We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't want to stay in The Strand again”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

It's a beautiful building with beautiful design. But first of all there is no a swimming pool there. It was very hot outside and it could be pleasant to relax near the swimming pool. Location is not the best in down town. Very noisy and dirty around. We couldn't sleep in the room because of noise. Service is also not good. In the bar we were waiting 30 minutes before waitress came to us to take order and very long she didn't understand what we want to order. In The Strand restaurant food was awful. Fish was cooked very bad. Beef was bad quality. After the meal both of us were sick and we went to the doctor. It seems a mess in their service and bad quality of food.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxmim2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017

I was absolutely glad that I chose to spend my only Yangon day at The Strand Yangon. From airport to the hotel was a typical chaotic Asian metropolitan driving, surprisingly the taxi driver played Beatle music which fitted well of the sunshine old Myanmar capital and my own mood for distance journey. From the street view the hotel isn't that grande yet. But once you step into the lobby, the beautifully renovated colonial style immediately pleases every visitor. The service was very personal and exceeded my expectation. The restaurant was also so superb and I ended having all my meals in the hotel. I had a standard room which is grande and spacious. The city was over 100 degrees and I needed a break in between my travels. I spent most my day in this oasis of Yangon to enjoy the hotel and people. The only thing I say is that it doesn't have a garden or pool. But considering the central location, it would be difficult to add on such luxury. Greatly appreciated the operation manager Mark's hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This Great Dame was once The Instituition in Rangoon during the colonial days. Stepping into this hotel reminds one of its greatness. Everything oozes with history and colonial charms from the designated Butler service to the Sarkies Bar which hosted Orwell and Kipling once.

The hotel is simply marvellous. In my travels I stayed in many grand hotels, however I was really looking forward to stay in this place and it was special.

The hotel underwent refurbishment in 2016. So it is now a beautifully refurbished place with decor of Raffles meets Christian Liaigre. Check in was superb with warm and friendly staff members helping us swiftly.
We were upgraded to the deluxe suite which was enormous with very large and comfortable beds.

The staff members were attentive and always ever helping and we constantly see Mark, the hotel manager walking around assisting where needed and greeting the patrons. A good sign indeed.

Being located on The Strand Road, made it a very convenient place to walk around.

If you plan to stay in Yangon, I highly reccomend this place, pay a little extra if you can as you will be experiencing the history of Rangoon on a silver platter. I will definitely stay here again if I get a chance to visit Yangon. A hotel worthy of SIX stars!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Krasen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed 2 nights, went off to the Golden Rock, and returned for 1 more night

The welcome at reception is first class, and a manager is always on hand to jolly you along and listen/advise

The location is good, as you can walk into town in a few minutes, and there are other restaurants in the area if you want to dine out

Our room on both visits was exceptional, though I did prefer the one that faced the river to the one that was on a side street. Rooms ooze dark teak wood and colonial style. They are a size that you do not get these days in cities. High ceilings quality furnishings. One is allocated a butler, which I personally could have done without, but I appreciate that many like that touch. Naturally beds are turned down at night. A large fruit basket is replaced daily, and tapas are brought round before dinner.

My major gripe, and the manager is aware of this, is that the Fine Dining Restaurant, which we were looking forward to, was closed for a week, so we never got to it. It took much effort to extract this information on closure from staff

So we ate in their cafe one evening - they offer a very reasonable fixed price meal as well as a la carte. It was fine for one evening, but we did not fancy the same on another night

We sampled the afternoon tea another day. Which I thought overpriced for what was offered. In addition the sandwiches were not fresh - curling at the edges as they dried out. At these prices, sandwiches should be fresh

The bar, I thought was exceptional. Very atmospheric, and brilliant service. We settled for drinks and tapas in the bar for two nights, in lieu of the closed restaurant. The drinks and the tapas were excellent. And one was tempted to overindulge in both.

Breakfast too was exceptional. Happily served rather than buffet. Everything was fresh, and I would commend both the juices and the smoothies. You could order away from the large choice on the menu, until it was time to stagger off for another days sightseeing

In spite of my little niggles, I thought that this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The managers and staff do a fantastic job. The rooms and public area are of high quality. So, as I say, I would not want to stay anywhere else in Yangon, The Strand is what a 5 star hotel should be

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

This room is above the famous bar and unless you sleep like the dead the activity and noise will keep you up. Also, the room is a corner room so it catches the noise from the front road and the side street and trust me it never ceases. As a side note we were there on a Saturday night and the bar had a Dj in the bar from 8:00 to whenever and the noise and reverberations could be felt. Now as stated if screaming banshees and the circular train coming through your room would not wake you, like my wife who slept perfectly, then 102 is perfect for you. If not opt for the back of the house. By the way, in the lobby they have a very peaceful xylophone being played in the afternoon but for that night a DJ in a colonial bar- really?

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wrmomxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,414 reviews
1.2 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,863 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,665 reviews
1.6 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
6.5 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $409 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing