We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous recently refurbished colonial hotel in downtown Yangon”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I stayed at The Strand before and after an Irrawaddy River cruise on the 'RV Strand', the hotel's luxury cruise vessel. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It has a small number of superbly decorated suites (I occupied the bottom two categories -- Deluxe and Superior); is sumptuously decorated in a fusion of British colonial and indigenous taste; and provides almost all of the modern amenities one could wish for (a pool/gymnasium is on its way in 2018). What makes a visit here especially memorable, too, is the welcome given to guests -- from the Operation Manager Mark to the attentive butlers (one per floor) and all other staff for whom no request is too much trouble. The dining options were excellent and so was the food.The hotel's transfer service is also very reliable.

Room Tip: Suite facing side street marginally quieter than that facing busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinkwaterderek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

The staff here make the hotel - nothing was ever too much for them! The butler service is brilliant and the suites are extremely spacious. Great location in the heart of Yangon. The breakfasts are superb and the bar a great place for a pre- or post-dinner drink. The Strand is a gem of a serene hideaway in an otherwise chaotic city - I would highly recommend a stay here whether you're a family, couple, friends or solo traveller.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LondonTravelAgent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

This old grand hotel is not particularly large by modern day standards, but is perfect for a brief stay in the old part of Yangon.

This newly renovated hotel has an old world charm and level of service to go with it, with butlers on each floor providing amazing service to the residents requirements.

The rooms are very spacious and exceptionally well appointed.

The food and the service in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced.

I would recommend this hotel particularly for couples, but it is perhaps not for those with small children.

Room Tip: Best to get a room on the top floor to minimize the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

It's a beautiful building with beautiful design. But first of all there is no a swimming pool there. It was very hot outside and it could be pleasant to relax near the swimming pool. Location is not the best in down town. Very noisy and dirty around. We couldn't sleep in the room because of noise. Service is also not good. In the bar we were waiting 30 minutes before waitress came to us to take order and very long she didn't understand what we want to order. In The Strand restaurant food was awful. Fish was cooked very bad. Beef was bad quality. After the meal both of us were sick and we went to the doctor. It seems a mess in their service and bad quality of food.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxmim2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I was absolutely glad that I chose to spend my only Yangon day at The Strand Yangon. From airport to the hotel was a typical chaotic Asian metropolitan driving, surprisingly the taxi driver played Beatle music which fitted well of the sunshine old Myanmar capital and my own mood for distance journey. From the street view the hotel isn't that grande yet. But once you step into the lobby, the beautifully renovated colonial style immediately pleases every visitor. The service was very personal and exceeded my expectation. The restaurant was also so superb and I ended having all my meals in the hotel. I had a standard room which is grande and spacious. The city was over 100 degrees and I needed a break in between my travels. I spent most my day in this oasis of Yangon to enjoy the hotel and people. The only thing I say is that it doesn't have a garden or pool. But considering the central location, it would be difficult to add on such luxury. Greatly appreciated the operation manager Mark's hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,409 reviews
1.2 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,661 reviews
1.6 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
6.5 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $413 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing