We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/23
Vio.com
US$130
View deal
Hotels.comUS$137
PricelineUS$163
TravelocityUS$137
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveller rating
513
397
75
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
397
75
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anse vata beach studio room new caledonia small kitchenette road noise boutique hotel short walk to the beach few minutes walk bus stop baguette sauna microwave balcony aquarium island gourmand atelier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2022

We booked Le Lagon hotel through Expedia. The rooms were ok - clean, well serviced and the service at reception was good. Unfortunately we didn't get told that we needed to book parking in advance so when we got there on the day we were told they had no spots left and we had to find a parking place on the street which was not easy the first night.
The second issue we had with this hotel is that they charged us twice for the room. We had already paid through Expedia and had the receipt / voucher with us but they insisted they hadn't received payment. We paid again rather than keep arguing with the guy at reception (it was weekend as well so of course nobody from accounting was there) thinking that we will sort it out with Expedia when we get back. Unfortunately that still hasn't happened as Expedia are now telling us that the hotel didn't approve the refund / they're not admitting we got charged twice.
I'm not sure whose fault it is between the hotel and Expedia, but all the other bookings we had for this trip (all of them done through Expedia) were ok and there were no problems with other payments.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivysreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie LHEUREUX, Marketing at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2022

Dear Lvysreviews,
Thank you for your comment and thank you for letting us know about this double payment, I am approaching the media today to solve the problem very quickly
I would like to thank you for your comment and thank you for letting us know about this double payment.
I apologize for the confusion,
Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2022 via mobile

From the outside the hotel looks a bit grubby but that all changed as you walk through the doors.

- the hotel and our room was clean
- staff spoke good English and were polite and friendly
- the pool area was good with comfy chairs and beds

As per some other reviews our safe didn’t work for the duration of our stay. Also a little wired, there was a glass window into the bathroom with blinds on the outside within the room.

All in all, we only stayed 1 night but we had a good experience.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Davieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Delphine LEGER, Marketing at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

We are delighted that you had a good experience and that you had a nice surprise in our hotel.
We have indeed some problems with the safes which are being replaced in the rooms.
We apologize for this inconvenience.
have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022 via mobile

The outside pool area is beautiful, it comprises of a pool, solarium and hottub area. The furnishings are second to none and make the area very welcoming. There is also a very clean gym, sauna and shower on this level. So why the poor review?

We stayed in room 207 that hasn't been updated since the 70s I would imagine. The bath has been painted on the inside and whole bathroom very grubby. The whole room is very tired and needs some attention. What really got me was that my wife noticed the soles of my feet were black after taking a shower and lying on the bed! Shocking that the floor was that dirty.

5 separate occasions we told reception the safe didn't work. As we had our safe key from home it was really important. This was never sorted out the whole duration of our 14 day stay.

Apparently there are 4 levels of breakfast from the buffet. Why? Although partly my Travel Agent's fault, to be told I can only have toast or cerial, not both, tells its own story. Pathetic.

Having free water in an air conditioned reception but nothing by the pool, gym and sauna, tells you there is no attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank keithdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Delphine LEGER, Marketing at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Hello Keithdonald
We are delighted that you had a good experience and that you had a nice surprise in our hotel.
We have indeed some problems with the safes which are being replaced in the rooms.
We apologize for this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022

Stayed 3 nights here in a one bedroom suite with sea view and were happy with the room and service. Clean, comfortable and a good size, the bed was huge and very comfy. Good shower though the temperature fluctuated a bit on one night. Handy location just a short walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and the main beaches, as well as the aquarium. Can recommend the bakery L' Atelier Gourmand which is close by. Hotel is on a busy main road so rooms on the front side get the road noise, however wasn't an issue for us. Staff were friendly and welcoming, spoke good English and were happy to help. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Alivin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie LHEUREUX, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with us.
We are happy to have been able to contribute to making your stay unforgettable as much by our services as by our reception or our location.
Indeed our bedding has been changed recently and brings a great comfort to spend good nights
We hope to see you soon in Noumea
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2022

Stayed for a week here, studio room w pool view. Was clean and comfy, staff were all great. No problems with English at the front desk. Having a balcony was awesome.

The pool was good, clean, with a few day beds available.

The location is super convenient with a pharmacy, a couple of small food shops, and a bus stop almost directly out the front, and of course just a minute or two walk to the beach. Auchan supermarket is 10 minutes walk away, and with a microwave, a fridge, plates and cuttlery in the room, I prepared most of my own breakfasts and dinners. L' Atelier Gourmand was super close too, for fresh baguettes, salads, and sweets etc.

I'd stay again for sure.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank spikeyspikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie LHEUREUX, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Le Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Thanks a lot for your nice and pleasant comment. It will be with pleasure to see you again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews