We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$102
View deal
Agoda.com
US$84
View deal
Hotels.comUS$102
TravelocityUS$102
Orbitz.comUS$102
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
36
75
31
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
75
31
11
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Room clean and serviceable.
Yes it is a little out of town but we used the local buses with no problems.
The hotel arranged shuttle to/from international airport at our request.
Green/white taxis were not expensive however we waited half an hour at the cinema for pick up on Friday evening but then booked the lovely female driver (who was accompanied by her husband) for further trips. Again reasonable cost but en liquide (cash) only.
French breakfast excellent quality and value. During le petit dejeuner on the deck we saw two large stingrays close in to shore. Wow!
Some distance to the local supermarket but the hotel has a little store with cheese, terrines and fresh baguette daily. Even the odd croissant.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VeroniqueM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello,
Thank you very much for your good review and recommendation. We are very happy that you find the room clean and serviceable ; and that you enjoy your stay ! We are also proud that you like our French breakfast with fresh baguette and genuine croissant.
Concerning the location, we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel and even you can use taxis) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minute’s drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography.
Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley !
Best regards from Noumea.
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

We stayed at The Stanley for two nights in a sea view room with a little balcony with that lovely view of the lagoon. We enjoyed evening wine, our morning coffee, watching birds, boats and kite surfers from our ring side seat. The hotel is dated but clean and the bed was comfortable. We own a small hotel in NZ and always appreciate similar small operations. Staff were incredibly friendly at check-in and helpful, printing off boarding passes for a flight at no extra charge. We'd read the reviews before booking but liked the idea of it being out of the main part of town. It is really quiet at night. But I like that. We had a car and there is a carpark so the location wasn't a problem. It is pretty tight and some strangers car dented our door. The pool area was surprisingly small, hotels often mislead with stretch photos but we enjoyed a little paddle and sunbathed. We barely used the kitchen as we ate out for all meals. One night would have been enough, Noumea in itself isn't that interesting, the islands and the rest of New Caledonia was way more exciting for us.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you loved the location & the GREAT view. You’re right : Le Stanley is the best hotel for relaxing and quiet holidays with amazing and picturesque views on the sea from ALL OUR ROOMS.
Concerning the location, you’re also right and we always remind it : it’s better to have a rental car to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest.
Last but not least : we are very proud that you found our staff incredibly FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. This one of our priorities ! We will share your nice review with the team.
Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley !
Tropical regards,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

Disappointed after reading reviews and expecting much more. Earlier in the trip we stayed at Casa Del Sole which was cheaper and far far superior and better location. Le Stanley is looking tired with parts of the exterior crumbling, hot water barely over luke warm (had to go max temp for a bearable shower) but the worst thing is the location..ok the setting is fine but nothing close by... restaurants, bars, shops, patisseries all require a taxi/bus... Do yourself a favour and stay Baie des Citrons, or Anse Vata Beach area instead

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank CameronT629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Hello,
Thank you for your post but it sounds really unfair. You just forgot to say that you were outclassed for your convenience and had a really beautiful room for a little price… About the other points : having no hot water in our rooms is definitively impossible and you have not reported it to our staff. In order to be able to welcome our guests better, we carry out, as every year, renovations and small adjustments.
Concerning the location, we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minute’s drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography.
Regards,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

The Hotel Le Stanley is right on the seafront in a quiet part of Noumea about 5-6 km from the main part of town. We stayed for 6 nights in total (5 + 1). The view from the balcony is lovely and the area is really peaceful, except the infrequent planes to the local airport. Being out of town, I would highly recommend hiring a car. The room has a kitchenette so self catering is a possibility, however the nearest mini market is about 2km away. We didn't use the green and white taxis but got caught with private ones and paid way more than we should have the first night which made our decision to hire a car simple. While the hotel is quite plain, neat, clean and in a grwat setting, the staff were great. They helped with restaurant recommendations and bookings, rang the car rental company and stored a suitcase while we were away for 2 nights, my French is terrible but the ladies in reception were fabulous, I would stay here again, without hesitation.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank patrickhL9219DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello,
Thank you very much for your review and high rate of recommendation. We are proud that you find our hotel very clean and comfortable in a peaceful area. We are very happy that you loved the place : you’re very right, Le Stanley is the best hotel for a QUIET SETTING with amazing and picturesque views on the sea and a very pleasant swimming pool. Our guests are always very satisfied with it ! Many of them choose, like you, to rent a car and we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography. We are also very happy that you find the staff friendly and helpful and FABULOUS. Thank you very much for it ! We will share with the team your nice review !
Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley !
Best regards from Noumea.
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed at Le Stanley for a short break. It’s a very relaxing hotel. The best feature is the wonderful views over the lagoon from the rooms, with each having a private balcony. Great place to eat breakfast or have an evening wine. The rooms are good size, although the furniture and fittings are getting dated they are still functional.

If staying here though you need to plan. The hotel restaurant only opens for dinner two nights a week and there is nowhere walkable to eat or even get a drink. You will need to plan for self catering which is easy with kitchenettes in each room. It’s really best to have a car if staying here as all attractions of Noumea are too far to walk.

Overall a very relaxing place to stay

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 92markd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2019

Hello,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you find our hotel QUIET and RELAXING. You’re perfectly right about it !
We are really satisfied that you loved the GREAT view and the private balcony (in each room) ! Concerning the location, the bus stop right at the hotel. But we prefer to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car to take advantage better of its stay and of self-catering. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, and 10 minutes from the city centre.
Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley !
Tropical regards,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews