We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strand
Nearby Hotels
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$132
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$108
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$94
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$155
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$136
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$70
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$105
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)(Yangon (Rangoon))(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
580
170
46
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
170
46
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler serviceoperations managerfloor butlerrudyard kiplingthe fine dining restaurantold world charmdeluxe suitehigh teaclassic hotelcolonial elegancecolonial daysbygone erasitting areaswimming poolbeautiful hotelrangoonriver cruise
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

A major renovation was finished in November 2016 so the hotel is in prime condition. Beautifully redecorated from the main lobby to the suites. We arrived around midnight after 27 hours in transit and were warmly welcomed. Everything is five star plus from the beds, linens, towels, choice of pillows and every evening there are petit fours left on the bed. Suffering from jet lag it was great to our the floor butler bring tea whenever needed.
We have travelled to many five star hotels and our stay at The Strand is memorable and worth the splurge.
The location is by the river and a short walk to the old colonial centre.
The Strand Cafe served à la carte breakfast everyday with a good selection of Asian and Western choices.
It feels like a small high end boutique hotel with only 30 rooms: the Manager was particularly attentive and friendly and appeared to be on site most of the time. If you want the best, this is the place to stay in Yangon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are suites. There are only three floors so top floor is best with a river view if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here twice before but since then it has been very elegantly refurbished. The rooms are still the same spacious size, but they have been furnished beautifully. Plenty of sitting space and everything was just right. The bathrooms were just what one wanted. The public areas have likewise been refurbished and are entirely in keeping with what one would expect from a modern hotel with a long history. The staff are excellent, very attentive and the butler service in the rooms is first rate. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

if you go try the Strand for food and its expensive, but what you get is superior quality, we had the beef burgers and the burgers themselves were absolutely brilliant.

Simply the best. Service was second to none.

Excellent all round, give it a whirl, nothing to bad here, nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scottieboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed here during the New Year holiday and also took the Strand Cruise. The hotel was newly renovated but the air conditioning in our room wasn't working properly. It took them two days to fix it but they staff more than made up for it and despite that I would stay at the Strand again.
Its an elegant classic colonial property located near most of Yangon's places of interest, with spacious rooms, an excellent restaurant, and gracious, accommodating staff. They referred us to great restaurants, out of the way art galleries, antique shops, made all the arrangements.
If it weren't for the air conditioning problem and the lack of a gym, I would've given them 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioning.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoninPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Strand last month, a revisit from several years ago. The renovation/restoration has been done beautifully.

Some previous reviewers seem to have been a bit lukewarm, but we found everything just fine, well up to any standard for a hotel like this. Staff were lovely, our suite was exceptional. Nice Asian salad in the cafe, as well.

We have made a point of staying at all of the Sarkies Brothers hotels in Asia over the years, and the Strand is right up there after this recent work, (not that it wasn't before).

We give it a big tick on all counts.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mareeS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews