlier than tat). I can say only the best about this hotel. It is central, it was clean, nice breakfast, A/C if you want, the rooms were bqasic but clean.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hertbreak-Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I would agree with the previous reviewer: this isn´t a luxury hotel, but a good value choice in the town centre. Our room was light and airy, with air-con and hanging space, and was very clean. Plenty of hot water, and clean towels and soap provided daily. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Common areas were clean and attractive and we found the hotel very quiet. Slept well, though the pillows could have been better. Breakfast is very unexciting, and is cleared away promptly at 9am, so you have to eat those crackers quickly!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
4.5 km away
Residencia Leones de Castilla
1 km away
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Asuncion Palace Hotel
#16 of 58 in Asuncion
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Chaco
Hotel Chaco
#26 of 58 in Asuncion
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
#25 of 58 in Asuncion
112 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#39 of 58 in Asuncion
37 reviews
0.7 km away
Aspen Hotel & Apart
Aspen Hotel & Apart
#17 of 58 in Asuncion
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Espanola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Espanola

Address: Luis Alberto de Herrera 142 c/ Yegros, Asuncion 00000, Paraguay
Region: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range: $22 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Espanola 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Asuncion, stands one of the most traditional hotels in the Republic of Paraguay. From here you can access quickly and easily to the main tourist sites. Welcome to Hotel La Espanola, where the best service blend with the nature of the environment, the pleasure and comfort. Hall A very special place to stay. Your best choice in Asuncion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Espanola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing