We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful start to our honeymoon ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful start to our honeymoon ”
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived in Yangon after a long haul flight and were whisked away to The Strand hotel. It is a stunning hotel, with beautiful interior. The location is very central. We had a beautiful suite, extremely spacious, spotlessly clean. The butler service was excellent. I highly recommend The Strand if you are visiting Yangon, a lovely place to take rest after a busy day hustling through the busy and characterful streets of the city.

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fahllitcbjeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    153
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
86
283
48
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A beautiful historical hotel with high international standard. One of the two best hotels you can find in Yangon. The best thing I like about this hotel or I think that differentiates this hotel from the rest of five stars I have been is the highly personalised service. It has small number of rooms and on each floor, there are 1-2 assigned butlers taking care of you. You never need to wait for too long for any service, and all you need just to talk to your butler. After one night, he/she knew my schedule, made arrangements accordingly, and they were always there to help and give advice as where to go or eat.

Style: colonial style, but more on the modern side. The bar has great ambience. But not really ideal for non-smokers.

Food: non-Myanmar food focused, probably for those homesickers who have been in Yangon for long. However, as a tourist, I was not really intrigued by "authentic Italian food prepared by an Italian chef" but "great Myanmar food" or " Myanmar fusion". I picked two local dishes from its limited offer of local food. Quite moderated taste, not so adventurous. Btw, the salted caramel milk shake is super good.

Room: spacious, cozy.

It would be perfect if more local elements are added.

Stayed April 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank quwhiue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Strand was a very welcome oasis in old Yangon. The rooms and service were first rate. We stayed here 2 nights before joining the Strand cruise which was also first rate. We stayed one more night at the end of our trip and again I was treated like an old friend.

Room Tip: The front rooms are a bit noisy on Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at The Strand before and after an Irrawaddy River cruise on the 'RV Strand', the hotel's luxury cruise vessel. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It has a small number of superbly decorated suites (I occupied the bottom two categories -- Deluxe and Superior); is sumptuously decorated in a fusion of British colonial and indigenous taste; and provides almost all of the modern amenities one could wish for (a pool/gymnasium is on its way in 2018). What makes a visit here especially memorable, too, is the welcome given to guests -- from the Operation Manager Mark to the attentive butlers (one per floor) and all other staff for whom no request is too much trouble. The dining options were excellent and so was the food.The hotel's transfer service is also very reliable.

Room Tip: Suite facing side street marginally quieter than that facing busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinkwaterderek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff here make the hotel - nothing was ever too much for them! The butler service is brilliant and the suites are extremely spacious. Great location in the heart of Yangon. The breakfasts are superb and the bar a great place for a pre- or post-dinner drink. The Strand is a gem of a serene hideaway in an otherwise chaotic city - I would highly recommend a stay here whether you're a family, couple, friends or solo traveller.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelAgent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,318 reviews
1.1 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,550 reviews
4.5 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
524 reviews
1.6 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
299 reviews
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): $310 - $674
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing