We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
radical_sg
Singapore, Singapore

At the heart of the city centre

Review of Sunflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2012
Reservation : I emailed the hote1 a week before my stay, reply was fast and i booked a superior room for 30USD as a single traveller.
Reception : Helpful, polite and
Room : Hotel is rated 1 star by their local hotel community. Room is spacious, bed is clean and toilet is decent with hote water. Signs of peeling paint from what i suspect is due to water seepage from water pipes or exterior facade. Wasnt that noisy at night.
Accessibility : Centrally located in the India community
Breakfast : A few selections available, fried noodle, toast w eggs and soup noodle. All comes with fruits and tea or coffee. I ordered soup noodle which is essentially instant noodle. Order another coffee and charged a 300ks.
Others : Comes with free wifi which has weak signal in my level 3 room. You have to grab a 1-hour Wi-Fi allowanace slip with password from the reception.
Overall : Enjoy my stay and will definitely go back
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Booking.com
S$85
  • Official Site
    S$148
  • Agoda.com
    S$76
  • Hotels.com
    S$119
0.4 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$93
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    S$154
  • Priceline
    S$82
  • Expedia.com
    S$153
2.3 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$30
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    S$28
  • Agoda.com
    S$25
  • Expedia.com
    S$30
0.5 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
S$46
  • Priceline
    S$116
  • Agoda.com
    S$39
  • Expedia.com
    S$50
0.7 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$63
  • Official Site
    S$78
  • Agoda.com
    S$48
  • Priceline
    S$55
0.8 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
S$123
S$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    S$112
  • Priceline
    S$113
  • Melia.com
    S$114
5.6 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
S$28
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    S$28
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
3.7 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
S$62
  • Expedia.com
    S$80
  • Vio.com
    S$48
  • Hotels.com
    S$71
7.6 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$98
  • Expedia.com
    S$98
  • Vio.com
    S$81
  • Hotels.com
    S$99
7.8 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$41
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    S$26
  • Agoda.com
    S$23
  • Trip.com
    S$37
7.1 km from Sunflower Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
5
9
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
9
12
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent 4 nights here, initially a little sceptical but pleasantly suprised. We paid $36 per night for a double superior room with breakfast. The staff were very nice and helpful but a little inexperienced. 7:30am "Your breakfast is ready" calls were a little annoying. We couldn't hear the mosque across the street. The air conditioning, cable TV, and hot shower were excellent. The location was excellent too, right in the thick of things!

It's undoubtably a budget hotel - but for Yangon, its pretty good value.

Room tip: Take a "Superior room" rather than a "Deluxe room". It doesn't have a street facing window - but this means it'll be quieter and you won't hear the call to prayer from the mosque.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BennyVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Given accommodation in Yangon, The Sunflower hotel was quite convenient and good value for money. Breakfast included, air conditioning and very helpful staff for all needs including being able to change money and arrange taxis.
Linen was clean. bed was comfortable, and despite staying on the street facing the Mosque couldn't hear any call to prayer or other traffic noise.
Bathroom was rather old, (tap fell off) but couldn't complain about anything else. Price was more expensive as we arrived in time for Aung San Suu Kyi's election (UN presence jacked up prices) but we were happy with the service and accommodation was good.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at Sunflower hotel in March 2012. Paid USD15 per night for a standard room on the 6th floor with a balcony facing the street. No breakfast included and the toilets/bathrooms are shared.

Good things about this hotel:
1. Good location - walking distance to many attractions eg. China town, Sule Pagoda, Bogyoke Aung San market etc. There are also many eateries and a supermarket nearby.

2. Clean common toilets and bathrooms

3. Very helpful and polite staff

Not so nice things about this hotel:
1. No elevator - request for a low floor unit or be prepared to climb

2. Noisy - due to its location.
Tips-bring ear plugs for a good night sleep.

3. Not very clean bed - a few strand of hair were found on the bed linen after I pulled away the blanket. I am not sure whether they have not changed the linen or the blanket.
Tips - use antiseptic tissue to wipe the bed linen for peace of mind. Otherwise, you can simply request for a change of linen.

4. Very simple furnishing - no TV, no chair provided

5. Insects - Have seen at least 4 types of insects in the room including lizard and mosquito. Tips - spray insect repellent around the room

6. Unstable power supply - there were two power failures on the second night but were quickly rectified.
Tips- carry with you a touch light if you must use the common toilet at night as you never know when will be the next power failure and how soon the light will come back.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siok_ChweeLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at Sunflower Hotel in late February 2012. Found it a little overpriced at $38 for a double room (used to paying about $20-25 for a room like this in Cambodia) but the room was nice enough. The rooms facing onto the street are quite noisy at night with traffic. Good location close to lots of sights and delicious bargain indian New Delhi restaurant just across the road. Breakfast was an almost inedible "noodle salad" with dried fish but after asking we were also able to get some toast and an egg. Staff were for the most part friendly and helpful. Would stay here again for the convenience.

Room tip: The bigger double rooms face onto the street so a little noisy. Nice balcony though for night time pictures. Lots of stairs to climb if you get a room on one of the top floors.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fez F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very good location walking distance to Bogyoke Aung San Market, Sule Pagoda, High Court and City Hall. The room was reasonable clean with attached bathroom. Linen was a bit old but acceptable. A medium size fridge inside room with many choices of drink at reasonable price. Snack for sale also available at dressing table. Wifi availabe in room but not free. Signal was ok and if you are lucky you can make internet call such as Tango or Line.

The service was good, the staff are very helpful to make call to my other hotel booking at Inle Lake, Mandalay and Bagan at a very reasonable fee. Since this hotel got no lift to specify the lower floor if you have problem to claim staircase. If you can't get the lower floor, not worry there are alway staff to help you carry your luggage to your room.

The breakfast was below expectation, choice of local noodle or bread with coffee / tea and fresh fruits.

Surrouding area have many muslim and be prepare by the morning "wake up call" - the muslim morning prayer are very loud.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okkMalacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews