We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last time I think....”
Review of Hotel Sultani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sultani
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I kept going back for the convenient location, but will rather brave traffic next time. The rooms just not up to standard, and I'm tired of dealing with housekeeping that only leaves one face towel after cleaning. Sorry for the friendly and always helpful staff, staying here is just not worth the other hassles.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank japoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2016

I had only stayed here one night and I have another remaining, but I never saw the staff wearing Tchokwe hats.... perhaps tonight? Overall this hotel is OK, it is certainly presentable enough and when I arrived with the check-in staff helpful especially Guy who conversed with me in English and talked me through everything. The room itself was nice in appearance, not overly large but I wasn't planning on swinging any cats. The bed had clean linen but the pillows are pretty ordinary and I found them very lumpy. Unfortunately the bed head was not well attached to the bed and may have caused some problems for my neighbours next door when it clunked against the wall on occasion. The room also had good air-con that blasted out cool air. The TV channels are limited in number and selection, especially if your a non-French speaker like me. The bathroom was very tidy, with good hot and strong water pressure which was this bloke appreciates. I tried the restaurant for the evening meal and found the selection limited but the cheese burger I tried was very nice (esp as I had not eaten Western fast food for sometime). Breakfast was the usual fair of cold meats, cheese etc, cereals and eggs done to request - nothing unusual or untoward. Will need to check out the bar tonight, but would I come back - yes!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank TuataraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Once again I stayed at this establishment during my visit to Kinshasa three weeks back. I have to admit, Sultani now sort of feeling like a second home. Mind you, with one quirk in particular that is currently being attended to - the bathrooms..

Staff: service with a smile, and they attend to your every need.

Side note: each day I would be greeted by all staff that passed by, in the literal sense of it BY NAME, which I admit I appreciated.

Room: firstly, request the top floor where rooms are quite modern and comfy. Remind the front desk politely that your complimentary bottled water, a bath, hand, and foot towel be placed in your room - be clear with the above mentioned request or you will not find it in your room...

Note: request a room that does not face the main road as it can get quite noisy quite early.

Food: exceptional as always - with the greatest of respect, care and attention to detail - my compliments to the chef and their team for maintaining such high standards.

Internet: you will receive two 1GB wifi vouchers per night (to be used on two devices) - excellent connection with acceptable speed. A local sim with a data package of 1GB will cost you 10USD for use when you're out and about.

..I was about to write this place off, glad I did not, as their management and staff are working hard on improving their guest's experience. Traveling to Kinshasa in a week and there is no guessing which hotel I am going to be calling "home" ; )

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank Ahmed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Staff: neutral...at best

Room: subpar - mattresses and pillows need replacing (based on two stays thus far). Air conditioning works well.

Rooms could use with a kettle, this was especially apparent when burning the midnight-oil (also, see pic of room service menu).

Ensuite: Bathtub with shower head (water pressure is excellent and water warms up pretty quick). Note, there are no shower curtains so adjust direction and pressure before getting in. I like that you receive a comb, vanity kit etc., but carry your own shampoo (the complimentary ones are nasty). You will only receive one bath towel per day, and if you're lucky you will receive a foot towel accompanying this.

Food: extremely well-prepared, played, and delicious for the prices you pay (money well-spent)...I always carry snacks from home, my "survival pack" (mixed nuts, Oreos, sweets..)

Internet: WIFI is excellent for basic work-related browsing (I was also able to update my MacBook Air and iPhone 6) ...ensure you receive two vouchers upon check-in

Safety points: when leaving the room, ensure all valuables are properly stored in lockable cases or in the safe...remember the hotel's disclaimer? You do not want to be having a useless conversation with management...

As the title suggests...this is as good as it gets..for the price

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Ahmed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Spent a week there, the rooms are smalls, good for one night. Not so much clean. AC noisying, it sounds like to sleep on an airplane. Staff polite. Situated on a road where you can't walk unless you want to risk to be aggressed by homeless.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Expamarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinshasa hotels
2.1 km away
Kin Plaza Arjaan by Rotana
Kin Plaza Arjaan by Rotana
#1 of 26 in Kinshasa
83 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
#5 of 26 in Kinshasa
107 reviews
1.9 km away
Pullman Kinshasa
Pullman Kinshasa
#3 of 26 in Kinshasa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Kempinski Hotel Fleuve Congo
10.7 km away
Hotel Selton
Hotel Selton
#9 of 26 in Kinshasa
6 reviews
2.7 km away
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kinshasa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultani

Address: 30, Avenue de la Justice | Commune de la Gombe, Kinshasa 7248, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Kinshasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Price Range: S$182 - S$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a business trip or planning your next vacation in Kinshasa, the team of the Sultani Hotel warmly welcomes you. Sultani means "KING" in Swahili, one of the four national spoken languages of the Democratic Republic of Congo. During your stay you will enjoy the comfort of our fully equipped rooms and suites – with free wireless internet access throughout the hotel – but also the quality of a professional service with a young and dynamic team wearing *Tchokwe hats taking good care of you. Give yourself some time to relax at the hotel bar, or enjoy a delightful moment in our gourmet restaurant Marie Kabuang which is bordered by a hanging garden. Our meeting rooms accommodate up to 400 people and are suitable for any of your events. We welcome you to come and experience the Sultani way for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sultani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing