We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here twice before but since then it has been very elegantly refurbished. The rooms are still the same spacious size, but they have been furnished beautifully. Plenty of sitting space and everything was just right. The bathrooms were just what one wanted. The public areas have likewise been refurbished and are entirely in keeping with what one would expect from a modern hotel with a long history. The staff are excellent, very attentive and the butler service in the rooms is first rate. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

if you go try the Strand for food and its expensive, but what you get is superior quality, we had the beef burgers and the burgers themselves were absolutely brilliant.

Simply the best. Service was second to none.

Excellent all round, give it a whirl, nothing to bad here, nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scottieboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed here during the New Year holiday and also took the Strand Cruise. The hotel was newly renovated but the air conditioning in our room wasn't working properly. It took them two days to fix it but they staff more than made up for it and despite that I would stay at the Strand again.
Its an elegant classic colonial property located near most of Yangon's places of interest, with spacious rooms, an excellent restaurant, and gracious, accommodating staff. They referred us to great restaurants, out of the way art galleries, antique shops, made all the arrangements.
If it weren't for the air conditioning problem and the lack of a gym, I would've given them 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoninPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Strand last month, a revisit from several years ago. The renovation/restoration has been done beautifully.

Some previous reviewers seem to have been a bit lukewarm, but we found everything just fine, well up to any standard for a hotel like this. Staff were lovely, our suite was exceptional. Nice Asian salad in the cafe, as well.

We have made a point of staying at all of the Sarkies Brothers hotels in Asia over the years, and the Strand is right up there after this recent work, (not that it wasn't before).

We give it a big tick on all counts.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mareeS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Everything about The Strand exudes turn-of-the-century glam. The hotel was recently renovated and is absolutely GORGEOUS. A shining example of “past meets present”, the hotel maintains its original colonial architecture from 1901, updated with only the most luxurious finishings (think chandeliers, high ceilings, and colonial-style oak banisters, etc). The furnishings are grand and authentic, fitting with the heritage design. We loved that they had a Burmese man playing traditional instruments in the lobby. Our room was gigantic and beyond luxurious, with a dedicated butler team just a dial away if we needed anything. You can get complimentary tea and coffee served in your room at any time, and we even got breakfast delivered to our room our second day.

The hotel has an on-site cafe with a mix of western breakfast and burmese dishes. It was delicious!! The cafe itself reminds you of a bygone area with vintage furniture, teak-framed windows, and polished floors. In addition to the cafe, the hotel has a famous bar called Sarkies that has a fabulous cocktail menu- the highlight for me was the amazing selection of champagne cocktails!!!

The hotel is actually one of Yangon’s most iconic buildings and tourists staying elsewhere often stop by Sarkies for a drink. Every cab driver knew where The Strand was, which made getting around really easy. The location is in the heart of Yangon, just a short cab drive away from the city’s main attractions (Schwedagon Pagoda, Sule Pagoda, Botataung Pagoda, Kandawagyi Lake, etc).

Besides the beautiful design, what really makes this hotel so exceptional is the service. The lovely staff is very well-trained and provided flawless service throughout our stay. Extras like daily fresh fruit, plush robes, turn down service, welcome drinks, etc made the stay even more worthwhile. Big thanks to the manager Mark for making sure we had an exceptional experience. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in Yangon!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,427 reviews
1.2 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,902 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,692 reviews
6.5 km away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
6.5 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $343 - $1,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing