We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully restored” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here twice before but since then it has been very elegantly refurbished. The rooms are still the same spacious size, but they have been furnished beautifully. Plenty of sitting space and everything was just right. The bathrooms were just what one wanted. The public areas have likewise been refurbished and are entirely in keeping with what one would expect from a modern hotel with a long history. The staff are excellent, very attentive and the butler service in the rooms is first rate. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    150
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
265
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

if you go try the Strand for food and its expensive, but what you get is superior quality, we had the beef burgers and the burgers themselves were absolutely brilliant.

Simply the best. Service was second to none.

Excellent all round, give it a whirl, nothing to bad here, nice.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottieboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here during the New Year holiday and also took the Strand Cruise. The hotel was newly renovated but the air conditioning in our room wasn't working properly. It took them two days to fix it but they staff more than made up for it and despite that I would stay at the Strand again.
Its an elegant classic colonial property located near most of Yangon's places of interest, with spacious rooms, an excellent restaurant, and gracious, accommodating staff. They referred us to great restaurants, out of the way art galleries, antique shops, made all the arrangements.
If it weren't for the air conditioning problem and the lack of a gym, I would've given them 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoninPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Strand last month, a revisit from several years ago. The renovation/restoration has been done beautifully.

Some previous reviewers seem to have been a bit lukewarm, but we found everything just fine, well up to any standard for a hotel like this. Staff were lovely, our suite was exceptional. Nice Asian salad in the cafe, as well.

We have made a point of staying at all of the Sarkies Brothers hotels in Asia over the years, and the Strand is right up there after this recent work, (not that it wasn't before).

We give it a big tick on all counts.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mareeS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about The Strand exudes turn-of-the-century glam. The hotel was recently renovated and is absolutely GORGEOUS. A shining example of “past meets present”, the hotel maintains its original colonial architecture from 1901, updated with only the most luxurious finishings (think chandeliers, high ceilings, and colonial-style oak banisters, etc). The furnishings are grand and authentic, fitting with the heritage design. We loved that they had a Burmese man playing traditional instruments in the lobby. Our room was gigantic and beyond luxurious, with a dedicated butler team just a dial away if we needed anything. You can get complimentary tea and coffee served in your room at any time, and we even got breakfast delivered to our room our second day.

The hotel has an on-site cafe with a mix of western breakfast and burmese dishes. It was delicious!! The cafe itself reminds you of a bygone area with vintage furniture, teak-framed windows, and polished floors. In addition to the cafe, the hotel has a famous bar called Sarkies that has a fabulous cocktail menu- the highlight for me was the amazing selection of champagne cocktails!!!

The hotel is actually one of Yangon’s most iconic buildings and tourists staying elsewhere often stop by Sarkies for a drink. Every cab driver knew where The Strand was, which made getting around really easy. The location is in the heart of Yangon, just a short cab drive away from the city’s main attractions (Schwedagon Pagoda, Sule Pagoda, Botataung Pagoda, Kandawagyi Lake, etc).

Besides the beautiful design, what really makes this hotel so exceptional is the service. The lovely staff is very well-trained and provided flawless service throughout our stay. Extras like daily fresh fruit, plush robes, turn down service, welcome drinks, etc made the stay even more worthwhile. Big thanks to the manager Mark for making sure we had an exceptional experience. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in Yangon!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.2 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
1.1 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.3 km away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): $381 - $752
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing