We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Yangon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
282 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Yangon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights, went off to the Golden Rock, and returned for 1 more night

The welcome at reception is first class, and a manager is always on hand to jolly you along and listen/advise

The location is good, as you can walk into town in a few minutes, and there are other restaurants in the area if you want to dine out

Our room on both visits was exceptional, though I did prefer the one that faced the river to the one that was on a side street. Rooms ooze dark teak wood and colonial style. They are a size that you do not get these days in cities. High ceilings quality furnishings. One is allocated a butler, which I personally could have done without, but I appreciate that many like that touch. Naturally beds are turned down at night. A large fruit basket is replaced daily, and tapas are brought round before dinner.

My major gripe, and the manager is aware of this, is that the Fine Dining Restaurant, which we were looking forward to, was closed for a week, so we never got to it. It took much effort to extract this information on closure from staff

So we ate in their cafe one evening - they offer a very reasonable fixed price meal as well as a la carte. It was fine for one evening, but we did not fancy the same on another night

We sampled the afternoon tea another day. Which I thought overpriced for what was offered. In addition the sandwiches were not fresh - curling at the edges as they dried out. At these prices, sandwiches should be fresh

The bar, I thought was exceptional. Very atmospheric, and brilliant service. We settled for drinks and tapas in the bar for two nights, in lieu of the closed restaurant. The drinks and the tapas were excellent. And one was tempted to overindulge in both.

Breakfast too was exceptional. Happily served rather than buffet. Everything was fresh, and I would commend both the juices and the smoothies. You could order away from the large choice on the menu, until it was time to stagger off for another days sightseeing

In spite of my little niggles, I thought that this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The managers and staff do a fantastic job. The rooms and public area are of high quality. So, as I say, I would not want to stay anywhere else in Yangon, The Strand is what a 5 star hotel should be

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    154
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
284
49
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This room is above the famous bar and unless you sleep like the dead the activity and noise will keep you up. Also, the room is a corner room so it catches the noise from the front road and the side street and trust me it never ceases. As a side note we were there on a Saturday night and the bar had a Dj in the bar from 8:00 to whenever and the noise and reverberations could be felt. Now as stated if screaming banshees and the circular train coming through your room would not wake you, like my wife who slept perfectly, then 102 is perfect for you. If not opt for the back of the house. By the way, in the lobby they have a very peaceful xylophone being played in the afternoon but for that night a DJ in a colonial bar- really?

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wrmomxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful and successful renovation, with great attention to detail. Light and airy lobby. Rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with excellent service. Delicious breakfast and we loved the fact we could have very early room service before a crack of dawn departure. We also enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant although it was mostly full with a visiting huge tour group...not much that can be done about that in a hotel that is such a tourist draw. We did have some glitches in our room the two nights we were there but staff do their best to resolve any problems. All in all an excellent place and highly recommended. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This 31 room oasis in Yangon would meet and surpass the needs of any traveler seeking an upscale hotel. The decor, service, and the food were all five star. We have frequently travelled in Asia and this hotel ranks up there as number one or two in all the luxury accommodations we have stayed at - a shout out to operations manager mark and dining room hostess Clara who went above and beyond to make this a memorable stay

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The suite was perfect and what a relief to escape the heat and bussle of Yangon to this historic hotel The Sarkie's Bar was perfect for a cold drink to cool off. Mark could not have been nicer and we enjoyed talking with him.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.1 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.5 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): $302 - $667
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing