We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speed Train from Busan to Seoul”

KTX (Korea Train Express)
Ranked #57 of 3,187 things to do in South Korea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Speed Train from Busan to Seoul”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This method of travel beats air travel hands down! The prices for a first class seat are reasonable, and there are no lines for security. Buying a ticket online, even for an English speaking person, was an easy process. The Seoul Train Station is centrally located and there are taxis aplenty in that area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank SherTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    149
    45
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Why is this an attraction??”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The KTX is a great way to get to other cities in Korea but I am not sure why it is listed as an attraction. I've taken the KTX many times and it is always on time and convenient.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobby091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great way to travel between cities”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Fast and efficient service to take me to cities outside Seoul.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Syeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Easy way to travel through Korea”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My family (of 4) took KTX train to travel between Seoul and Busan. I was warned by my Korean friend that if we want to sit together we should book ahead using the Korail website.The economy class cars are normally full, so the advice about booking ahead was essential if you are travelling in a group. I booked the train few days beforehand online, printed out the reservation page, went to Seoul Station and recieved the boarding pass at the counter. It was easy.

The seats are a bit close together, the arm rest had to be shared. There are vending machines on the cars and toilets were average.

We managed get on the train well before the recommended boarding time (15 mins before departure). We walked to the platform almost an hour beforehand and saw our train so we got in the train first. There aren't much luggage space on the train other than the overhead shelves, so I wouldn't recommend carrying large "airport" suitcases.

Travelling at top speed of 304km/h, it had WiFi access and food carts. It took about 2 hours and 40 minutes to travel from Seoul to Busan.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank aoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
949 reviews
655 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Great mode of transport”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently caught the KTX from Seoul to Busan, it was a comfortable ride, we had not booked our seats in advance, rather purchasing on the day as we were not sure if our flight to Incheon international airport would be on time and how long it would take us to get Seoul Station, in fact it took us 2 hours from landing(@1410) to arriving at Seoul station (@1610). Once at Seoul station we tried to purchase our tickets at a ticket machine, there is the option for English, and we were able to get to selecting our tickets but in the end the machine refused to accept our notes, apparently this is a common flaw, and we had to head straight to a ticket office for our purchase. We went first class on the next available train(@1700) only because we didn't want to wait one hour for the next available second class seats(@1800).

On board the KTX to Busan, there is a food cart that comes through selling Korean snacks and drinks, but as we were unfamiliar with Korean food at this stage we did not purchase anything. The announcements on board are in Korean and English. Our journey took 2 hrs and 45 minutes, a great travel solution.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KTX (Korea Train Express) also viewed

 

Been to KTX (Korea Train Express)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing